We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nova Scotia,Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream of a lifetime”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

12 Friends went on a trip of a lifetime to your beautiful motel from Feb.11 till Feb.19.Amazing,amazing amazing,from the beautiful staff,Vinny Garcia,who greated us when we arrived to Baby Face,Aris,Vinny.There are no words no pictures to do any justice to our trip.Your staff went above and beyound.The energy,from first thing in the a.m. till after 1a.m.WOW.The beautiful suppers,and choices,again to words to justify how much we enjoyed all.This WAS a trip of a lifetime and I pray someday soon God willing,I will be back.Thank you, to all from the housekeeping,to the chefs,the dancers,entertainers,the shows,I fell I could go on and on.Thank you,thank you thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your vacations with us.
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we would like to express you our gratitude when reading how you highlighted out the excellent service provided by our friendly staff in the different areas of our hotel premises. In Iberostar one of our commitments is to provide the best service to our beloved guests. We have congratulated Yinni, Baby Face and Aris for making your holidays especial.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,343
    1,931
    658
    206
    106
See reviews for
2,437
2,790
159
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went with a large party to attend a wedding. The wedding was at a different spot and I left a bunch of my stuff that I didn't need in my room. I took my bag with me with most of my valuables but when I returned to the resort after the wedding, the room was cleaned and all my items were gone. The manager of the hotel was rude and told this is the first incident that has occurred. This was completely [--] since anther member of our group had their cellphone stolen from their room just a few days prior. If I had checked out and left my stuff then fair enough that is my fault but I was still checked in and I thought it would be safe to leave some of my dirty clothes and shoes in the room. I wasn't compensated for the stuff that I had lost and they didn't give a crap.

Don't go unless you want your stuff stolen!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RNG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to post a publication about your stay at Iberostar Costa Dorada.
In the name of the Hotel Management and the whole Iberostar Costa Dorada crew, we regret to read this publication on internet as our records shows that the mentioned accusation were not probed as the phone was missing in the room while you were inside the room watching your maid cleaning. As this accusation was made, we were extremely vigilant with any employee who approached any of the rooms of your group. We remind you that your entire group left our premises during two days to attempt a wedding in Sosua and we had to stop cleaning service were to prevent any other accusation. Although we were sure clothes were not taken for any room, our Management team considered to have a nice gesture by providing you some pieces from our store so we could show you that we really care about our costumers no matter uncorfortable situations. We regret that although the supposed missing was never probed, you insisted to post this review.
We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbeil
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were at this resort in 2007 - and loved it then. It was even better this time. The food, room and service were great. We brought another couple with us and they loved it. The staff is amazing - and overall all the hotel is great - a solid 4,5 - well worth the money.

We did go on one excusion - horse back riding through the montains at Montana Rancho, it was amazing even for people who don't have any experience riding a horse. The place is run by Canadians and they are great hosts. We felt safe and had a great time - going through rivers and beautiful country sides. It's a must!

We definetaly recomment this hotel. No negative points that we can think of. .....thanks to all the Iberostar staff - you guys are doing a great job.

See you again!!!!

Room Tip: We were in Block 1000 by the pool and it was great. Quiet at night and convenient during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuyCorbeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, and his team, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada once again for your holidays and for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your second experience among us.
It is motivating for the whole team to acknowledge that your second visit to our hotel premises not only was memorable but also surpassed your expectations based on your visit in 2007. In Iberostar we aim to ensure unforgettable holidays to our valuable “stars” on vacation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and stay at your entire disposition for any assistance before your next visit.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was ok, not the best! Don't have high exceptions. Rooms will not be luxury like Dubai. Will be more like a travelodge with a pool. Food was bad and bland. I would bring chilli sauce or something if you go. Breakfast was ok, with a good selection of fruits. Would not go back again. Not much to do in the evening, think Benidorm the TV show. But you get the regulars from the UK to keep coming back to the same hotel. Not sure why. The staff are good, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one not near the pool! Too loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pretesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we want to express you our regret to read that our value for money did not meet your expectations. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure a memorable experience to our beloved guest with an excellent service and a varied gastronomy.
We are sorry to hear that you left our hotel premises with an opposite idea in mind.
We remain at your disposition in case you decide to visit us once again.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived with 21 other family members and friends on 6th February for a 2 week holiday and a Valentines Day Wedding. The resort was superb, food excellent and the Animation Team made the experience more enjoyable. We participated fully in all of the games and shows and all of us had a great time. We would certainly put this trip in our Top 3 of all time. Special thank you to Jonathan, GiGi, DeeDee, Chicken Legs, Pepsi Cola, Aris and the rest of the team from The Family and to Elizabeth and Mario for sorting our Wedding arrangements. Also very special thanks to The Family for joining us on our special trip and making it a memorable holiday and wedding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we also thank you for choosing our hotel premises and facilities to celebrate your wedding. Once again congratulation for this special step in your lives and we wish you well.
We want to express how glad we are to acknowledge that the excellent service provided by our staff, especially our Star Friends and their wide options for daily and nightly entertainment ensured you a memorable stay and an unforgettable wedding celebration as we seek in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We have congratulated Mario and Elizabeth, your wedding coordinators and the Star Friends: Jonathan, GiGi, DeeDee, Chicken Legs, Pepsi Cola, Aris whose service made a difference during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Three girlfriends of mine and I decided to stay at the Iberostar Costa Dorada for $1300 from February 15-22. We had a lovely time, although we expected it to be PARTY CENTRAL, it wasn't. There were lots of large groups that came together with many English folks. Everyone was super friendly and very kind.
As usual, it was a first come first serve for the chairs at the pool and the ocean basis. The towel lady Shakira was awesome and very funny. I'd suggest waking up at 9 and getting chairs by 9:15 for good chairs.
The animation and entertainment staff were awesome...in particular Pepsi Cola (Joselito) and Kearling. Very funny guys and were really personable.
The weather was beautiful minus a short shower in the morning on one of the days. The food wasn't bad but it was a lot of the same things that were used or eaten the day before. Jose Luis the food manager made sure we were properly accomodated and took care of us. Joseph was our favourite server and we had him for most of the nights. The two a la carte restaurants were good, reservations were made from 9 am - noon in the lobby. Mexican restaurant was good and the Brazillian restaurant was good. The best bartenders were Elvin who usually worked at the snack bar and Kennedy who worked at the bar near the lobby.
There is a nice disco near the lobby that was opened 11pm - 2 which was a lot of fun. It was 16 yrs and older and there was a dominican local club / casino called Pure and Dreams Casino that was still within the boundaries and essentially a 2 minute walk for after hours drinking and partying.
All in all, we met lots of people of all ages and had a really great time. There were a few mosquitoe bites so bring bug spray and the final small disappointment was the beach. La Romana has much better beaches because Puerto Plata beaches were full of seaweed and not nearly crystal clear. Would definitely reccommend this place for the price!
We asked for joining rooms ahead of time but never got them which was a downer but we still managed to get rooms close by.

Room Tip: We were in the 8000's and it was directly infront of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GabourieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we also thank you for choosing Iberostar for your holidays.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the friendliness of our staff, the variety of our international cuisine and our value for money. In Iberostar those are aspects of our guiding principles so we can ensure our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star”. Your motivating words have been forward to Shakira, Jose Luis, Joseph, Kennedy, Joselito, Kerling, and Elvis whose service made a difference during your stay.
We are sure that our team in Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus will be happy to welcome you; we remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This year we stayed 3 weeks at our favorite hotel, we consider our casa. We have been staying here every year since 2000. Everyone asks why the same hotel? Well it is the the staff that makes you feel like family, the food that hits the spot, our place under the trees on the beach, the friendships we have made over the years with other guests and the feeling of being content.

Iberostar is always maintaining the property to very high standards, be it the gardens, common areas, pool or beach. You always see staff about cleaning and polishing. Rooms have been refurbished in the past year with plans to refurbish the pool with swim up bar in October. I believe all guest rooms, lobby, pool and spots on the beach are now wifi. (There is a charge for wifi). This is an added convenience and if you need to do some work on your holiday how great is it to do it on the beach or by the pool.

This January, we had the pleasure to get to know the new Manager Pedro Morales, Assistant Manager Francisco Emiliano and new Head Chef Alexandro. It is a great team and we know our casa is in good hands.

We know you will enjoy all this hotel has to offer, lovely surroundings, good food, fun entertainment and friendship.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank larsueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we want to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada as your holiday’s destination and for taking time to share your recent experience at your “casa” on Tripadvisor.
We are much honored to read that the friendliness of our whole team and the beauty of our hotel premises ensured you another memorable experience. As you well know, in Iberostar we are committed to ensure our beloved guest to “enjoy being a Star” with an excellent service and well preserved premises. We have forward your motivating lines to our Management team for which they are thankful.
We are waiting for your next visit. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
164.6 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,474 reviews
163.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing