We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, felt perfectly relaxed the entire holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, felt perfectly relaxed the entire holiday!”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We Visited Bluebay Villas on the 9th March 2011, the hotel is only a twenty minute drive from the airport so after a quick transfer we arrived at the hotel lobby.
Immediately we were offered a drink and some refreshing face cloths and were explained where things are in the hotel and what to do for food etc.

We were then taken to our room, the rooms are standard- with a comfy large bed, ours only had a shower as we had paid less for this, the rooms all have an electronic safe in the cupboards (that you choose your code for) and a TV, fridge and coffee maker. There is also a hair-dryer in the bathroom.

The hotel surroundings are beautiful and so well decorated, with candles being lit at night time to guide your way through the hotel.

The walk to the sea is over a bridge and a murky lake, that yes- when it gets very hot it can let off a stench- but you're only walking past it for a few seconds! The beach is cleaned every morning, and we had no problems getting a sunbed, and occasionally the lovely beach beds! On the beach we took use of the free water sports- such as kayaking and snorkelling.

There are three pools in the resort, one for non smoking quiet relaxation, second for volleyball at midday then after it remains as a second quiet pool, then there is the main pool with the bar (if you don't want to be involved with the activities then I suggest you avoid this pool!). All of the pools aren't very deep so be careful when swimming to not grate your knees along the floor! The pools are all very clean, and yet again, we had no problems finding a sunbed.

Within the hotel, you get the chance to eat in each of the a la carte restaurants (fish, meat and asian) these were lovely and created a perfect end to our day. Be warned that you must book in advance and you have to pay extra for specific food such as lobster. The main buffet restaurant always provided delicious varied food, that with so much choice it was hard not to find something you'll love. Breakfast consisted of cooked breakfast or fruit, cold meats, toast/bread, yoghurts etc. Lunch consisted of salads, sanwhcies and hot meals such as grills or the pasta station. Dinner was always based on a theme such as tex-mex/seafood but aspects like the pasta station always remained incase you didn't like food from the theme. Lastly there was the 24hour snacks and bar on the seafront, we ate lunch here twice and the food is burgers, southern fried chicken, chips etc. However, by a about 6 most of the snacks have run out, or they are setting up for the evenings a la carte restaurants and so do not cook anything.

We watched two shows at the hotel both involving dancing from a group of dancers on lovers nights and latin night, but the entertainment was loud and intrusive. The main guy who led the shows had an irritating loud voice that when you try to get to sleep early is the only thing you can hear. Some groups/couples got very involved with the tacky entertainment- yet I felt it cheapening of the hotel and 'butlins like'. Not that impressed, however we decided to do our own thing when the shows were on, such as drinks on the beach or drinks in our room.

We went on three amazing trips on our holiday, all booked with Julio (Santa) on the seafront, he will immediately make himself known to you when you arrive! We visited Paradise island, city tour and the waterfalls. All amazing experiences- but be warned if you are fussy with food then you may want to sneak a sandwich out of the hotel for lunch.Buying trips on the beach is cheaper than with your rep, and also means you go in groups of about 10, rather than a coach load.

Overall, we had an amazing week in the Dominican, with great food, sea, sand and poolside fun. Bluebay Villas is an excellent place for couples, or small groups for a week or two of pure indulgence and relaxation (maybe even treat yourselves to an expensive massage at the spa to relax a little bit more?!) and we would definitely visit again and have already recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chocabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,250
    1,397
    582
    256
    182
See reviews for
489
3,124
193
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2011

i enjoyed the food, drink & the fact that its an adults only resort. the omlete man in the buffet resteraunt was brill, loved the beach bar staff but the pool bar staff were not of the same quality!!!!! BLUE BAY could do themselves a favour and save alot of wages by getting rid of the yellow shirt men trying to push you into their timeshare meeting, i would have been interested if they didnt HOUND & HARRASS US CONSTANTLY. MAJOR COMPLAINT AGAINST THE ONE WHO CALLS HIMSELF ( EASY ) not so easy to get rid off without being rude.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuVmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My wife and I just got back from staying here and just had a wonderful time. Starting with our arrival the reception area is modern and beautiful. We were shown our room and we thought it was a little close to the pool (noise) and they moved us with no hassle.
We dumped our clothes off and headed to the beautiful beach. What a view. Now if you want a nice seat under the straw umbrella's make sure you get up early and save your beach chairs with your towels.

The food and service are excellent. The staff is all smiles. Yes there are vendors that mulling around coming by and asking for you to buy. A simple, "No gracias" will do the trick.

We had a ball and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in February 2011 and had upgraded to the "gold gardenview deluxe room". Here's how we felt.
- the room was VERY basic - literally a bed, TV and mini bar
- bathroom does not have a tub, and there was no door on it, so water would just pour all over the bathroom
- water kept shutting off
- be careful: you can use what they stock in the minibar ONCE but if you want it refilled they charge $10US/refill (and we were supposed to get sparkling wine in our minibar but never did)
-beds are hard and pillows are very thin
- the staff and food are the best parts.
- yes, people bother you constantly on the beach, but I think all resorts are like this
- the catamaran trip with nexustours was great!
- pools are pretty busy, but the beach is nicer anyway - water was super warm
- tipping is expected, and don't forget the people who pour wine at dinner (especially Carlos) and the omelette guy Domingo is super nice. They appreciate it. Try to speak Spanish, most are encouraging and will try to teach you stuff, others just answer you back in English
- drinks are pretty much awful (a pina colada is rum with slushie machine drink mixed in and, depending on the bartender, a margarita could be a slushie mixture, a drink full of ice cubes, or a shaken drink poured into a cup without ice - all pretty terrible)
- the only drink I thought was good was whisky and coke
- the food was by far the best part although the oriental restaurant was AWFUL. The appetizer was a ham and swiss sushi roll - ugh - the only night I was sick to my stomach was after that restaurant.
- The meat in general was pretty gross but I'm not a big meat-eater so you decide
- the spa is very basic and extremely overpriced. Got a complimentary mani-pedi; done with minimal effort and cheap polishes that chip almost immediately - ok for free but I wouldn't pay for it (but still tip the girl who does it)
- there are no wild animals there other than lots of non-exotic birds
- please please don't take a horse-carriage ride or pay for pictures with the monkey, parrot or iguana - they are all abused, starved and treated horribly - please don't support the people who do this!! Look at how skinny the animals are with hair loss everywhere due to poor nutrition, starvation and abuse. What is a "lark" for you is supporting a lifetime of torture for them - this was the worst part of the trip, seeing the poor captive animals (this isn't the resort's fault; the animals are at the mini shopping centre a couple minutes away from the resort, but I had to say it)

Overall, I wouldn't go back. I would say (from Toronto for a week) the place is worth maybe $700-800/person. If you can get it for that price I would say it's worth it.
Next year, my boyfriend and I are going to stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda (which several people raved about while we were at Bluebay) in Punta Cana and we will book EARLY (November) so it is a great deal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwilson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Was not there 24hours when the are in your face about membership, your financial situation, and a 25 year membership. Taking a No is diffucult with these sales people. The place is dated, food is pretty good but expect stomach problems. The water and weather was great but expect daily hassels from beach ventors who like the sales staff wait for possible sales on the sides and then hound you all day long. The rooms contained a bed that was harder than the floor, pillows that were washed at some time, resulting in hard lumpy contents, towels delivered late in the evening when you are in bed, and sometimes not at all. On the the up side, the dinning staff were excellent and provided friendly curtious service. Due to the pushy rudeness of the in-house solicators, we would not return

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scourch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Just returned from our second visit to BlueBay Villas, All I can say is Thankyou.
The animation staff have changed over the last 12 months, yes Lorenzo and Rambo have moved to pastures new, however they have been replaced with the likes of Coca-Cola and Beauty. The 2 girls Santa and Mini me (Mary) are an excellent addition. Teddy bear is his usual self (if slightly toned down a little). The dancers are amazing. (the water ballet is a must watch event)
The waiting on staff in the restaurants are as weloming as ever, as are the management. The food is of a high standard with enough choice for even the fussiest of diners.
The bar staff can't do enough for you and are always on hand to top up your drinks.
The only negative I have is the rooms are beginning to look a little worn and could use some general maintenance, everything however did work.(safe, fridge, hair dryer etc)
Would also like to say thankyou to Sylvia the Thomson rep....available daily and always willing to help and advise.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muckypuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This recent visit to BlueBay was a delightful holiday as usual with the attentive staff taking care of our every need to ensure we had a super time. Our thanks to all of you.

We enjoyed our very quiet room (5112) overlooking the spa area and kept spotlessly clean by either Maria or Corila. Thank you ladies. The cleaning and maintenance staff work very hard to ensure the grounds of the resort are beautiful.

The newly built Activity/Wellness Centre just can be found over the bridge behind the VIP section of the beach. Building this permanent structure was a stroke of genius as it is multipurpose and provides a space for language lessons, sport activities such as yoga, pilates etc. and later in the day houses a popular tea room (4:30 till 6) where you can sip your tea of choice, munch on cookies and chat with other guests. Heading up the physical activities (yoga, pilates, etc.) is an instructor provided by a company called NRG2GO whose president is Sarah Terrion. The talented and energetic instructors are assigned to BlueBay for 1 or 2 weeks at a time.

Wednesdays are Wellness Days at BlueBay with massage demonstrations in the main pool area and fruit tastings served by the Crew.

Food and beverages are available at the resort 24/7 whether in the restaurants, beach bar or room service. Book the a la carte restaurants at the Guest Services Desk. Ines, Doralize or Andreas will cheerfully make reservations on your behalf. If you are celebrating a special event, a personalized cake can be ordered at the same time.

In the buffet we enjoyed the high quality meals served every day. There was always something delicious that appealed to our taste buds. Every evening there was a different theme. Lining up for meals could have been a drag but we had an arrangement with another couple to share a table. If more guests did this it would reduce wait times. It’s amazing how the serving staff members maintain their good humour and smiles considering they fly around the dining room trying to keep up with the guests’ demands, clearing tables and resetting them.

The specialty restaurants provide the atmosphere for a romantic dinner for two or celebratory mea with friendsl. We dined at all three twice each during our two week stay. The Chateaubriand was exceptionally good at Las Garzas; the beef was very tender. At Jardin de Jade the Peking Duck served as an appetizer and then main (extra cost) was a real treat. The feature dessert at Jardin de Jade is deep fried ice cream which is to die for. The Lobster Bisque and Calamari (appetizers) were devine as was the Seafood Stew at El Pescador. On each menu there are the all inclusive meals and those which come with an extra charge. Sometimes you just have to splurge and have lobster, duck or a top of the line steak. Desserts at Las Garzas and El Pescador include vanilla or chocolate cake, flan, ice cream, chocolate mousse, etc. On tap are the house wines, beer and liqueurs; to order a premium bottle of wine just ask your server for the list. The wines are very reasonably priced.

When we wanted some lively activity we joined in the fun at the main pool area. Most of our time was spent at the spa pool where we swam, read and visited with people from Canada, the US, Britain, Sweden and Germany. Moises, Jose or Angelo kept the supplies of our beverage of choice flowing depending upon the time of day.

On rainy days, when there is a high turnover of guests and for the Tuesday Cocktail Party a bar is set up in the lobby.

Every Tuesday evening before dinner we attended the Managers Cocktail Party. A local band plays followed by the introduction of all the managers working at BlueBay. All managers, including general manager, Oscar Lora and his assistant, Jose Vaquer, make themselves available to the guests. The valued efforts of all staff members is saluted as well. Following this event is the Taste of the World dinner in the dining room. Featured are oysters served by the fisherman who caught them earlier that day. What a treat!

Wednesday evenings Oscar Lora hosts the Manager’s Cocktail Party to which are invited repeat guests, members of the Vacation Club and guests celebrating a special event. While sipping bubbly and munching on delicious canapes, guests mingle and chat. There is a welcome by Oscar, followed by a draw for a couples’ massage and then entertainment.

On this holiday we did not take any excursions. However, one can book trips in the lobby of the resort right beside the Guest Services’ Desk.

Check out my photos here:

http://tripwow.tripadvisor.com/tripwow/ta-0103-5648-928e?ln

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank escapewinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,054 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing