We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful holiday for the third time !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

we came back for the third time and were not disappointed!
If you are going to the Merengue don t worry
about a thing! the accommodation is kept spotlessly clean,the food is excellent the beachfront is stunning and the staff are always smiling and helpful-enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Yru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,829 - 1,835 of 5,491 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just returned from a great fortnight at the Riu Merengue.
On arrival our check in was very efficient. Welcome drink greatly appreciated
The rooms are fairly basic but spotlessly clean & comfortable.There where balloons put in the room to decorate it for my 11 year old son (which I thought was a nice touch. Although mini bar only topped up every other day we could phone reception for more drinks at any time. There was also a man on a bike everyevening who was happy to give you extra.
The food was varied & there was something there for everyone every time (Two of our party are quite fussy eaters). We booked the steak restaurant on the night of our friends birthday & they supplied balloons & cake free of charge. Look out for Lidia the waitress in the main restaurant although every one was very helpful & efficient we felt that she went that extra mile & provided us with terrific service.
The bar staff couldn't have possibly worked any harder than they did. Even when the bar was busy we didn't wait long for a drink. During the day they would come around the pool & even on the beach to take orders for drinks.
The maintenance team seemed to work constantly cleaning the grounds pool & buildings.
The entertainment team worked really hard & made the holiday fun. We especially loved Jack Daniels, Tequilla. although we could not fault any of the others. The evening Entertainment was ok. A few dancing show's. Michael Jackson one very good & Africa show great. Magic show good although I don't like the fact they used birds & animals in it,& the comedy show performed by the entertainment staff gave us a good giggle. There is a kids club that looked like they provided fun for the little ones. As a party of four adults & an 11 year old we did not find the pool to be too noisy.
I have read reviews saying that the Dominicans come & take over the hotel & the weekends. I do not agree with this at all. We did not find them any louder than other families & after all it is the Dominican Republic so why should't they go to a hotel nearby.
Our Thompson rep's provided a really good frecyling service. People left their suncream insect repellent etc, so if you run out ask the rep
Overall excellent holiday

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Dizzy123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed @ the Riu Merengue from Nov 21st-Nov 27th, 2012. I must say, most of the poor reviews are true:( Not sure how people rated this hotel a 5/5.
To start, our check-in was quick and everyone was very nice through-out our whole trip. Yes, the "animation" team were very friendly and made sure that everyone had a good time. The actual resort, however, was below average, I would rate this resort a 3 and not a 4.5. The staff were great however, everyone was happy to be working and made sure you were well taken care of. The resort was SUPER clean too!
The room that we were in (1207) had the WORST BEDS AND PILLOWS EVER! We had to get extra padding and pillows to make our sleep more comfortable. The water pressure in our room was very weak and did not hold a consistent temperature.
We only had ONE day of sun...the rest of the days were very cloudy or rainy. I would not recommend this resort or Puerto Plata for that matter if you want constant sun, because at this time a year, it's a hit or miss.
Also, if you are a young couple (I'm 28 and my boyfriend is 30), I would not recommend this resort as there were mostly older people or couples with their kids or families. We had a good time towards the end of our trip as we met some great people. But if you are looking to party, this resort is definitely not for you.
The food was okay..not fabulous like some people have mentioned in the reviews.
The beach was weak, the scenery was amazing.
The locals do come in on the weekend which we found not an issue. I don't understand how people can complain about the locals coming in, it's their country and they are allowed a time off and enjoy the resort as much as anyone else.
Some staff are tip driven, also venders come to the resort on Monday's and are very pushy.
The entertainment at night was very poor. Lots of people on our resort were bitten by some sort of bug. VERY ITCHY AND ANNOYING! I still have some bits that are not healing. If you do come to this resort, bring with you calamine lotion, bug spray and Benadryl itch relief cream.

Overall, I will NOT be returning to this resort and do not plan on returning to Puerto Plata.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rlevin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Returned from the Riu Merengue on Monday after a two week stay and I have to say I was very impressed. Check in was very smooth and we received our all inclusive bands on the bus, keys were waiting for us and our bag were brought to our rooms within half an hour.

We arrived later than expected due to a delay in Manchester, so had a quick walk around to get our bearings, the place is huge three hotels on one site although one of the hotels was closed, we could still use the pool area which was much quieter than the Merengue pool and was only a short walk.

Food quality was excellent, was a little wary at the low score in the brochure, but there was plenty of variety, whenever you wanted to eat and everything we ate was very good. Tried the steak al a carte restaurant one night and this was also good, didn't try the Italian, as there wasn't anything that you couldn't get in the main restaurant.

Rooms could do with a little updating but kept clean and tidy.

All I would say is that we did get a lot of bites, so make sure you take some strong repellant!

Staff were all very friendly and always smiled and said hello.

Overall, we had an excellent trip and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dave-L12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Actually I'm here now as I write this review. Staying from November 23rd - November 30th.
Staying with 5 other friends in 3 rooms.
The checkin was smooth and had no issues with the staff or the service. People here are very friendly. The unfortunate thing is that two of our rooms got broken into Saturday night. Im sure that they were watching us as it happened when we went for dinner. One of the rooms was locked from the inside and the person went through the bedroom window to excape. So far nothing has been done and the staff seem to just brush it off... I guess they're waiting for us to just leave. We also asked tom be relocated to second floor rooms.

Weather has been fairly nice, food is good. The one club onsite has been empty most nights and closes at 3:00 am. Then you really can't find anywhere to sit a listen to music. We had a portable bluetooth speaker which worked very well (JAMBOX Jawbone).

Hope the next two days go smoothly.

Room Tip: get a room on the second floor and where the front door faces public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LyleAin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we have just returned from 2 wk at the merangue, very quick check in, wristbands put on as you got on the coach at the airport, on arrival at hotel your room keys towel cards etc in a envelope ready to be handed to you 2 sticky labels with your room on to stick on suitcases which are delivered to your room within 15 mins. entertainment staff exellent, they walk round the pool shaking hands with everyone every day,also they come round asking you what you want to drink and bring them to you . very friendly and they are very funny. but the evening entertainment was not to good but like everything our taste may not be the same as everyones.on the food side, we didnt realy think a lot about it but we dont eat pasta or fish but there was lots of pasta,pitza, salad etc but lunch time there was not lot of choice usually liver, chicken wings or some type of fish. but you would not starve but if you dont like garlic.they cook all veg in it . but the steak restaraunt was better. as other reviews say about sunbeds, if you want one round the pool you need to go put your towels on about 8am as they soon get taken, but there are lots on the beach so you dont realy need to go and reserve one but i did for the simple reason a lot of the ones on the beach are a bit saggy and they hurt your back so if you want a good on it is better to reserve those to. the staff were all very good and would do anything for you. spotless hotel just think the bathrooms could do with bit of sprucing up, shower and bath water very hot all the time, rooms have air conditionig and a ceiling fan. caribean st which runs between 2 hotels lots of gift shops but they all mither you and we found a shop right at the end of the st on the right where he didnt hassle you and he was a lot cheaper than all the others but you need to hassle with everyone, webought a wooden figure he wanted £60 for it and we got it eventually for £15. overall good holiday

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just got back from the Dom Rep where we stayed at the Riu Merengue. It was absolutely mind boggling. The service was impeccable, the food was unbelievably good and the staff provided a very friendly and polite approach to everything. We spent the best 7 day holiday ever. It was our first trip to an all inclusive resort and I rate it EXCELLENT. We definitely plan on returning.

Room Tip: We asked for an ocean view room and they did not disappoint us. The room was very clean, comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cyril A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#10 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,492 reviews
8 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $105 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing