We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL Resort with PESKY VENDORS!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL Resort with PESKY VENDORS!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived at the resort from the Metro bus station on Friday evening. We were welcomed into the beautiful resort with a tasty and blissful fruit drink. We were given "VIP" bracelets that were translucent. Little did we know, we were NOT VIPs, but only standard guests. The check in process was incredibly easy. We filled out our guest cards and showed our passports. We were then given a tour around the property and showed to our room.

We ate dinner int he main restaurant before it closed. It was a buffet and the food was delicious. We then went to the pool for free drinks and entertainment. The dining and entertainment staff were absolutely wonderful and accommodating.

The next day we ate breakfast and went to the beach. On our way, a staff member stopped us and made some small talk. He then said he had something special for us since we were first time guests. We unknowingly walked into a trap--- a timeshare presentation! We kept declining, but the staff kept insisting. It was incredibly frustrating to deal with. From that point on, we were treated differently by some of the staff. They seemed agitated and upset that we did not want to buy their timeshare at a cost of $22,500 with unlimited use for 30 years and financing available for 5 years.

Once we fought our way out of the timeshare presentation, we proceeded to lay out on the beach. We were then told that there was a VIP area and then another area for everyone else. The VIP area was roped inside a small deck. Since we were "VIPs," I figured that we could go into this area, but we were restricted from it because we did not have the "VIP" wristbands. Therefore, we went to the other, general area to lay out on the beach.

We were then hassled by vendors walking along the beach. The vendors were absolute pests! Every time we told them to go away, or we asked them to leave, they still kept asking us to buy things. They would not leave our sides for minutes at a time. Although there were security guards on site, they did nothing to ensure our peace while on vacation. This was truly disappointing. I understand that the vendors need to make a living, but for the amount of money that I paid, I expected to be left alone to enjoy my vacation.

Also, as far as this resort is concerned, ALL INCLUSIVE means that only food, drinks, pool and beach access are included. The over priced spa and the additional tours and trips that the pesky vendors on the property are trying to sell you are NOT included.

By the way, if you want to make dinner reservations at the a la carte restaurants, you need to be at the concierge desk in the front lobby at 9 AM, as the girls at the concierge desk leave early every day.

My advice: If anyone on the property, i.e. a staff member in a white shirt and khaki colored bottoms, asks you if you have been to the resort before, say "Yes" so that they will not try to sell you a timeshare. Also, if you want a peaceful vacation, stay at another resort because they are all side by side in the Playa Dorada area of Puerto Plata!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sneak_Peeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,149
    1,379
    576
    253
    178
See reviews for
471
3,062
185
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

this property can be a 5 if they would let it. normally my husband and I go to a few places a year so we go for the middle of the line resorts. we got a great price on bbv. it was our first trip to Puerto plata.---we have been to punta cana 4x. we both agreed we like pp better. pc has white sand beautiful resorts--pp is a city with awesome people, great beaches. we traveled with our best friends.

one of the advantages of staying at blue bay is that you are on a road that is walkable and has a plaza that not only has souvenier shopping, but some actual clothes plus one of the best tour companies that I have encountered in the Caribbean and mexico. it is called tours by james. he is a really nice guy that will work with you to make your tour what you want it to be. we wanted to go to tereferico which is the cable car ride up the mountain to see the Christ statue. the view was breathtaking---it overlooked the city of pp. I did not want to go on a tour with a lot of peeps---james hired us a private driver that took us there and a few other places for half the cost we were quoted at the hotel. all of his prices are less than what you will be quoted elsewhere. he is insured and bonded---please take advantage of his services.

back to the resort---the people that work there are awesome. no one walks by without greeting you. the service is great. the animation team of mayo, george, commando are always trying to make your day. they let you know what's going on without being pushy.

breakfast and lunch had plenty of options and the food was good. there was a buffet for breakfast and lunch---servers nilson, Raphael, marcos, and Antonio are excellent----we always left a dollar or two---got great service before that though.

I do not like the coupon system with the ala cartes---especially during low season--they need to fix that----seems ridiculous that they allow very few peeps in the ala cartes ----they have excellent people jose manuel, carlos, Rodolfo---they can handle the volume and maybe make a few tips besides.

another negative for us was the cash bar they have in the lobby. in other places there are "caste" systems too. people pay more---they get more. but to have a bar in the lobby and not keep us non vip's liquor there is silly. in the evenings when we were socializing in the lobby we had to go down to the pool bar and get drinks when there was a bar right behind us. personally---I did not care for the drinks here although my hubby and friends enjoyed theirs.

the beach is BEAUTIFUL. you can walk to the left a long ways---2 resorts down there was a coral reef and we were able to snorkel. to the right--you could only go so far and a guard would tell you not to go further.

they are renovating the rooms. we did not get one of those but our room was fine. we had everything we needed. the only thing was not enough drawer space but they are working on that. we had a refrig, water, pop, beer, coffeemaker, safe($3 a day) need better pillows, big closet.

there are 3 pools---spa pool(quiet), game pool, swimup bar pool.

towels for the beach are plenty--like the "no card" system.

we really had a great time at bluebay and if my negatives don't bother you---ignore them and go there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iyamscifi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked this trip last second on a holiday weekend (5 days, 4 nights). It was worth it for the price we got it but disappointed by bait & switch on rooms.

- Front desk was not friendly and lied about the rooms they were offering us (terrace, there was no terrace). We booked with bookit.com and were promised room upgrades which we did not receive.

- Room service was slow, lucky if rooms were cleaned by 3pm. One day they chose not to clean.

- Beach was gorgeous and everything we expected. Non stop vendors (after couple days they knew us and that we wouldn't buy anything). 5 min walk away is a great snorkeling spot (literally 3-4 feet deep right on the shore with colorful fish.

- Food was spectacular especially the passion fruit, if the buffet doesn't have it you may request the fruit. It is abundant in DR but hard to find in USA and costs so much.

- Alcohol is made weak unless you ask for strong. The bartenders are great...keeping it flowing. Salud!

- Service is lacking if you do not have VIP or timeshare bracelets. We were second citizens during dinner service.

- Promised free wi-fi and told we had to pay. Then we found out it was free only for VIPs, the guy was nice enough to give us the password. Free wi-fi located by Gym area (rusty & out dated equipment).

- Entertainment crew was great and enjoyed the daily water volleyball games.

Room Tip: Do not tip! We were the only ones tipping and did not get any better service for it. If you have a V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asena-Serkan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

At the end of June, I spent a fabulous week at the BlueBay Villas Doradas! It was easy to find our way around this small yet charming adult-only resort (the only one on the north coast of the D.R.!) The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I felt safe all the time, as security was not only visible on the resort but on the beach, as well. The quiet spa pool was my favorite place to relax on the resort along with the clean and glorious beach. Lounge chairs and umbrellas were readily available. Yes, there were vendors that approached us at various times. If you are in the mood to buy, what fun you will have conversing with them, yet they will also respect your decline and leave you alone.

But I have to say, the people we encountered were the best part of this resort! We were so lucky to have the most dynamic Customer Service VIP/RCI Coordinator, Judith, to take such good care of us and all our needs throughout the week! We were treated like VIPs everyday. She went out of her way to make sure sure we had the best time ever! This delightful young lady was not only a professional but a joy to converse with in both English and Spanish! Judith arranged our taxi rides to and from the airport and even to a jewelry store off the resort community complex. She also arranged for us to have reservations at each of the three specialty restaurants that week. We were pleasantly surprised she already made a reservation for us to the Seafood restaurant for the night we arrived and she was dead on about how wonderful the Steak restaurant was going to be! Judith sent a bottle of complimentary wine to our room and even took the time to track down a new bottle of eye drops for me when I had an issue with my eye. She introduced us to Alice, who helped us plan two wonderful excursions to Paradise Island and the City Tour. The resort's superb staff (servers, bartenders, maids, security guards, etc...) were warm and friendly and always greeted us with an "hola" and a smile. Mayo, James Bond, Commando & George of the entertainment Crew made it so fun, too! Special thanks to our terrific servers Antonio, Nelson, Wendy, Vincente and Huascar at the buffet and beach restaurants, Pablo the beach bartender, Domenico our always smiling omlette maker and Benita the maid who appeared at our door each late afternoon with fresh towels and the daily resort newsletter. We can't stop raving about the fantastic service we received!

Besides the Steak restaurant, I enjoyed trying the variety of international food at the buffet and looked forward each day to see what was going to be served. There was something for everyone! The myriad of breads and desserts were amazing! Pasta and foods for the health conscious were always available.

The room we stayed in was average but always clean. It suited our needs for the amount of time we spent there which wasn't much. However, It is important to note that they are in the process of updating all the rooms on the resort with more storage space, new TVs, paint, etc.

Being the off season, the resort didn't seem busy with too many people, so at times we felt we had some of these places practically to ourselves and were able to receive special attention. An addedd bonus was this is an adult only resort so it was pretty peaceful wherever we chose to spend our time. During the day, there were still plenty of activities by the pool to participate in, if interested. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing paradise vacation, the BlueBay is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KaOc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the end of June/beginning of July at the Bluebay Villas Doradas all-inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. It was a great place to stay. Judith in Guest Services was extremely helpful! She was very personable and helped us with anything we asked for. She even helped my friend and I practice our Spanish with her! She also introduced us to Alice who helped us book tours. The boat tour to Paradise Island was fantastic. There were wonderful views and we had a great time on the boat! We were pampered the entire time! We also took the City Tour. One of my favorite highlights was taking the cable car up to the top of Mount Isabella. Our tour guide, Manny, took fun pictures of us posing with the statue of Christ at the top of the mountain. We had great meals at the resort! Domenico made wonderful omelettes in the buffet restaurant! We had fantastic service from Anthony, Nilson and Wendy! We also had great service from Huascar in the restaurant near the beach during lunch. He also made great Pina Coladas! Pablo the bartender made great drinks and delivered them to us on the beach in the early part of the day. We had reservations for dinner at all three specialty restaurants. Our favorite was the steak restaurant. We had the most tender and delicious Chateau Briand! We bought some great jewelry from “Sammy Baldy,” one of the vendors on the beach. He even came back several times with additional jewelry because we asked for specific things. We also bought some amber jewelry from Eduardo. Judith introduced us to his jewelry store. Great selections! He even had his people design a pendant and earrings to match the ring I picked out! The beach was very beautiful, clean, and secure. It was quiet and relaxing because it is an adults only resort! There were always chairs available and plenty of umbrellas, too. There was plenty of security on the grounds who were pleasant to us every time we’d pass by. As a matter of fact, all of the employees were very friendly and greeted you as you walked by. Our room was average. We heard that they are updating some of the rooms. We saw one of the updated rooms and it was very nice! They added more drawers/storage space and updated the bathroom/shower area. They put in newer televisions as well. Since I am a member of RCI, we were invited to a cocktail party on Friday night near the pool at the spa area. We had champagne and hors deouvres. They had live music, a magician and fireworks to entertain us! Once again, we were very pampered! They also had various entertainment shows every evening. The best shows were: The Ideal Couple – very funny; the Michael Jackson impersonator; and the Mr. Bluebay show. Mayo, James Bond and Commando were a lot of fun! We had a great waitress at the show every night! All in all, it was a wonderful week!

Room Tip: Our room was right around the corner from the Spa area. It was very quiet. We were right near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoPl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

"First of I want to start of stating we booked last second and got a great deal for 4th of July weekend 2013 for two couples in their 20-30s. Also, like to add I am an easy going traveler and very accommodating however our experience at Blue Bay was unacceptable. Let me start out with the positives.

Pros:
1. Beautiful Beach,
2. Entertainment staff was pretty cool and fun and enjoyed the daily show/volleyball game.
3. Food was ok
4. Go snorkeling just past the Barcelo and Marcelo Resort (coral reefs right near shore)
5. Good value for the holiday weekend, but not at $110/night

Cons:
1. I am not sure who is to blame but we were promised a room upgrade from superior to silver. When we arrived the front desk told us that only one of our rooms could be upgraded. Eventually after a little bit of time they agreed to upgrade both rooms with a terrace. (if you tell someone you will do something you should do it). They blatantly lied and neither room had a terrace but one room was an upgrade (had some extra décor nothing fancy).

2. Room service was sub par and never got to our room till mid to late afternoon. The second day we had to ask twice before any room service attendant showed up. I believe they were short staffed as the attendants were visibly working all day.

3. We tried to immediately book the "a la carte dining and were told the reservations were full for the first two nights. It seems that guests book the restaurants in advance and for those people who stayed there for weeks at a time had already booked most of the restaurants and we were placed on standby. Also, the restaurants are only booked with 12 people per time slot, which was unacceptable. We finally booked the third and fourth nights for Asian Fusion & Steak House. The steak house was outdoors at the beach bar area so it was not even a real dining experience; however the food was very good. The Asian Fusion was at the front of the resort in Asian themed décor and was what we expected. The food though was nothing special.

4. The first day the resort tried to setup a resort walk around to sell us timeshares. We never showed up and they did not bother us about it after that, but I do believe that we were outcast or black balled for not listening to the timeshare presentation. If you do not have the VIP or timeshare you were treated like second rate citizens. One of the nights at the buffet we asked for wine five times. As other tables (with different bracelets from us) kept getting wine and the servers kept ignoring us. I gave a tongue lashing to one of the servers and eventually got wine service. plenty of more experiences where we were singled out with poor service while other couples were treated like royalty, but there is not enough room on this page to delve into detail.

6. DO NOT TIP!!!! We tipped and got no better service for it. No one else did and they got same or better service if they were timeshare or VIP. Trust me DO NOT TIP!!!

7. On the beach there are annoying solicitors trying to sell everything possible and they are all wearing same blue outfit which tells me they have a deal with all the resorts in the area, however a stern "no... will do the trick. After a couple of days they realized we would not purchase anything and left us alone.

8. The nightlife at this hotel sucked more than Bingo night at a retirement senior center. every night the Barcelo resort (located right next to this one) played great music while our resort went dead after 11 PM with nothing to do but listen to crickets mate. We booked this resort because of the adults only theme and expected more fun, but I think if we booked a resort that had kids, we would have enjoyed it more. We went to Pure Disco & Casino one of the nights and it was nice that the entertainment crew drove us there and watched out for us. The music was euro/Spanish music nothing special. We literally stayed 15 minutes it was nothing too fun or special.

9. Two of the three pools close at sundown and the third closed at 1AM.

10. We were promised free wi-fi and there was none. We found out on the last day the staff lied and there is by the SPA/gym building. One of the VIP/Timeshare guests mentioned that the staff tried to keep it secret. He gave us the password and we used it which worked well.

11. The gym equipment was outdated and non-functional.

12. The special services and front desk attendants were not friendly at all.

13. Weak alcoholic drinks unless you request strong. Which I always requested%uF04A. Salud!

14. This hotel is better suited for older couples and people who just want to relax. Not as many activities as I would of liked.

I would like to end my review by saying I would not recommend this resort based on the fact we were lied to about our room upgrade, wi-fi services, and being treated differently from VIP/timeshare guests.

I will admit the grounds/beach/pools were beautiful and one server in buffet area was our go to guy for drinks and extra passion fruit. We loved him and tipped often. Even with all the lies and unfriendly service we had a great time. How you could not with beautiful tropical weather? But, like I stated before the Blue Bay name has been tainted in my eyes from my experience and would never return to a Blue Bay resort ever again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrocknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I Stayed here for 2 weeks all inclusive from 24th June- 8th July 2013 with 5 of my girlfriends. I Had the time of my life here. Love it! after 2 weeks I still didnt have any desire to go home and all of us were in tears when we had to leave because the staff became our friends :'(
I would recommend this Hotel to anybody who wants to visit Dominican Republic. The service is amazing and the facilities are beautiful and always clean.
I had so much fun with the entertainment crew; Commando (always made me smile), Mayo ,George, James Bond ( crazy [--]! ) they made my holiday and I will never forget them xxxx
Also Wendy from the Restaurant, and Liliana from Guest services- 5 star Quality people!!
And Franklin at the bar- Miss those 'Frankin specials'! Only bad thing was the drinks in plastic cups, it would of been nice to have cocktails in a glass.
The daily pool games and the entertainment at night was great, They all make a huge effort to get guests involved and keep people laughing all day long!
Thomsons Holiday rep- Sylvia was great and the extersions were wicked, especially paradise Island.
I have never been so depressed to come home in my life and am deffinatley going back. Miss it so much and I only got back 2 days ago- Thanks so much to everyone at Bue Bay for the best holiday ever !! Jade xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeyJadeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing