We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Blue Bay Villas Doradas, in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic is an astonishing, hotel for relax and enjy the pleasures of life. It gives to guests the quality that one seeks in that type of all inclusive, hoteles.
The staff, mainly the VIP attendant Judite de La Cruz, who with her professionalism and sympathy, made our staying most pleasant.

Thank you and hasta breve.

Jose Dos Santos Circleone

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,263 - 2,269 of 5,737 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved the all inclusiveness of this hotel and its price. It was our first time at a resort, so we did not know what to expect, but it was wonderful!! We spent our time between the beach, the pool, the restaurants and just lounging taking a snooze. Well worth the money to stay in this place for a few days. The ONLY pesty thing was the staff trying to sell us the membership packages and tours. Aside from that, definetely recommend this place for a relaxing time without having to worry about spending on food or drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edictamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We love all the Crew members/Bartenders/Dining room waiters and the evening dancers.....every one!!!! Great team work!! We felt the love and care you showed us!! Allot of fun and great time with Mayo, George, Comando, Yayi, Alina, James Bond etc... EXCEPTIONAL !!!! Josee, Anthony, Josee Manuel etc..... EXCELLENT WAITERS (GENTELMEN, CLASSY) Franklen and every one at the beach / pool bars GREAT SERVICE !!!! WE WILL BE BACK BECAUSE OF THE GREAT EXPERANCE YOU GAVE US !!!!!!! Bluebay Villas Doradas you have exellent team of workers bravo !!!!!!!! Hope to see them all next trip !!!!!! From Kathlyn and Deborah

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathlyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Reading the bad reviews on this hotel my boyfriend and I were starting to worry that we had made the wrong choice in hotel and destination. Having been home for 2 days now we are already pricing again for later on in the year and are having major withdrawal symptoms!!!
We stayed at the bluebay from 15th April - 29th April and honestly cannot see what the hell anybody is complaining about. The complaints people had made I did notice such as towels being taken from your room and brought back later on in the day but you shouldn't be sitting in your room anyway, you have maybe 1 hour without a towel who even cares. Other complains like the food at the beach bar is disgusting.. they serve, rice, red beans, fried chicken ( which is Delicious!) french fries, pizza, burgers and hot dogs (which are made on a grill with a chef serving) burger and hot dog buns and then salad and dressings. THIS IS NOT YOUR ONLY OPTION OF FOOD so why moan that its not nice just go to the buffet! The bar food is just there if you want to stay down at the beach and you fancy just a quick lunch, its fine for that purpose. Another complaint made was the rooms.. they are white, they have a massive bed (which neither my boyfriend and I found hard to sleep in) they are cleaned to a high standard and are a nice size, for the price of the hotel we don't have any complaints.

The buffet food was very nice and had loads to choose from. there is a bread section with homemade breads that are lovely, there is a pasta station, salad station, dessert area, hot buffet area and a station where they make burgers and hot dogs or whatever specials they have, like the tacos on Mexican night! The staff in the restaurant were all brilliant and look after you whether you tip them at the start or not, we made sure we tipped them at the end and they were so grateful, well deserved they work very hard! Rafael, Wendy, Antonio and the man who made us a flaming coffee cant remember his name :(

The bar staff were also amazing they remembered what you were drinking and would happily pour you another without being asked which was a great touch. They are nice, genuine and friendly people who really made our holiday, as the pool bar was where we spent most of our days haaa! Juan, Santo, Franklin, Carmen and Pablo the cocktail king!! P.s order a Santo special its lovely :)

The Reception we had very little dealings with apart from the guest services phoning round to make sure everything was ok in the room and if you said something was wrong ( our television remote battery's ran out ) there would be a knock on the door about 5 - 10 mins later to sort out any problems you may have! We would like to mention Jose who brought our suitcases to us who was friendly and remembered us throughout the holiday!

Ala carte restaurants were lovely steak and Asian fusion were slightly better than the seafood but still enjoyed it. I recommend the mussels :) You have to book in advance and plan around the meals. The staff in the Ala carte are also very nice. Carlos and the tall man ( didn't even check what his name was but look out for him he is a great guy :) )

the gardens are well kept and you will always see the guys out gardening, its a long sweaty day for them and they are also friendly so we tipped a few of them as we saw them, you don't have to though.

The guys selling on the beach also are fine, they are very polite and don't bother you to much. you have to remember that these people are only trying to make money for there family and to live. coming to a country like the Dominican republic you should have that in mind that lots of the people are not in proper jobs and do anything they can to support themselves. if you wish to, they are very happy to sell little bracelets and pictures at a decent price and it really makes they're day! we actually made friends with them as well! cheapy willie is a real character! Also i recommend Cici number 73 for a massage it costs 20 dollars or 800 dominican pesos, her and her sister are very good if you cant find her ask the guys that are selling and they will call her for you.

and finally the crew! they absolutely topped off our holiday they are brilliant and so hard working! James bond, George, Commando, Baby and Yaris <3 they work extremely long hours and smile all day and night they are just lovely fun-loving people. we miss them already :(

please take my accurate account of this hotel as reassurance if you have booked up to stay at the blue bay villas and ignore the picky reviews about towels and food my boyfriend is a good chef and enjoyed the grub very much :)



GORDON AND HAYLEY FROM SCOTLAND :) xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hayleyrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We (my sister and I) just came back from the best vacation ever! BlueBay Villas Doradas was everything I expected and needed for my vacation. The hospitality that was shown to us by the staff especially by Judith was great and the resort was clean and neat there was always someone on the grounds picking up trash, cleaning or painting. The beach was very clean and knowing that there was security on grounds was so comforting especially to a traveling women. Quoting from another reviewer "the resort itself is quite nice; beautiful scenery, very clean and has great amenities. The beach is beautiful!!!...Nice clean water, never too crowded and tons of walking for over hour down the shore line. The food was great!" The dining room staff was so friendly and treated us like family by joking and laughing with us, we just loved Wendy, Rafael, and Severo!!!! There is so much I could say but words can't describe the marvelous experience I had at this resort. The only down side to this visit is that they gave us a "presentation" to their vacation club which we were not interested in but they wasted 2 hours of our time which was only suppose to be a 30 minute presentation. If you go and you are not interested in any vacation clubs insist that not waste your time or theirs. This is a very nice place to visit as a couple or with your girls for a very nice grown up time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Not at all what I expected overall. Very disappointing. I will not and have not recommended this resort to anyone!

The food: was good on occasion. The food at the beach was not great. The Servers were kind. Jose, Raphael and Antonio always ready to greet you with a smile and go the extra mile for you. They are the one's who really run for you. The a-la-carte was great!

Bar: Pablo at the beach bar is the best. He can mix a good drink! Thanks Pablo.

Rooms: Awful. They are very plain and our toilet backed-up twice.The beds are hard and so are the pillows. Not to mention the cleaning crew are very noisy outside your room early in the morning. Everyday we had to make a request for clean towels!

Entertainment: Okay. I've seen better. They borderline immature and can be a bit too 'friendly'. Some of these boys would be great for an all-inclusive single women only resort!

James Bond is the real deal. He is genuinly friendly and not looking for a 'good time'. He is there to entertain.

Lastly, the staff at reception were terrible. The people at reception ruined the tone for the entire vacation.
This was our first impression of the resort as there was much room confusion when we first arrived. The reception was rude, and we felt like we were a bother - certainly not arriving in "paradise". Even on other occasions when our room key no longer worked...we were disturbing them. There was no 'good morning' or 'good evening' when we passed by. Nothing. Your front desk...sets the tone, and it's very disappointing that the 'entertainment' staff can speak English better than your front receptionists'.

The beach: near the end I avoided the beach altogether. The vendors never leave you alone. You can't relax -

Pros: the beach (aside from the harrassing vendors that never leave you alone). The view is beautiful.

The quiet pool is a nice touch, and very zen.

Cons: The beach vendors. The reception. Some of the entertainment crew.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our honeymoon and had a fan time the breakfast an lunch where great but I myself didn't like the dinners so much the crew keep you entertained all day an night playing funny games and winning bottles of rum I got 7 when i was there and the staff would always come over to you an see how you was I took a shine to George he was so kind an honest always come over for a good chat James Bond was very funny to oh and mayo them boys rock with put them it would of been very dull we went on a few trips too the horse riding was fab my boyfriend didn't think it would be any good but he enjoyed it more than the buggy adventure on the buggy adventure ripped us off give us a DVD that wasn't of us was a big con don't do that trip if I was you the nights where all falling apart we also did the paradise island that was amazing got the DVD of that too and yeah it has us on it lots so was very made up . I can't wait to come back and see the boys again booking it now ;)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammymatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $77 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing