We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be Great”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent a week at this resort and enjoyed it very much. The room we were is was tired and in need of a update. This said the bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The food at the buffet was exceptional which was a very pleasant surprise. The only meal that lacked a bit was breakfast... the toasters just did not toast properly and the scrambled eggs were just too liquidy for me so I opted for the freshly cooked omelettes. The buffet itself was not grandiose but everything was fresh, tasty and outstanding.


Things that could be better:

WiFi access is very expensive. It cost $60.00 US for 7 days and you get kicked out every 15 to 30 mins so you have to login constantly. For the price my opinion this should not happen.

There is a safe in the room which is great but it cost $3.00 per day. Considering that this is a necessity in the DR and they recommend it, I think it should be included in the price.

The choice of alcoholic beverages are limited, if you want beer, wine or rum... you will be ok. If you want a martini, scotch, gin and tonic or vodka you are out of luck.

There is a small fridge in the room and if you are lucky they will give you 2 beers and 2 pops per day. If you want more it is extra.

To get the electricity going in the room you need to leave the key card in the switch. Sometimes the cleaning staff take it out to save energy. The issue with this one is that they take the key card with them so you have to go get new cards made... And to boot since there is no electricity then the nice cold drinks you thought you had in the fridge to enjoy when you got back to the beach are not cold at all.

Overall we enjoyed it and would come back

Room Tip: If you would like quiet room I would ask to be around the spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,148
    1,378
    576
    253
    178
See reviews for
469
3,062
185
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent two weeks here second half of March 2013 and had a wonderful time. It was our first time in The Caribbean and also our first in an all inclusive hotel. We loved everything about it: the buffet with a very good variation of everything. The service was excellent. If something was missing in your room, it was delivered in a few minutes if you just asked! The staff was very friendly and always smiling. The animation crew really funny and entertaining (we didn´t participate very much though). We found the pools and the beach very clean and beautiful.
The excursions we took were interesting and well organized: Paradise Island and The Waterfalls were unforgettable. The Waterfalls a little bit too extreme for older people like us (+60) but we made it!

Room Tip: If you have a room on the 1st floor, you might get wet when raining. We found water coming in under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spent a week with my friend (last week in March 2013) People are very friendly (more friendly when you leave some tip on the table). Food was good and diversified ( no need to eat in the three Restaurants, Fish, Steak and Chinese)
The only think I have to complain is the cleanliness in the room. They forgot to towels in the room. The floor didn't look like that somebody clean it. What a shame because everything around the Resort floors in the eating area a clean.
I can confirm (someone mentioned it before) there was something with the food because I spent two nights (last day and the first day home) in the restroom because of stomach problems. During the week I heard it from some people they had stomach problems as well. My stomach is usually very insensible.
Look for some trips outside the resort like paradise island.
I can recommend Hans-Peter German emigrant he is organizing trips (his "office" is in the Plaza close to the Resort.....
Go down town puerto plata

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruchsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were here for the second time in march 2013 - we love the food, the service, the weather, the pools, the beach, the ocean, the service... the music, the smiles... and the service :-))
Very nice hotel, very friendly staff.
The food in the main restaurant is very variated and tasty.
The beach is wonderful. We recommend a stay in february or march -

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merete-mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

There is no denying that the rooms are tired, sparce, and could use some updating. As reported by others, the sheets are thinning and some towels have holes or stains on them. BUT, ... the rooms are huge and clean. If you needed something in your room, a quick call or visit to the front desk and it was delivered within 15 minutes.

The food was great. I did hear a couple of people complaining and did read some reviews about the food being bad, .... but this was not at all my experience. The food was fresh and tasty. I've been to 5 star resorts with a lot worse food than here. We tried all three of the a la cartes and enjoyed them all. If you are looking for a Keg steak, ... then go to the Keg.

The staff in all areas of the resort were great. The servers may forget that you asked for tea or wine, ... but one little catch of the eye and they remembered and got it to you right away. I can't say enough about the "fun team". Mayo, Comando, "James Bond", George, etc, ... they were all fantastic. They gave everyone of all ages on the resort individual attention and made everyone feel included and part of the fun. They are incredibly full of energy and smiles!

We visited the spa and found the quality and prices of the services to be great. It was very proffessional and the products used were beautiful. Well worth a visit.

The beach and pools are good. You could walk for an hour along the beach. The pool area and walkways are extremely slippery when wet, .... if you are wearing regular flip flops....be careful! I didn't have too much trouble finding chairs in the shade, and I wasn't getting up early and saving chairs.

This trip was a gift for my mom for her 80th birthday... so the fact that the resort was small was good. My 27 year old daughter and her boyfriend came with us and they totally enjoyed themselves... so something for all ages for sure!

Good price and good value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 65Elspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

great trip! first time in dominican will definitely go back. probably next year. rooms were basic but very clean and well maintained. maid staff was very professional and accomodating. the grounds were beautiful and well groomed, entertainment staff was amazing george james bond mayo ya yi arleni commando were hilarious and got all the guests involved in activities. food was very good especially the a la carte restaurants. went for a massage, it was very good but needs to back off on the oil. was a little nervous going by myself but had a wonderful time! a lot more single people than i expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatontown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

First, let me say how nice the hotel staff( most ) are and that the grounds are kept to perfection. I'm done with the positive.
1. room...poor at best, bed hard, new pillows need to be brought immediately, takes 5 flushes for the toilet to work. I asked for 3 straight days for a clock that worked...I finally just gave up. Safe broke (had to pay to keep items safe..should that not be a free service) new safe had to be put in.
2. food..OK ...got sick with the stomach virus because hand sanitizing is not a priority. I asked for plain rice to be made for dinner for me..I tried for lunch but the chef wanted nothing to do with that request. I guess it is to hard to make plain white rice for someone who is sick. When I came to pick up the plain rice for dinner I was ushered over to where the rice was for the evening which had butter all through it...oh well.
3. beach..ok except you better set your alarm early if you even think you will get a chair under an umbrella. Rude people took up valuable space and wouldn't show all day as their seats sat empty while others roasted in the sun.
4. Adults only resort....so why did I see 2 children today?????
5. If you are not a "VIP" ( that would be a red band around your wrist) member don't expect any high ranking staff member to acknowledge you....as I was sitting in the lobby a "red banded couple" who had just arrived had at minimum 3 people catering to their every need.
6. I asked for a room that would be quiet...I needed to get up early to dive 3 days...so where was I placed in the 7000 which is close to the beach and the raging night life....so much for my request.
So as someone who doesn't write a review very often...stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: There is a small tiny pool by the spa..ask for a room that faces the pool...if you are looking for q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea8524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing