We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Nearby Hotels
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$160
$122
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$150
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$200
$119
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
$151
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$151
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$130
$111
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PlayaBachata Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$241
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,077)
Filter reviews
6,077 results
Traveler rating
3,454
1,494
643
278
208
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,454
1,494
643
278
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames bondblue baycoca colaalfredospa poolbeach barthe oriental restaurantjade gardenanimation teamteddy bearel doradothe grillseafoodchateaubrianda la carte restaurantsan adults only resorttime share
Filter
Updating list...
2,997 - 3,002 of 6,077 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Let me start by saying a massive hello to all from the Manchester Flight TCX126 on 14th May 2011 so glad to have met you all.

I stayed at the Blue Bay with my partner and another couple for 2 weeks in May2011.
All 4 of us had not been on a long haul flight or holiday before so did not no what to expect. The flight with Thomas cook was long but very well equipped as far as movies, food and service went.

On arrival at the airport after collecting out bags and going through visa payments out bag were swept from us by I lovely porter who was more than happy to help us to find out coach, unknown to us he only works for tips, a couple $ later he was happy and wished us a wonderful holiday.
On arrival to the Blue Bay Villas we were greeted by porters that helps with our bags (tip if you want not forced too) who showed us too the reception/lounge area and asked us to take a seat. We were given a cocktail and our key and welcome packs. We found out room easily as the welcome pack has a map of the whole site and each group of rooms are in a numbered block for example room 5204 was in block 5 ect.
The room was brilliant, 2 big double beds, plenty of space, clean and a lovely shower/bathroom area. We were more than happy with our room, the air-conditioning is free and you control it we paid extra for the safe box.
Te room keys are swipe cards there was a tiny problem with these that if you put your card next to your phone. Camera, other credit cards or got it wet it would probably not work when you went to open your room, just bob to reception and have it re-swiped and your away again until then next day maybe.
The service regarding out room was fantastic, our room was cleaned everyday without fail during the day whilst we were out, clean towels everyday and out cleaner would even call on an evening to collect our beach towels and replace them with clean one so we didn’t have to do it.

The food at the Blue Bay was plentiful and mostly yummy
Breakfast – hot, cold and continental breakfasts with and egg and bacon station were eggs are cooked to your liking in front of you e.g. omelette with your choice of filling. If you missed breakfast or just prefer your food to be cook there and then for you the beach bar served breakfast for an other hour 10:30 – 11:30 after the main restaurant shut.
Lunch – food was average but to be honest we didn’t have dinner in the main restaurant most days as we were either full from breakfast or had food at the snack bar.
Tea/Dinner – Fantastic, different themes, out of the whole stay there was 1 night that all 4 of us couldn’t find anything we liked other than that we were spoilt for choice.
The staff in the main restaurant were fabulous too making sure plates were cleared and water and drink topped up constantly, one man even remember how we take our tea/coffee for the morning so he could make it as soon as we sat down (FULL MARKS Nilson :-) !!!!!)
Snack bar – 24/7 food, fried chicken, pizza, chips, salad, bread, burgers, and sausage cheese ect, most of the time it was self service but when it wasn’t you ordered and they would bring it out fresh to your table.
Out of the 3 restaurants we only eat at 2 only because we don’t like sea food so stayed clear of that restaurant.
Oriental – Brilliant, good choice, great portions fabulous all round.
Steak – (Beach bar converted to restaurant on selected nights) brilliant good choice for everyone, lovely puddings.

The 3 bars were always fully stocked up and more than generous with there measures. Especially the pool bar with Juan.
The entertainment crew made our holiday Coca Cola, Beauty, James Bond Double O 7 and a half, Santa and Teddy were a brilliant laugh, all the games and antics during the days and also through the night shows. I have never met such a happy, smiley and fun crew before and I miss them all so much, they make you feel like friends and remember everyone’s name or give you a nick name.

Out of the hotel we went go-karting which the trips guy in reception sorted out for us, $25 each for unlimited goes on the karts, drink, snack and return taxi and is only 5 minutes from the Blue Bay.
We booked Paradise Island VIP Cruise (A MUST DO) and Dune Buggies threw our Thomas cook rep, prices were more than you can get them for on the beach but I would rather be covered on my insurance, plus after going on the trip I found them to be well worth every penny. I got engaged on the Paradise trip and we were treated with lovely gifts in out room the next day to congratulate us from the Blue Bay staff.

Our rep Helen (Thomas Cook) was fantastic and the most helpful rep we have ever had, she went the extra mile for all her guests and did everything within her power to help us all. Out of the big group of us a few off us fell ill for 24 hours (Sun stroke/Tummy bug) our rep had warned us this might happen and advised us that we ask for a Bomba from the bar, I am not sure what is init but I replaces the salt in your body, within and hour we all felt back to normal.

The local shop are at the Plaza a 5 minuet walk from the hotel, the horse and cart men will ask to take you for cheap but it is just as quick to walk. We got harassed at the shops but we said no thank you and kept walking then they left us alone.
The beach area was beautiful and there was always plenty of sun beds, if not the staff were more than happy to get you extras. The 24hours bar is situated right on the beach so is perfectly situated. Again you will be harassed on the beach by the sellers same thing say no thank you and they will leave you alone, they will all have a blue shirt on with a number, if not they are not permitted to sell on the beach. If you purchase off one of them the rest will swarm you one by one.

I would go back to the Blue Bay Villas Doradas tomorrow no questions, I felt at home and safe and welcome. We had the holiday of our lives and have met people that will remain friends for life from all over the world. The whole package was amazing. Us and the friends we made enjoyed it and each others company so much that a few of us have booked to go away together to the Blue Bay Cayo Coco in Cube next May hopefully the standard and quality of that resort will be as excellent as this one.
If you are wanting paradise, fun, space, nice friendly staff, cleanliness, decent food and are not too stuck up to have a laugh I would highly recommend this hotel. I hope this puts any minds at rest that have booked and seen the bad reviews.

Enjoy every minuet of your holiday we all sure did.

Love you all at Blue Bay and all From Flight TCX126/127 Manchester 14/05/11-29/05/11
I hope the manger at Blue Bay gets to read these reviews as I would love them to no how much I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with them,
Thank you
K & J

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank X88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

For us it is more than a great pleasure to read your positive comments about us and highlight the great work of all our staff, our goal is to offer a service that exceeds the expectations of our customers, however, it would not be possible to obtain it. without our good Employees. Thank you for highlighting the work of all the departments. We will share your good comments with them.

I have the pleasure to inform you that the management is studying the feasibility of placing free wifi zones in the hotel, so we appreciate your comments on this, as these promote long-term changes

We really appreciate that you advise other people to come to our hotel.

Thanks again for your good review.

Sincerely

Hamler Perez
Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I just came back from my 3rd trip to BlueBay and have no regrets, I had a great trip. Most of the staff is terrific and friendly, the place is clean, the food great and the drinks are plenty. I highly recommend BlueBay for a week of sun, food and drink...however be warned...you will be hounded to death by the beach vendors (we had 16 in 15 minutes one morning) most of your conversation will be to them saying "no gracias", over and over. It was so bad at one point we had to leave in order to talk amongst ourselves. I understand they are desperate for money, they make that clear, but it is WAY too much for anyone to tolerate. The same goes for the vendors the moment you leave the front gates to walk to the Plaza next door- you will be followed, hounded and yelled to. If that doesn't bother you, then terrific - you will have a great time. I also have a concern over the staff flirting with the womens in our group...that includes some of the security guards at night, who feel it is perfectly OK to approach and chat up single women at night who are on their way back to the room. One of the women in our group certainly did not appreciate it. Other than that, it's a great place. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnnymuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

For us it is more than a great pleasure to read your positive comments about us and highlight the great work of all our staff, our goal is to offer a service that exceeds the expectations of our customers, however, it would not be possible to obtain it. without our good Employees. Thank you for highlighting the work of all the departments. We will share your good comments with them.

I have the pleasure to inform you that the management is studying the feasibility of placing free wifi zones in the hotel, so we appreciate your comments on this, as these promote long-term changes

We really appreciate that you advise other people to come to our hotel.

Thanks again for your good review.

Sincerely

Hamler Perez
Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

food rubbish
rooms unclean cobwebs
curtain dirty hang off runners
lots of ants
blocked toilets took two complaints to main desk
and 3 hours to get fixed
broken shower tray
roof leaked when rained
staffonly some showed professial service
alcarte resaurant a joke level of sevice nil food yyek

Room Tip: do not go there
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ripedoff6212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer,

We thank you so much for having selected BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

On behalf of the entire staff of our hotel we want to thank you for sharing your comments and highlight each point of improvement and good things experienced, we are working hard to increase our service quality in order to offer a service that exceeds the expectations of our customers. At the same time we want to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.

We consider your comments as a good opportunity of improvement.

Our expectation is to have our entire customer back to the resort every year for that reason working on the customer’s reviews and solve is very important for us.

Thank you once again for your review.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here in may 2011 as a family and adopted a few other family memebers along the way

Reception: Reception staff were pretty pleasant and were able to help with what ever query you may have, even if it was at 3am!! Night Reception Manager was very good and made sure you was ok and when coming back into the hotel at 2-3am!! (feel bad because i cant remember his name)

Bar: Bar staff were great keep them talking and you'll get what you paid for!! Have to mention Juan (pool bar), Polanco and I think Hose!! All of them were great, and never once were they rude! Even the guys ont he bar down the 24hr beach bar... By the time you get to day 3 They know your order!!! Barmaids/Tray Ladies had a fantastic memory come to the table ask you and come back with every single drink! no papaer needed! by day 4 there was 11 of us!!

Pools: Pools were kept fairly clean... ok probably need a revamp but they were great when the tempretures reached the highest around 12-3pm. And even to watch everyone do water aerobics!! And playing volleyball in pool 2! Although Pool with the bar was the place to be around midday to keep yourself well highdrated (even if it was with rum), Also great for socialising Thats how we got to meet our adopted family and the lovely scottish crowd we met!! All i say is the pineapple drink was vile!! And im sure they will know we are talking about them

Food: I see alot of people have complained about the food!! Well what do you expect from a buffet restaurant! Food was fantastic and there was agreat selection so if you chose to eat the same thing everyday then thats your choice but the themed nights were great!! Snack bar down the beach was also great especially when feeling peckish at 3am, after coming back from the local club coco bongos. The A La Carte restaurants were also great especially the Jade Garden although they are open and this is shown on newletters found in reception! and by booking with the slips provided!! We tried all 3 whilst away so they are obviously open!!! Although a must try is the fried ice cream from the Jade Garden Oriental restaurant!! The afternoon pizza trolley was also well needed especially after a game of water volleyball!!

Beach: Didnt really go down the beach very often during the day.... but maybe for the quick dip in the sea or for most lunch times to the snack bar! The beach was nice.. Just dont walk bare foot on the sand during the day!! Ouch!! Sea was warm and got colder the further you went out then all of a sudden warm again very strange!! Once You told the beach sellers "no" they were pretty good and left you alone!!

Rooms: Yes the room is basic but what do you do in there ?? sleep and shower!! Always kept very clean our housemaid Carmen always left towel swans in the room in different styles and kept the room very clean! (twice a day most days) Only thing ill say is the bed stands were slightly wider then the matresses so yeah watch your ankles and your shins!! but otherwise No faults!!

Rep: Our Rep Helen was excellent! Thomas cook take note!! Had great local knowledge and great advice about all trips, Also helped that she had done most of the trips so was able to recommend the best ones!! Althou They all sound so tempting!!

Trips: Megatrucks is a must!! Take Pencils and Note pads not sweets!! Paradise island VIP trip is nice but the coach trip back seemed to take hours!!! Friends doen the dune buggies and had a great time, Trip around puerto plata and up the cable cars was amazing but id say it was a one time trip!! All trip guides were great and spoke good english and some very good German to!!

Animation Crew/Shows: Well..... where do i start the animation crew were fantastic!! And they hosted crazy games everyday after the "good morning song" and were always quite persuasive to get you to join in!! Although when you win you get a certicate or rum! Well our lil fmaily and extended family must of mugged them dry! especially one in particular! Papa!! haha! A will howver give a special mention to Santa - Our adopted sister!! She was great and so kind and always laughing!! Baby -was very sweet and i do remeber singing along with her to the lover ngiht songs with the family!! James- Too funny!! always smiling! and such a good sport! spoke to everyone!! And by he end of week one he even knew your name ..... well they all did however i had quite a few different pronounciations!! Coca-Cola- when he first done his flips i thought jeezeeeeee...... such a funny man!! and also he was a great sport always smiling, friendly guy! Beauty - Nice enough guy, would always make sure you was ok and loved to make people shake on the stage!!! Aris- the dj!! we loved you!!! ask him to play it and if his got it he will!! The group dance "Guajira - Chayanne" Call em sad but i actaully downloaded it on itunes!! every afternoon and evening!! And of course the under played "chocolate (choco choco) -soul control" was one that got most people up!! and still now we sing it!!
The evenign entertainment was great.... Its wahat you would expect from a hotel although the dancers were fantastic! a special mention to ANthony (Roberto) - WOW!!! also the girls!!! Cant remember any names sorry!! Also all the other guys were all fantastic!! Even on the last night when anthony pulled me up to dance after he'd just spun Iris around? I thought Oh dear!! But he was pretty tame!! Thank God!! Lol Fire show was excellent and sowed a great cultural side of the hotel! Lovers night with band was quite chilled nights!! Magic show...... Was ok! Michael Jackson show was excellent!! and again dnacers were great!! Hypnotist was quite a laugh!!!!! To watch people soooo faking it but still all were very good shows!!!

Managers cocktail party was a fantastic idea and hats off to oscar for arranging these as its a great way of learning who the staff are and who does what behind the scenes and even including the staff who are 99% in with the guests!!! Shows such respect for all your staff!!

Hotel in general id give a 9.9 out of 10!! Had a fantastic fortnight and have actually rebboked for next year!! So we will hopefully see you then, I hope this review actually shows people a true reflect of the hotel and what it has to offer!! Also what you have to remember is no hotel is gonna be like buckingham palace so just get over it and enjoy!! SEE YOU NEXT YEAR BLUE BAY!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KirtyKatieKilsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

For us it is more than a great pleasure to read your positive comments about us and highlight the great work of all our staff, our goal is to offer a service that exceeds the expectations of our customers, however, it would not be possible to obtain it. without our good Employees. Thank you for highlighting the work of all the departments. We will share your good comments with them.

I have the pleasure to inform you that the management is studying the feasibility of placing free wifi zones in the hotel, so we appreciate your comments on this, as these promote long-term changes

We really appreciate that you advise other people to come to our hotel.

Thanks again for your good review.

Sincerely

Hamler Perez
Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Let's start with the good:
The waiting staff are outstanding; they work hard - if you tip them especially at the start of the meal they cannot do enough to help you.

The food is varied and of a very high standard. The steak restaurant for me was the best.

The layout of the complex is good with individual blocks rather than a multi-storey complex. The downside of this is walking around especially in the heavy downpours that occur, in these times the paths become unbelievably slippery.

Now my gripes the pests:
1. The beach sellers persistent and annoying; they seem to congregate at Bluebay and are very friendly with the staff of the hotel which seems to encourage them to set up shop at this location.
2.The birds - all the time birds fly into the buffet areas, steak restaurant and to the bars pecking at food and snacks which is very unhygienic. They mess on the tables and will eat from your plate if you do not keep guard.
3. The hotel club staff; again they are annoying pests they are not always easy to spot as they come across friendly and helpful offering free tour of the hotel and a welcome gift. Avoid them they are the plague trying to get you to sign up for their VIP club.
4. Bed Bugs the maids were very good but after a change of sheets one time we were infested with bed bugs - the problem with bed bugs is they spread like wildfire ask a number of the New York hotels. I do not know what stage Bluebay is at but they definitely have them characterised by the repeated bites close together.

A lot of people rave about this place but there are many resorts in Cancun and across the Caribbean that are far more relaxing and equally good food. This place is fairly reasonably priced if you can tolerate the pests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mcnabb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer,

We thank you so much for having selected BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

On behalf of the entire staff of our hotel we want to thank you for sharing your comments and highlight each point of improvement and good things experienced, we are working hard to increase our service quality in order to offer a service that exceeds the expectations of our customers. At the same time we want to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.

We consider your comments as a good opportunity of improvement.

Our expectation is to have our entire customer back to the resort every year for that reason working on the customer’s reviews and solve is very important for us.

Thank you once again for your review.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews