We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just back from a week at the iberostar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just back from a week at the iberostar”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We just got back from spending a week at the iberostar. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food. There was a lot of seafood, and especially enjoyed the lobster on the Wednesday night. The hotel is beautiful, the staff very friendly. A special thank you to Joselyn who served us in the specialty restaurant. We found the rooms looking a bit tired and we were in block three which backed onto the resort beside us, which we found very noisy late at night when deliveries were being unloaded. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada to enjoy your holiday and for taking time to post a review about your stay among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Alberto Herrera, we want to express how glad we are to read that our exquisite cuisine and our friendly staff (among them Jocelyn) surpassed your expectations and ensured you an unforgettable holiday. In Iberostar we are engaged to ensure a memorable stay to our beloved guests.
We are already waiting for your next visit. Please feel free to contact us before arriving.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,156
    1,885
    637
    199
    99
See reviews for
2,282
2,726
156
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,248)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks and had a brilliant time,staff and hotel fantastic.The reps Vicky and Emma were brilliant and so helpful.Once again thank you to everyone at the hotel for such a brilliant time the food was brilliant hence back to diet now back home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rorynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guests,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays and for having taken time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
In Iberostar we are committed to provide an excellent service and to offer a varied gastronomy to our valuable costumers. We are pleased to know that both aspects ensured you a pleasant stay.
We are looking forward to see you again and remain at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We are based in the North West of the United Kingdom and stayed at this hotel from 24 November 2013 for 16 nights.

This was our first visit to this hotel and the Dominican.

Prior to our visit we read a lot of the reviews on trip advisor like most people do !!

We found the hotel to be overall a pleasant experience.

The complex is small and well thought out in its design, but as a few reviews have stated it is a bit dated/tired furnishings in rooms and signs of wear and tear throughout the hotel. (plaque on one wall states it was opened on 4th November 1999) but the hotel is very clean.

FOOD:

We used all restaurants at least once and enjoyed the Brazilian the most.

The food in the main buffet restaurant was enjoyable but we found the breakfast and evening meal selection slightly repetitive.

The lunch time restaurant area was adequate for a quick lunch experience.

POOL

Swim up bar great, bar service speedy and friendly service.

This is a big pool broke up into three areas broken by slightly submerged walking ways.

We enjoyed this, yes a bit cool at times when you first get in but a great break from the heat, we would not of enjoyed a warm pool.

Separate small pool for young children.

ROOM

We stayed in room 7105. We felt we had the best block, it was not pool facing which we liked. The balcony looked out onto gardens which was pleasant and quiet.

The complex has 9 blocks each block has 3 floors, 20 rooms each floor. Block 1 and 5 are nearest the beach.

We would not have like to have been in blocks 2,3 or 4. The sides of these blocks which do not face the pool face the service area of the adjacent hotel which was noisy and a tad smelly when we walked around here,plus block 4 is right next to the entertainment stage.

Our maid did a great job, little towel animals each day. She restocked the fridge when required.

ENTERTAINMENT

Fourteen different shows whilst there, which was a surprise we thought it may have been a 7 or 10 day cycle. We found The Lion King show to be the best show by far.

The rest were ‘samey’ but the audience participation shows did have us giggling !!

You have to take your hats of to the entertainment team none stop all day and them all night !!!

Spa

We had 2 treatments both by Angela ........ she was great. Thanks Angela I floated out after each massage.
BARS

As stated earlier the pool bar is great, the main bar opposite reception also serves coffee which at busy times does cause a blockage. The hotel may consider moving the coffee service area to it’s own space.

Locals did use the hotel of a Friday and Saturday but we found them all to be pleasant.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE

We had a fantastic time. We do tend to keep ourselves to ourselves so it didn’t bother us that most of the clientele was a mixture of German, Americans, Canadians, Russians and British (least represented group ......... we should of guessed as there is no British Flag outside the hotel)

We did tip the bar staff but didn’t really get any get any benefit from the tipping, but the hotel was only half full so if it was full we may have seen a benefit.

We did tip the room made and we feel we did benefit from this. We didn’t get her name but a big THANK YOU

We sat in the same area of the restaurant and tipped our server, he was very attentive and replenished our Dominican Champagne (water:-) ) and wine without asking. Thanks Caserin for all your service.

Well hope we haven’t bored you with our review. These staff work long hours (12 days on followed by 3 days off) and deserve any extra you can afford to give them.

For hotel Management

We are aware the hotel reads the reviews on Trip Advisor so a thank you to you and your team but we do feel that :

1 - The room safes should have no charge levied against its use (We have used these safe in other hotels all over the world and this was the first time I was charged to use them!!)

2 - The WI-FI internet should be Free or a lot cheaper say $10 for 7 days the current rates ($3 for 1 hour, $10 for a day and $30 for 7 days. )are far too high considering we are now an internet society or most of your clients will be and are used to free WIFI everywhere they go

Room Tip: For quiet rooms blocks 5,6,7,8 not pool facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JAC166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel and for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your vacations.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera and the entire team, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read your positive lines referring our beautiful grounds, our varied gastronomy, our entertainment program and the excellent service of our friendly staff among them Cesarin and Angela. In Iberostar we want our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed Dec. 2 to Dec. 9. I went there with a friend to celebrate my birthday on Dec. 4. We booked 2 rooms and had asked the travel agent to book our rooms close together. When we arrived at the hotel, we found that my room was in bldg. 9 and my friend's in bldg. 3. We requested to be moved closer to each other and they were happy to change my room to bldg. 3 and put me on the same floor as my friend with only one room separating us. The staff is excellent, right from the front desk to the pool staff to the security guards. The hotel even sent up a birthday cake to my room. There is plenty of food available almost 24/7 and lots of variety. The bar drinks are excellent and the free mini bar in the room is an added bonus. Only wish they would not charge for the safe in the rooms. Also, they should offer free Wi-Fi in the lobby, at least.
Overall, this was a great vacation and I would love to return to this resort in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for sharing your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada on Tripadvisor and on behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager; we also thank you for choosing our premises for your holidays and birthday celebration.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that our varied gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff ensured you an unforgettable holiday and birthday celebration. These two aspects are very important for us in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts to ensure memorable stays to our beloved guests. Likewise, we welcome your suggestions about how to improve the vacation experience and have shared it with our Management team.
Please feel free to contact us to help you to enjoy another pleasant stay; we will be glad to welcome you.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here as part of a trip for my work, and it was amazing, I have to say the only disappointing thing was there is NO swim up bar. but other than that it was amazing. food was fantastic, along with staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Alberto Herrera, hotel Manager, we thank you for publication on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada.
We are very happy to acknowledge that your experience were unforgettable due to our cuisine and excellent service. In Iberostar we want our valuable costumers to enjoy memorable holidays.
We invite you to visit us once again so you can enjoy from our newly built swim up bar and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your return.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited this resort the week of November 26th. We were travelling with a 3 year old and 8 month old baby. The best part of the this hotel was the high quality of service and friendliness of all the staff. They were great with our kids. I've stayed at 6 other resorts that were 4*+, and this was my #2 favourite resort thus far (Majestic Colonial - Punta Cana was my #1). This resort was nice and small. You could walk anywhere in 5-7 minutes. I would much rather stay in a smaller resort like this, then have to catch those trolley's around the big resorts.

The food is very high quality, and none of us got sick. I didn't like the fact that we were limited to only one a la carte per week. That being said, we were never disappointed with the buffet for supper. We really liked the mexican theme night and the chinese theme night. It would be nice to have more a la carte's and open them up to unlimited reservations, like the Majestic was when we went.

We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room and had to call a few times about it, but eventually it got fixed. The cost of cabs sucks...it was $30 return for a cab to Puerto Plata. We went to La Sirenis which is a big department store similiar to Walmart. The booze was really cheap, and we bought some nice clothes as well.

I wasn't very impressed with the WestJet representative. He was never on time and at the tours desk when he was supposed to be. He booked a fishing tour for me, and apparently it wasn't booked properly, as nobody showed up to pick me up. He was a dick about it, and kept saying it wasn't his fault. Then he told me he was getting me a $10 discount and rescheduling me. I never did get the discount, and ended up having to go fishing on a day when the ocean was horribly rough. 4 out of 8 people were puking off the side of the boat, and only 3 fish were caught.

Overall, other than the fishing experience, the trip was really good. I was very happy with all the staff at the resort. Especially the ladies in the kids centre. I highly recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: None of the buildings are a far walk from anything. I'd say building 7 or 8 would be best. Cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brade270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Iberostar Costa Dorada and for having chosen our hotel to spend your family vacations.
In the name of Mr. Alberto Herrera, Hotel Manager, we would like to express you how pleased we are to read that you and especially your children had enjoyed from a “great time” as the title of your review shows us and we are very pleased for your positive lines referring our gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff. This motivates us to keep working to make feel our valuable costumers as “Stars” as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to this resort. After the first trip, this hotel was on our "no repeat" list. However, we did indeed travel again for a stay in this resort (11/30 thru 12/8) in order to meet with other family members during our stay. For this reason alone, it's been put on our "repeat" list. If it's where we need to travel to see certain family members, it's where we will go.

I stand by my original review of this resort. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The rooms are adequate but getting tired.

We have been to other resorts in Puerto Plata, and all in all, this one does have the BEST food and one of the best beaches, However, there really isn't much to do, and the only entertainment you can count on is the "Big Show" at 9:30.

There is a FABULOUS lobby area, not used to its full potential. Too quiet. Piano player? DJ? Bingo? Something/anything.

Despite signs everywhere indicating "reserving" lounge chairs is strictly prohibited, there is no enforcement of this, and you can go out to the beach at 6:30 a.m., find chairs with towels set out by guests, claiming the prime spots on the beach, and not actually see anyone on those chairs until several hours later. This obviously isn't exclusive to this hotel, but why put up signs if there is no enforcement?

If you choose to go to this hotel, you will certainly enjoy yourself. A vacation is what you make of it. Relax, enjoy the food, it truly is fabulous (this is from a picky eater) and make friends with your bartenders. Then you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lislazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guests,
We thank you for writing a review about your second experience among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Alberto Herrera, we would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the friendliness of our staff and the variety of our gastronomy. In Iberostar both aspects of our services are part of our guiding principles so we can ensure pleasant experiences to our beloved guests.
Likewise, we welcome your feedback about our nightly entertainment which has been shared with our Star Friend Manager.
In case you decide to visit us once again, please feel free to contact us.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
8.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Visit Us Inc., TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing