We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lots of Food and Drink, Decent Rooms, Amazing Beach, Fairly Cheap!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of Food and Drink, Decent Rooms, Amazing Beach, Fairly Cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The only qualm I have about this place is the fact that as soon as your done checking in at the front desk, some staff members pull you aside and try to sell you a timeshare. Once you get away from them, you can just relax and enjoy your vacation.

Upon entering, you'll notice an outdoorsy feel to everything. The nice pool is visible from the front desk, the bar with top shelf drinks is also very elegant and modern. Dominican music playing in the background.

Room was clean, A/C unit worked great. Bathrooms were very small however. Bed was fairly rough to sleep on (but maybe that's just not my preference).

The beach is gorgeous and only a brisk walk across a bridge to get to it. There is a snack bar and a bar with mid shelf drinks (all included) right on the beach. Also at the beach you can rest in canopy beds right on the sand. Be prepared to shoo away locals who try to sell you jewelry, braids, massages. At night they have events and live music in the beach area.

Food at the main buffet was delicious. At times the food was somewhat stale, but other than that, there is a huge variety and its all very good. Service was impeccable as well.

Overall I would definitely recommend this place. It was a lot of fun! Not to mention it was very cheap for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank titaniom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,808
    1,245
    531
    233
    168
See reviews for
386
2,777
154
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good pace to meet lots of singles...if you're into that. But there were lo lots of older arrived couples as well. Lots of free activities. Massages on the beach.....best one I've ever had. Be sure to take advantage of the zip line that has a monkey sanctuary. Snorkeling was good also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Bluebay, but we both thought our stay could have been better. We stayed for 3 nights (mon-thurs) What I didn't like about the hotel was that there weren't any nightclubs, the pool and beach closed too early, and the a La Carta restaurants weren't open everyday. The buffet food was good. The staff was very friendly and at our service needs, the hotel in general was very clean. I would strongly recommend that you call because online gives you a poor description of the rooms. I had to call to see what were the different amenities that each room contained. BlueBay is perfect for those couples and adults who prefer small hotels and quiet vacations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank iliana98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at the Blue bay in August 2013 room/resort were kept clean.
all staff were great Raphall/Antonio and wendy brillant allways friendly drinks aiways there when you went to eat .The crew were realy fantastic abbie, mayo, comando, james bond .did a great job trying to keep every one happy they remembered our names even if they said them wrong which made us laugh food was good different choices every day had a relaxing time they have started to up grade the rooms which are nice the resort still needs more up grading like the pool bar the tiels are coming away pool needs up dateing .The beach was great but the peddlers can be a bit harassing after a while they seem to no and don;t bother you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at the BlueBay with my parents for a week and it honestly has been the best vacation I have ever experienced. We had some issues that came up with the room, but it has been fixed in no mater of time.
The food at the buffet is really not bad and the oriental A la Carte restaurant was absolutely amazing. I loved the service that was provided by Raphael, Wendy and Reynaldo at the restaurants. They always great you with big smiles. Lorelei and all the other bartenders were always listening and preparing everything you desired.
The animation crew was fantastic. We traveled in August and it was fairly quiet during the period (not having any children around really helps). Comando, La Peki, George, Mayo and James Bond were absolutely fantastic during the evening shows, day activities and night life fun.
I back for one week only and already thinking about going back in January!
However, keep in mind that if something isn't just as you want it to be, go see Andres or Lilian at the reception, they will help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Decent property. Room/resort was kept clean and pleasant. Anybody who says you shouldn't tip the people is out of their mind. We would usually just leave a buck or two for a bartender or waiter and we were rewarded with extraordinary service. They remembered our names, they went out of their way to make our experience special. In fact, when we dined or had drinks at the swim up bar, with new found friends (other guests), they asked why the people were so nice to us. Peddlers on the beach can be a bit harassing, but not enough to ruin the trip. If you want to plan an excursion, go through Martin and his friends down at the beach. They're friendly, reliable, and very understanding people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubbelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at the hotel from August 14-18. The premises are lovely! Everything looks so peaceful and fresh. The lobby is lovely with the Black&White bar (only available if you upgrade to the gold bracelet).
Pro's:
-Lovely hotel decoration

-No kids (major plus if you're trying to relax)

-Beach is within a 1-2 minute walk (nice walk through a small lake, so its not that bad)

-Buffet restaurant you can find something that you will like. They have international night each night is a different country. Mexican night by far was the best. So was Dominican night (roasted pork).

-Beach Party was ok except for when it started pouring.
The nightly shows were quite good, especially international night.

-Hotel crew were good, but La Peki was AWESOME! La Peki really knows how to get you pumped up!!

-Big thanks to Yamely and Santo at the bar! Yamely made sure out group had our drinks before they finished. Santo is the ONLY bartender who mixes your drinks the way YOU like it. Also Wendy did an excellent job catering to us. Take some tips, they really deservei it!!!

Con's:

-The only pool with a swim up bar is 3 feet deep (really sucks, but the other pools are deeper and lways empty because they dont have swim up bars. This is where the tips come in handy with the pool servers!!!)

-The A la Carte restaurants are always "booked" even if you go super early to book. We had the gold bracelets and it was a hassle to get reservations. Fortunately the buffet has a little bit of everything.

-The bars serve watered down drinks unless you ask them not to do it.

-No free WiFi whatsoever! And the $25 dollar fee for wifi is just insane.

-The hotel gets crowded with locals on weekends, who stay from Friday to Sunday. They can get rowdy! Ask for a room in buildings 4-8.

NOW YOU MAY ASK WHY IT WAS BITTER SWEET IF EVERYTHING SEEMED TO BE GOOD AT THE BLUE BAY. OUR PARTY OF 6 HAD 3 ROOMS AND IN ONE ROOM AN iPhone 5 went missing. The hotel did very little to give us an explanation of what happened. I am an experienced traveler and worked in the hotel business for 5 years and I know that in most cases house keeping never takes anything. We would of loved if we got some sort of explanation and some sort of help. The hotel manager did not do anything. The only thing they did was put a machine on the door to see who else had entered the room. But they never told us if anyone else actually entered the room. We were told that they were not responsible for anything missing that was not inside the safe (once again I understand this clearly), the phone was inside one of the suitcases. It would of had been a great vacation if at least they helped us sort the issue.

Overall the hotel was quite nice and relaxing. Just try to put everything in the safe. This hotel has a lot of potential and they try so hard to make you happy! If you are trying to relax and enjoy the moment this is the place for you. No crazy drunks or young partygoers, which is just perfect. Other than the missing iPhone incident, the hotel is good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jinnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing