We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING trip!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
simcoe, ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING trip!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I travelled to Riu Merengue Village resort on Mar 23-30 for a wedding I was standing up in. The check in was a breeze considering that there was a party of at least 29 of us and whatever other people were checking in at the time. We arrived to welcome drink and were shown to our rooms. Rooms were spacious for two and there was a lovely balcony to sit on. The rooms needed some repair but we really didn't go for the rooms. The bathroom is updated with granite countertops and nice pressure in the shower. The bar fridge and liquor dispensers were a nice added touch.
The Village is a nice resort to stay at since it is not a big resort and everything is a stones throw. Steps from the pool, bar and restaurant, the beach was right there. If you needed to grab something from your room, it was easy to do without wasting too much time.
The grounds were immaculate!! The pool area was so nice. No lack of shade or loungers. Didn't have to go out at 6am to reserve a seat.
The beach was lovely, again no lack of shade or loungers. Beach bar right there with servers on the beach as well. We used the paddleboats one day and that was really nice. Wanted to use the kayaks as well but the water was too rough for a first timer.
Shopping was plentiful and fun to barter with the shop keepers.
Visiting the other two resorts was a bonus. Was able to catch lunch and breakfast at Garden and the Bachata. Every few feet there seemed to be a bar you could refresh yourself. A nice brick pathway joins all three resorts.
The staff everywhere and at all levels were super. The bartenders were very attentive and always looked like they were having a good time. The bars do close down by midnight but usually we were ready to retire or go enjoy our free 90 minutes of wifi in the reception area that was offered every day.
The activation gang at the Village specifically were outstanding! I dare say they made our trip that much better..a shout out to Shaggy, Spaghetti, Dexter, Popeye and Barbie-we called her that). These people are sooo good at their job and kept us truly entertained all week.
We all hope that they continue doing the great jobs of providing people with fantastic memories!
I for one totally recommend the Merengue Village for a vacation. I would go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2114 and it was nice and close to everything. Very private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jodib71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,959
    1,724
    944
    408
    266
See reviews for
1,364
2,214
90
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just returned April 1. The rooms where a little dated but the beach was one of the nicer beaches I have seen in Peurta Plata, Food was pretty good and the staff were great. The entertainment staff went all out to make sure you had a great time. The only problem was while at dinner one evening three rooms were entered (one being mine) using a pass key. My tablet was stolen along with some other minor things. I immediatly reported the theft to the front desk where I met the other people who had been robbed. Now I realize that this sort of thing does happen but when the manager came to my room with two other burley men (i think to try to intimidate me) he all but accused me of filling a false claim. They searched my entire room and safe making me feel like a criminal. Not once did anyone apoligize for my invasion and loss and that includes my Sunwing Rep. The only consistent comment I got was "oh your insurance can pay for it." Theft does occour But to treat your Guests Like criminals to me is unacceptable. there are alot of resorts to choose from of this price and quality so why choose Riu?

Room Tip: Beach view more open less chance of theft
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I absolutely loved everything about this place! I was booked into the Merengue Village, however my friends were booked into the Gardens. When a friend mentioned that to the staff, they QUICKLY fixed it and upgraded me to a beautiful room in the Gardens. The best bartender is Speedy Gonzales, love him! :) The food is good, the drinks are good and I couldn't possibly have had a better week. The only thing even slightly lacking was the entertainment... Could have been better.

Room Tip: Go with the Gardens. This way you can enjoy the Bachatta AND the Village. Oceanview rooms are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kailie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We choose the Riu Merengue as we are fans of the Riu chain. The resort itself was ok. Definitely needs a facelift. There is nothing exceptional about this resort. It is very average. If you are looking for a very clean resort with a nice pool, great beach, good food, hard-working staff, good drinks then this is the place for you. We were looking for a place where would could relax and enjoy the sun. And that is exactly what we did! The message on the beach is a must! Check with Maria, she is VERY professional! The entertainment crew was ok.. A little too pushy for my liking... There is nothing bad about this resort, but nothing exceptional about it either... To be honest, it served the purpose! It was money well spent!

Room Tip: A good idea would be to bring some plug-ins or air fresheners as the rooms have a musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We went here when got a deal online. We loved it here. It is a little faded and in need of a facelift but overall nice resort. It's actually 3 resorts in one we stayed at the Merengue Village. It's the quieter part with 2 story buildings all within a 2-3 minute walk to pools, beach and dining. We loved the beach and pool. The staff at the kitchens and actually everywhere were nice and helpful. Each room has AC, that really needs up dating, but works. Each room had 3 - 40 ounce bottles, 3 beer. Pepsi and is stocked every second day. Rooms and grounds were kept very very clean, but a new coat of paint would not hurt. Loads of poolside and nightly events. Checkin was remarkably fast and very organized, other places could learn form here. This area has a small shop but you really need to walk or take the very unreliable shuttle to the other areas to shop.My suggestion, go here for the lower cost and if your wanting a party you can easily walk to the other areas. The buffet was awesome with a great selection, well stocked and a varied of choices everyday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan-Hfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

March 17-24, 2014 We absolutely love this resort and the fact that we can use all 3 resorts on site, drinking and eating at all. We love the swim up bar at the Bachata, the beach and pool at both Merengue Garden and Merengue Village. You can have your choice of sun or shade and not usually a problem getting a chair anytime of the day because everyone is mixing it up going from resort to resort. We tip our cleaning ladies with $$, tip the gardeners with Pepsi and gloves, don't forget to tip the gardeners on the beach with some shandy!!! They will appreciate it! We did a catamaran cruise last year with TIP TOP, it was excellent!!! See Simon or Rami, they'll give you a good deal :) we did a safari excursion with Outback this year seen how the people live, plantations and school be sure to take a treat for the little ones. Very comfortable recommending these excursions, you won't be disappointed. The entertainment crew goes beyond to get everyone involved be sure to join them. Mama Candy, Sexy Lucy, Mini Me, Spaghetti, Chicky Monkey and I could on. Don't hesitate, book your trip... You'll have a great time just like we did.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bourgeois97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Before choosing this resort I read through several reviews here on Tripadvisor and the one thing that seem to stand out was most people reviewing agreed the food was good to excellent. Regrettably I found it to be the most disappointing part of the resort. Being someone who has been to almost 10 different all inclusive resorts in the past 5 years alone gives me a opportunity to compare the quality and variety with other resorts in in places like Mexico, Jamaica and in other parts of the DR and with exception of Cuba coming in as the worst for quality and variety (which was expected and understandable given their circumstances) the Riu Merengue didn't come close to comparing to other resorts of similar size and price. The selection was very repetitive with the same main dish of chicken and pork being served at every lunch and dinner and very little variety in other dishes, main, side or dessert. And with exception of a nice salmon dish being offered on two of the seven days I was there and one evening with a pork rib option which was tuff and not that enjoyable to chew on, the rest of the afternoon and evening meals were... oh look! More of the same chicken and pork! PS, be aware of the burgers, their actually ground pork too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Perry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,113 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
8.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,832 reviews
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Property: ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing