We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing, need i say more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
mablethorpe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“amazing, need i say more”
Reviewed January 31, 2009

we needed to get away, and well we let the travel agent reccommend us, and im so glad i took there advice, this is an amazing resort,

we loved the food and drinks flowed constantly, we had lots of time to relax in wonderful atmosphere, and having the use of all 3 hotels was an added bonus, our room was great, however the wicker furniture did have some kind of sand fly in the but the cleaners all carry sprays, for them, but hey your in the carribean, you have to expect some dont ya, (umbrellas in the bedroom ready for the tropical rain were a very nice welcomed touch)

the staff were amazing to us , entertainment and reception spoke very good english and were always up for a laugh and a joke,
the cleaners and toilet attendants didnt speak much english but a smile is universal, and made us feel very welcome,
for such small wages im not sure youd get the same serivce over here,lol
the only real negatives is that once your in the resort thats it your miles from a town and even then we were recommended not to go alone, (but the armed guards at the gate did make you feel protected) but wot from i dont know as everyone we did meet were amazing,
be prepared to barta esp at the shacks on the beach, they are very agressive sellers altho thats just there way , carribean street on the other hand was a no hard sell zone so if your prepared not to get the best price is an alternative but i find the bartering fun and you soon get used to it,
id deffo go back and this will rate as one of my best holidays ever
we did have some people the same week we were there that did nothing but moan and i just wasnt seeing wot they were so hey ya cant please everyone, everything is wot you make it,

  • Liked — the food and drink
  • Disliked — .
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ant20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,980
    1,745
    954
    410
    272
See reviews for
1,382
2,238
94
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Had a great 2 weeks at the Mambo, although we did have a tropical storm that lasted from Wednesday night to Saturday morning. The food was superb, I am a very fussy eater but found plenty of variety to my likeing. Rooms were very clean and the towel art a nice touch. Overall service was excellent, very high hygene standards, no upset tummies. The entertainment team were very energetic and friendly, the shows were good but I found some a bit amatureish and boring. I found the drinks to be plentyful but very weak, no hangovers here. Perhaps a good thing, no drunken yobs, fights or ill drinkers. All the bar staff and waiters were 1st class. The only fault I found, was when we had the storm, there was not much to do. A walk outside the complex is not recommended. If you do venture into town, look out for the motorcycles, which carry anything from 4 people to a twin tub washing machine ( yes I saw it with my own eyes) In a nut shell, a great holiday.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank paulchoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We went here for 2 weeks in April 2008, myself, husband and 3 children - 2, 10 and 11 at the time. My parents came too and stayed in another room. Fantastic all inclusive resort, set on the beach, large pool and kids pool, buffet, al a carte, snack bar. Lovely accomadation, not high rise block but small units of 8 rooms (on 2 floors) in each scattered among the gorgeous gardens. Fridge in the room containing cans of soft drinks, bottles of water, beer and mixers, optics - gin, vodka, brandy, whisky - all included in price!!!! The maids are always cleaning the rooms, never had any complaints with the hygiene. Lots of entertainment going on during the day if that's your thing, but it's not overwhelming, you can just sit by the pool with a cocktail or on the beach and not get disturbed! Very quiet beach....no sellers. Massage hut on beach! Very nice looking kids club, but did not use it. Water sports included in the price, pedlos etc. Evening entertainment happens on stage in a large room with bar....not too good, but again you don't have to be involved, we went back to our room most nights and sat out on our patio.......ideal when all inclusive actually continues in your room with the optics etc. Extremley good value for money.....I'm not saying cheap and cheerful, it's a 4* hotel....just outstanding value!!!! We've been to Kenya before and my parents regularly go to the Maldives and they could not believe the standard of the place for the money. The food was great always alot of choice and variation.

  • Liked — All of it!!
  • Disliked — None of it!! Would return in a second.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GuildfordLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We Loved Riu Mambo. We letft Canada's cold weather and reached to a place that so warm and beautiful.

The food was very good.The shows in the evenings were very very funny. They have so much energy that it is unbelivable. The only thing that bothered me a bit that they were a bit aggrassive.
I mean they danced very sexualy on stage and when you go with little kids you thing that it is really not for them to hear and to see.

Every thing in Dominican is a bout sex and they have "no shame" to show it...

Other then that it is a dream place. We are hoping to go back someday...

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TorontoHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

The hotel(s)
We stayed in the mambo but you can use all the facilities at the other two hotels on the resort ( Bachata and Merengue ), the only difference we could see was that you can have international brands of alcohol if you asked for it at the bachata. All of the hotels are spotlessly clean and well kept.
After reading a couple of reviews about the mambo on here i was a little bit worried that the mambo was the worst of the three hotels, NOT TRUE, as i said above they're all the same, so don't worry if your staying at the mambo, you'll love it.
The enetertainment staff ( animation team ) worked very hard, not to our taste, a little bit like red coats, but were entertaing
The only negative is that we had awful weather ( 5/7 days of heavy rain ) and the hotel can cope for one day of bad weather for entertainment ( pool, table tennis, darts etc.. ) but not for five days, this does get a bit boring.

The food/drink
Lots of choice, and all very nice. Again you can eat at any of the hotels apart from your evening meal which you must stay at your own accomodation. We loved the breakfast, fresh omelets cooked how you want with what you want, very nice mmmmmmm!
All meals are at set times, but also there's snack bars open all day ( until 6pm ) for burgers, salads, pizzas if you want to eat outside of the set times.
All the cold food is buffet style, and hot food cooked fresh and always plenty of different things to choose from, meat, fish, stews etc...
The drinks are free flowing from the various bars, too many to count!

The rooms.
Very comfortable, the bed comprises of two 3/4 beds pushed together, there's a tv that has about 12 english channels playing movies/sport/news, due to the bad weather this was handy!
You have a fridge which is stocked every other day with beers, soft drinks and mixers for your optics which are gin, rum, vodka and brandy. If you catch the guys filling your fridge, give them a couple of dollars and your fridge will be stocked with more than you need! The air con works a treat and a ceiling fan also helped for when it was hot. The rooms were cleaned every day, our maid did different styles of towel art and made the bed up fancy with pettles scattered here and there.

I would recommend doing the Puerto Plata cable car/rum factory tour, it was brilliant, and do book to be in the vip lounge at the return trip home as the airport is generally very dirty, and warm, it's worth the $25 as you get loads of international brand alcohol and a very comfortable room.
Overall i was impressed with the whole hotel, the beach was nice and kept tidy by the ever attentive staff. All staff spoke fairly good english, so don't worry about learning too much spanish. A little bug bare was that the sun beds around the pool got taken quickly with the towel savers, which was annoying!
Enjoy your stay, and i hope you get the weather :-)

  • Liked — The great choice of food and drink
  • Disliked — The rubbish weather! And the towel sunbed savers
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We travel to Puerto Plata in Dec 2008 and stayed for a week at Riu Merengue. Upon arrival to Puerto Plata, travel agent met us; we boarded a bus and in 30 min arrived at Riu Merengue. Right away cold drinks were served. Registration was very quick and painless. I have to admit that service is really good. Looks like staff is trying to make your stay pleasant. Resort itself is nice and clean. Our room was nice and clean, everything was working, no complains here. Room was cleaned every day, all the supplies, drinks were restocked daily. Pool is rather small and looks not that great. Beach could be much better. It’s not the greatest place for swimming. It’s very rocky and you need some swimming shoes. I don’t know what happened but some oil stains ended up on my swim short and body and not only on mine! You can easily find free beach chair and shade if you wish. Unfortunately beach near the area were all activities happening is not swimmable, you cannot enjoy both. Food is just Ok. It is tasty, sufficient selection but nothing exceptional. Drinks are definitely the big problem at this resort. First of all you have to mention every time that you want it with alcohol. Selection is limited, not tasty. Entertainment is really flat. Big disappointment. One or two shows were ok, anything else nothing interesting. During shows for some strange reason entertainment team was not speaking in English. This is totally unacceptable. Weather is separate topic. It was raining on and off. You would easily find that December is rainiest month in Puerto Plata. Overall Riu Merengue is Ok but you could find more exciting destination for the same money.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Riu Mambo staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were pressentable but not sure that the glasses were washed or just rinsed and put back. Although I met a lot of nice people staying at the hotel, the smokers were another matter. The hotel had very few areas for non-smokers and catered mostly to the smokers. I also found that the smokers were very inconsiderate of non-smokers. Standing in line for anything, for your excursion, booking dinner etc they would just light up and stand there with no consideration for anyone else around them. If you are a non-smoker this is not the place for you.

  • Liked — The staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — The hotel caters to smokers.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbird022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
9.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,263 reviews
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,446 reviews
8.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Property: ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing