We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,077)
Filter reviews
6,077 results
Traveler rating
3,454
1,494
643
278
208
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,454
1,494
643
278
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames bondblue baycoca colaalfredospa poolbeach barthe oriental restaurantjade gardenanimation teamteddy bearel doradothe grillseafoodchateaubrianda la carte restaurantsan adults only resorttime share
Filter
Updating list...
4,302 - 4,307 of 6,077 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2004

i went to the villa dorada in jan 2004.
the rooms are very basic, not that clean and if you love pasta you will be ok.
the entertainment tean are first class, esp winston and angelo, they work very long hours for very little pay, but if the weather is bad you have no other entertainment as its all based around the pool.
the beach is a let down , not what you expect for the caribean, this was my second visit stopped at the grand vantana 1st time, knocked spots of this hotel, my advice is dont go here book something else, if you want a bit of class this is a basic budget hotel, and it shows.
you will be hassled by people trying to get you in the owners club, you expect this outside your hotel but not when you are sat around the pool.
i would not go to this hotel again and i am no snob

2  Thank mac09wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Customer

We thank you so much for having selected BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

On behalf of the entire staff of our hotel we want to apologize for all the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.

We consider your comments as a good opportunity of improvement, our expectation is to have our entire customer back to the resort every year for that reason working on the customer’s reviews and solve is very important for us. So we share all the reviews with our executives staff in order to correct and prevents situations.


Best regards.


Hamler Perez
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2004

We have just got back and can not complain about a single thing. We first went in november and i have got to say that it was as good this time, a little bit quieter but not complaining there was always a sunlounger!!. There was still a lot to do and with a five year old with you it is the sort of place you want. The fun team were all fantastic and they kept us entertained all the time we were there. The food was basic but still really nice and there was something for everyone(even a fussy 5 year old). Had a really fantastic time again and we are already planning our next holiday for september. Villas doradas is only a 3 star so you cant expect 5 star treatment but it is clean and all the staff are really friendly i hope they are all still there in september, they really do make your holiday as special as they can. Great time had by all and can't wait to get back.

1  Thank Laurenhopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Customer

Thank you so much for choosing BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

We also want thank you for sharing your review regarding to your experience during your stay in our hotel.

We all hope to have you back for many years as possible.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2004

Just arrived home and had the best holiday ever! the hotel is lovely the room was cleaned every day and clean towels everyday, and often the cleaner would arrange them into hearts with a flower. The food was ok but the same with every hotel can be abit repetative but there is 3 other restaurants to eat at if you get bored! The fun team (juan, melvin,rambo,speedy and mosquito)were absolutley fantastic they work really hard day and night they are so funny and the nicest people you could ever meet they'd do anything for you The reps nikki and jairo are lovely and nothing is to much trouble for them we'll definatley be going back again next year

4  Thank zp1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Customer

Thank you so much for choosing BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

We also want thank you for sharing your review regarding to your experience during your stay in our hotel.

We all hope to have you back for many years as possible.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2004

Firstly can I say I am open minded, not a snob and expect differences to be found depending on country visited and Hotel rating. Yes I read the reviews and was very worried, Even they could not prepare me for such a terrible Holiday. Firstly, the entertainment team are exceptional, they work very long hours and put 110% into everything, they and the couples we met made this holiday, but sadly nothing more.
the Hotel itself 'looks' lovely, the grounds are immaculate and well kept, but as the saying goes never judge a book by its cover. the beach is a short walk through a mangrove swamp, we found this to smell only on days of heavy rain, but at no other time, it wasnt rancid but we did feel it for the people in rooms close by. We were there from the 22 march till 6 april, same time as the person from Northants and whilst no one could be blamed for the 4 days torrential rain, this is the tropics after all, the hotel should be prepared for it, especially the rooms, the rooms are very basic and old but if you are having a great holiday who really cares, only ours and about 14 others (that we knew about) had severe problems with the rain. Our room had a huge amount of mould on the wall which had been painted over, this bubbled up and broke through the surface, the bed was ridden with sand flies and was, after repeated requests eventually fumigated 3 days before we left!, We had 12 leaks in total, requiring buckets to be emptied every 20 mins , the water was pouring throught the fan, down one wall and came under the balcony door, we had no electric for 4 days and Sarah the rep told us there was nothing they could do!! we had a wet bed for 7 nights before they changed the bedding and maintenance solution was to move our bed next to the door under 3 more drips and the water coming from under the door, Sarah would say she would sort it out then swan off and not come back leaving a huge queue of unhappy holidaymakers. we were eventually offered another room (7215) which our friends had just been removed from due to similar problems, thats how good the reps help was!
We had 3 bouts of upset tummy each and on the last thursday I went down with severe food poisoning and collapsed, sufice to say we only made 2 evenings of entertainment out of 14, I returned home with a severe chest/ear and head infection, have damaged the lining of my stomach and burnt the lining of my nose. The food is not Kept at safe temperatures and we saw the kitchen which is rancid, Sarah had to agree on this, the food is repetative and of a poor quality, yet the chinese if you order from the a la carte is excellent and the beach grill is best for your lunch, occasionaly they will do a roast gammon or beef, but you are only allowed 1 slice. No wonder so many had a bad stomach, there were 15 that we know of that went down with the severe food poisoning and 2 were admited to hospital.I believe there were 8 people on cruches with broken or sprained legs, 2 with neck braces and 4 broken arms, due to the hotel flooding, Drinks are watered down but you will find the beach grill on an evening serving proper beer. The bars do smell (of sick) and we complained about the poor hygeine to sarah, the bins and units are especially dirty, we caught them washing the plastic bar glasses out with tap water, Sarah observed this too and didnt know what to say, apart from that it is dangerous and illegal, they must use a dishwasher-obviously not!!! Also many times glasses were dirty and had previous drink remains in them , so take your own cup! on one afternoon the sea was filled with raw sewage, black bags, food remains and packaging, I have some wonderful photos (we thought at first it was a school of fish) until everyone ran out of the water.
Be prepared to haggle for everything, hair braiding on the beach pay no more than $20, extensions $50, expect to pay about a 1/4 or 1/3 of prices quoted, you have to haggle everywhere, the beach is especialy tiring for this as the security is there to stop people hassling you only the beach sellers pay bach handers so they ignore it! Book your trips in the Plazza, if you but pizza in Pizza hut pay with peso's as they will diddle you when giving change in $, hemingways is excellent for those days you get desperate, take plenty of snacks as the supermarket is el rip off!

As I said earlier, we made good friends and had a great time with them, it was truly a shame the holiday was so bad, had the food and drink been better so would have the holiday, but if you are happy to live off bread, eggs and water-go for it, I am by no means a fussy eater, but I like my food to be safe and hygenicaly prepared,

As an extra hint, Airtours are pulling out of this hotel next year because of the continuing problems (I am currently taking my problems higher and have found this out) sadly in my opinion it is a year to late and if you care about your/ family safety change hotels! if you cant be vigilant and careful when it comes to food and drink- you will love the entertainment team tho' and if you have any spare clothes give them it, or to the children in the villages (also sweets and toiletries) they will love you for it , it broke my heart to see such poverty, but despite this the dominicans are the friendliest, happiest ever!

7  Thank ozziebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Customer

We thank you so much for having selected BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

On behalf of the entire staff of our hotel we want to apologize for all the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.

We consider your comments as a good opportunity of improvement, our expectation is to have our entire customer back to the resort every year for that reason working on the customer’s reviews and solve is very important for us. So we share all the reviews with our executives staff in order to correct and prevents situations.


Best regards.


Hamler Perez
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
uk
13
Reviewed April 17, 2004

After reading some of the comments on here, I almost didnt want to go.
We got back last week and id definatly go back. We had a brilliant time. The entertainment is there if you want it and for 2 fussy eaters, we thought the food was excellent. Our room overlooked the pool and was clened daily (no problems at all). One tip, take some earplugs if you want to sleep before 11.30 as the entertainment may keep you awake. We did 3 excursions- Catamaran, Dophin swim and the island trip on the plane to sasoa. All three highly recommended. Worth every penny.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Customer

Thank you so much for choosing BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

We also want thank you for sharing your review regarding to your experience during your stay in our hotel.

We all hope to have you back for many years as possible.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews