We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our perfect place”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Iberostar and it just gets better every time. The staff are so friendly especially Nelson in the restaurant who looked after us so well! Nothing is too much of an effort and the staff go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. The food was as good as ever, plenty of variety even for my "fussy eating" hubby. We always go for a Junior suite and it was all refurbished since our last visit with lovely touches like complimentary slippers and fresh white bathrobes. We booked the Domincan night with Vicky our tour rep - a night not to be missed! Excellent food, plenty rum and beer and a brill party night - but it was the people that made it. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: The junior suites are right at the beach and are well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnieQ1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guests,
Firstly we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Costa Dorada as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your forth stay among us.
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we would like to express you how honored we are to read that the friendliness of our staff and our varied gastronomy in our nightly themed buffet and three a la carte restaurants and snack bar was at the highest of your expectations based on your previous stays to our hotel premises and ensured you another unforgettable experience as we aim in Iberostar and as you are used to.
We are waiting for your next visit; please do not forget to contact us prior your return.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,343
    1,931
    658
    206
    106
See reviews for
2,437
2,790
159
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Arrival
Upon arrival we were greeted by tropical cocktails and the porters carried our bags straight to our rooms then we went off to explore around the hotel

Rooms
The rooms were very clean and very comfortable, the air conditioning was very good and kept us cool through out the night

Pool
The pool was very clean and well managed all ways people cleaning it at night and in the morning very well managed

Entertainers
The entertainers were so AMAZING they really brought the hotel to life the games during the day were so fun so many different activities and things to do the evening entertainment was best when the actual StarFriends were doing the show not the dancers and singers. PEPSI-COLA was by far the best entertainer... I love that guy he's so full of life and energy like he was born to entertain cannot fault him. Also the other entertainers are still really good but not a patch on pepsi-cola!!!

Excursions
They were all really good we did the ocean world dolphin swim shark encounter and sting- ray encounter we also did the outback safari to see how the typical country side dominican lives and to do some boogy boarding and we also did the VIP boat trip to paradise island to do snorkling and so relax on actual paradise all amazing excursions

Resturants and food
Were all amazing food all ways cooked well and good variation the brazilian and mexican resturants were our favourite a la carte resturants.

Overall
An amazing holiday enjoyed every second couldnt fault anything i loved it so much wish i could back right now it was the best holiday i have ever been on!!!
Again another thanks to pepsi-cola and the entertainment team absolutly brilliant

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom_J_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very pleased to read your motivating words about the service provided by our staff members, the beauty and cleanness of our premises, the variety of our entertainment options and the exquisite gastronomy which ensured you a memorable experience from the first moment you were welcomed into our lobby as we aim in Iberostar.
We look forward to welcome you again; please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Costa Dorada from July 30 until August 3 to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and overall had a wonderful time. Like anything, there were pros and cons and depending on how picky you are probably determines your satisfaction level. Easiest to break things down in the review.

Check-in: We used AAA and Apple Vacations and this process was painless. Front desk very friendly and helpful but we did discover from that point on that language would be a challenge (albeit a fun one) during the trip.

Atmosphere: As Americans, were definitely in the minority at the resort but that did not matter to us at all. Kind of enjoyable to hear the other languages of guests and it never posed a problem during our stay. The staff is obviously used to the diverse cultures that stay and looked to adjust accordingly and smoothly.

Room: I will start with the very important fact that it was CLEAN all throughout our visit. It was always nice to come back to it at the end of a day at the beach or in the city. Now, if you come expecting a 5 Star resort room, you will be very disappointed. It is a 3 Star as the furniture is a bit worn, the bed not all that comfortable and towels quite thin and older. But, again, it is clean and very acceptable. Our deck overlooking the beach and ocean was wonderful.

Grounds: They do a great job of maintaining the landscaping and you can tell it is a priority. We saw workers all week doing odd jobs and tweaking things. Overall, a very nice job by management and staff to keep the look nice.

Beach/Pool: We are beach people and actually never spent time at the pool other than walking by it or playing bingo. It appeared to be quite crowded but since the resort was not full, I don't believe people had issues with chairs, pool time etc. We spent our time on the beach and always had chairs available at any point of the day - again, most people were at the pool. The water is beautiful but quite rough at times making it difficult to want to kayak or even windsurf. We commented on the fact that parents with smaller children might not want to stay at this resort if they want smooth beach/water time. The wind really kicks up during the afternoon so if you don't like sand on you, the pool is a better bet. The water was warm and very nice just to stand around and splash. Between the water and the wind, you never felt like it was in the low 90's during the day. Finally, the peddlers on the beach can be quite annoying but we found that being nice and politely saying no, they left us alone other than to say hi to us each day. A shout out to Shorty and Liugi!

Food: We are not picky nor is food a huge priority for us. Having said that, I put average just because we were never wowed by anything. It was acceptable and we were never complaining of hunger! Choices are plenty at almost all times of the day, so complaints don't really make sense to me. It does boggle the imagination at times about how rude people can be in buffet situations - you would think people had never eaten before - and this crossed all nationality boundaries! We ate one a la carte meal at the seafood restaurant and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her meal and mine was fine. Be sure to check with guest services promptly at 9:00 a.m. to reserve your spot.

Excursions: Between the peddlers and your own travel rep, there are plenty of opportunities to explore the city and nearby surroundings. I absolutely implore people to get outside of the gates and see what Puerto Plata has to offer - inside the gates could be anywhere. We found the Dominican people to be friendly and engaging (even when we couldn't understand each other!) and they deserve respect and patronage from us "foreigners" that invade their beach areas. We booked a day trip through "Tours by James", a north american with an office in Playa Dorada. He was fantastic and his pricing beat anything else on this part of the island. Wilson and Jesus were our guides as we started at 8:00 a.m. The Brugal Rum Factory, Ambar/Larimar museum and shop, small cigar operation, Central Parque, Cathedral and a trip up to the top of the mountain were stops along the way. We also spent time in Sosua and Cabarete - about 20 and 30 minutes away respectively and both were must sees while in the D.R. The nice thing about booking through James was we did what we wanted for as long as we wanted and picked the locations to see. No cattle-like trips on a bus with 35 other people. Look him up!

Overall: I absolutely recommend the Iberostar Costa Dorada when visiting the Puerto Plata area. The all-inclusive approach is a nice, hassle free way to go on vacation and the pricing was right. Just manage expectations and understand it is not a 5 Star resort. To the management of the hotel and Iberostar in general, I would say: Please continue to upgrade and improve your facility - it will only help you in the long run.

Finally, I can't comment on the "local" issue that has made its way very nosily on these reviews. We didn't see its affects but I can understand the frustration. Security is fine around the resort but I would say if the resort was full, they would have been understaffed in that area. Again, we had a great time and the Dominican Republic proved to be a great destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1111 (easy to remember!) and faced the ocean and it was wonderful. It was a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for writing some comments about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada and for preferring our hotel for your holidays.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales and the whole team, we would like to express you how glad we are to read that you enjoyed an memorable stay due to the beauty of our premises, our exquisite gastronomy, and the friendliness of our staff members and our value for money. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week with a wedding group. What a fantastic place. This was our first all inclusive and the iberostar did not disappoint! Food-wise, other than lack of spice (heat), it was pretty good all around from the main buffet, snack bar and theme restaurants. Drinks were fantastic with premium brands. The beach, though a bit littered with seaweed, is nice when it wasn't windy. Water was warm. Our room was great, though we had requested a king bed and instead got 2 doubles. No elevators, so if you have heavy things like our golf bags, you may want to request a lower level room. The workers were all very friendly and helpful. The only downside was lack of free wifi - that should be standard especially for higher end resorts. We bought a sim card and signed up for a short term account in Puerto Plata. This was truly a wonderful stay. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acpyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guests,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada.
We want to express how happy we are to read that you enjoyed from a memorable holiday at our hotel due to the friendliness of our staff member and our varied gastronomy. In Iberostar we aim to provide the best service so our guests can “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your return.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed at Iberostar Costa Dorada 2 nights July 23 – 25th with our 2 kids and my husband’s parents (total of 6) kids stayed free and I couldn’t be happier with the choice. We were greeted with frozen drinks for all of us and were immediately directed to the snack bar by the pool since we checked in late. The hotel is well kept and the staff puts your needs first. The food was excellent it was difficult not to find something you like with such a big variety and so many stations. This is a well distributed hotel with all rooms having easy access to the pool and beach. The beach was good except it had a lot of seaweed, but the waves were not bad and the temperature was excellent. What I liked the most was the staff; everyone was more than willing to make sure our stay was great. Our daughter was hungry at midnight and my husband went to the snack bar and they prepped her snacks for the room even though it’s not “allowed”. Their entertainment is excellent and kid friendly; the Dominican night on Wednesday was our favorite. We reserved at the Brazilian restaurant one night, and they are also great with the food, they basically serve you the entire menu of meats.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering Puerto Plata as their destination.

Room Tip: I stayed in the first floor but seems like a higher floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loanmi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacations and for taking time to write some comments about your stay.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales and his team, we want to express you how glad we are to read that you and especially your children enjoyed “being a Star” during your holidays among us due to the family friendliness of our premises, our exquisite gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
Please contact us to help you enjoy your next visit; we will be glad to welcome you back.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We are coming to the end of our two week break here and it is the weekend here as I type this.....
But first, I cannot recommend upgrading to the Premium cabin enough on the flight over. Thomson have this right, and it is relatively affordable given all the extras that you receive. The priority check in and security channel access at Gatwick is brilliant and the leg room and in flight service as good as BA for half the price.
The hotel itself is in need of updating. The grounds are lovely, well maintained and the lobby areas very relaxing. The rooms are basic and meet our needs although when we arrived our minibar was not stocked, our TV was broken and a light did not work. These were eventually sorted out though, but the big issue for me in this area is the bathroom. The bath was chipped and the grouting peeling off, not great. We made sure we tipped our chambermaid two dollars a day. For this we had our minibar stocked every day.
In terms of the drinks- best tip is to take an insulated travel mug with you. The bar staff will fill it with whatever you wish- beer, cocktails etc. They do appreciate the odd tip, which will ensure that you get served quicker too. Elvin and his team work very hard and to be fair earn every dollar they get. Yes the drinks are watered down, but it is so hot over here that it is not a problem. In the lobby bar in the evening make sure you ask for the international brand spirit that you want- they are kept in cupboards!!
The entertainment is excellent, and you can choose what you wish to do. My partner played volleyball every day and we all made friends with Pepsi there. The entertainment staff work from 0900 until midnight with a two hour break in the afternoon- again, they deserve their tips and are always happy.
The very significant issue for me, which will prevent us returning, is the issue of permitting locals to crowd the resort from Thursday until Sundays. I am sorry but this is no "cultural " issue as is mentioned by the management team every time they respond to criticism about this, and we are not being racist or discriminatory in any way. It is quite simply a case that the local population are allowed to come to this resort and dominate it to the extent that other international guests will feel intimidated and will, funnily enough, place negative reviews on Trip for others to read. I have witnessed some appalling behaviour both around the pool and in the buffet areas, where the hotel staff have totally failed to enforce some very basic regulations which let's face it, keep everyone safe. As a family though we will not accept such rude behaviour and will challenge people. But I accept that other people will not feel as empowered. I have seen the pool change colour because of the food/drink and other "substances" that have found their way into it, so we have never used it and use the sea instead. This factor and this factor alone will prevent us from returning, and I strongly suspect many others will feel the same. It is such a shame, because outside of these times, the resort is lovely, the staff unfailingly polite and we have managed to have a very relaxing holiday. Joseph in the main buffet restaurant, is excellent both in terms of his attitude and service levels. I would like to see some sort of recognition system set up so we an nominate staff for employee of the week/month.
The weather is incredibly hot and humid and be prepared to get bitten.... It is a tropical environment.
If you are coming here soon, then to avoid the crowd issues, ensure that you book the a la carte dining on Friday and Saturday's and use the sun beds away from the pool area. This should at least minimise the issues that I have outlined.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank HampshireCouple10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Thomson/First Choice holiday booked online
Premium Club seats on flight
Vicky our tour rep was very good

Porters brought our suitcases to our room- nice touch.
Although the holiday was all-inclusive, many guests tipped service staff too.

There was a wide mix of guests from many different countries- although the main language was Spanish, service staff also spoke English well and most signs/ menus were also in French, German, Dutch and Italian.

The food at the buffet was good, and although some popular stations had queues at busy times, a little patience usually paid off. The a la carte restaurants were good, in order of experience/service/food, best Seafood, ok Brazilian, 3rd Mexican. These restaurants can be booked from 9am 3 days in advance.

The pool-side areas were nice, you can get a sun-lounger mattress from the store free of charge. It was never too busy in the week we were there. The beach-side loungers were comfortable too, offering a quieter experience when the pool got busier. It was nice to see families enjoying themselves in the pool, although I can appreciate more reserved people being disturbed by the noise.

The evening entertainment was amusing, but I didn't see all of it as I was very tired every evening. I watched The Lion King one evening and I thought it was best for young children.

The air-conditioning in the room made it very comfortable to retire to from the heat outside. At night time, I found it hard to sleep with the noise of the air-conditioning.

The hotel room had a TV with mostly channels in Spanish. It had BBC America and ABC Family in English, RAI and a German channel. There was a clock-radio with dual-alarms, a fridge for a mini-bar and a safe. The safe is USD$2 per day. As with most hotels, the hair-dryer was weak.

The room was tidied everyday and the mini-bar was restocked every two days. Each day the maid left a towel arrangement like a flower, fish or swan.

WiFi is available for USD$60 for a week on one device. I'm pleased to say it works well throughout the resort complex.

We chose not to take any of the additional paid trips as I thought they were expensive on top of an already expensive holiday.

Room Tip: 7000 block is close to hotel pool, restaurant and beach. x0xx rooms are on the ground floor, saves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jm8997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen Hotel Iberostar Costa Dorada as your holiday’s destination and also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, and her team, we would like to express how glad we are to read your positive comments referring the cleanness and beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the kindness of our staff and their excellent service. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service through the work of our staff members.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
164.6 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,476 reviews
163.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing