We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of those "secret" places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mares Restaurant & Lounge

Mares Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #3 of 109 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual & elegant. Creative cuisine with local fusion of products, one of the best chefs of the Dominican Republic, Rafael Vasquez. Situated in a private tropical garden, pool side bar and terrace, air condictioned indoor dining area, wine cellar, a local favorite spot, and a place you will remember.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of those "secret" places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Being a food lover I always connect travel & food.

The DR has a highly quality restaurants that can surprise even the most demanding gourmets. The only problem is to find the place. Mares is one of those “secret” places around the island, hidden to most people and only found by those looking for the best. Tuna sashimi with soya and fresh mint, angus filet with porcini mushrooms in a bed of risotto, almonds & pumpkin.

The chef specialty will make you find that moment close to the center of happiness; duck with foie, a touch of local chocolate and pears. Enjoy it. Thanks chef

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    20
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The concierge recommended this restaurant. It is really a private home turned restaurant. The food and service were fantastic. We sat outside by the pool and it rained pretty much the whole time we were there but it was awesome anyway to dine outside in the storm. There is a bar outside in the back. We would have NEVER found this place on our own. The hotel arranged for a driver to take us and pick us back up. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"The" meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There is no words to describe the delight when tasting the excellent dishes that Rafael, the chef-owner prepares.
And having one of this marvelous meals in the terrace overlooking the beautiful garden and the pool is priceless.
Congratulations!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden is on Earth....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Mares is a special type of place that you wish to share with everyone yet keep it secret enough so as not to spoil it. The owner and exec chef, Rafael, was born to entertain and offer delectable dishes with solid Dominican roots. He is well traveled with extensive experience in the hotel/restaurant business and has taken this to offer a perfect location with superb food/drinks. He and his staff were amazingly gracious and have the magic touch not only with adults but also with kids! We highly recommend a ride away from your hotel to experience this place - and go back for more! The chef even made a special dish for my husband as a special treat on our second dining date. Thanks Rafael and staff for your hospitality and making us feel as though you opened the doors to your house.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WonderousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really enjoyed dinner at this restaurant, it has a beautiful garden with a pool, very relaxing and romantic ambience. We really liked the sushi and the risotto its also very very enjoyable!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquelquesada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mares Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Mares Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing