We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My friend and I (2 ladies) stayed at this resort for 10 days from Jan 31 to Feb 10 and we had a wonderful time. The resort is very clean and the grounds are beautiful. The rooms need a bit of updating but were clean and comfortable. The food was good, the Brazilian Rest. was the best of the al a crate rest. The animation team works extremely hard both during the day with all the many activities and at night the entertainment show. Lion King was great!!! The pool is really busy not in the water but lounging around it!!We both like the acqobics with Jonathon. All in all I can't complain about anything on the resort. the staff is very friendly and always had a smile and a hug if they recognized you.



with Jonathon

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7112 by the pool and restaurant, 2nd floor and liked were we were.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniep997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor and, on behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager; we also thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays.
We would like to express you our satisfaction when we read your positive valuation about the friendliness and excellent service of our team, our varied gastronomy, the beauty and cleanness of our premises and the activities proposed by our Star Friends for daily and nightly entertainment. In Iberostar we are all committed to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star” as Jonathan did during your stay and for which we have congratulated him.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit,
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,306)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Costa Dorada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,245 - 3,251 of 7,306 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I (and 46 of our family and friends) stayed at the Iberostar Costa Dorada from Feb 11 to Feb 18 and we had an AMAZING week. This is our 3rd time in the DR and this resort is by far the best...
Our purpose in going was to get married and we are incredibly impressed with the ENTIRE ceremony. Elizabeth, our wedding coordinator, did an amazing job at helping us plan our ceremony and our private supper party. She was helpful, kind, professional and dependable. The entire day was perfect and everyone had a great time. The ceremony was beautiful, the decorations were great, the nighttime restaurant venue was incredible and I have absolutely no complaints. All 46 of our guests had an incredible time and couldn't get over the quality of the ceremony. I also strongly recommend this resort for anyone wanting to get married.. and do get one of the photography package.. The pictures that were taken are beautiful and we are getting compliments from all.
The resort itself is clean and the perfect size (nothing is too far away). The food was amazing, the staff was friendly, the pool is awesome, the gym/spa is great and the rooms are clean. The resort also organizes awesome activities like the beach BBQ (amazing food), the beach seafood paella lunches (there are no words to describe how tasty this was) and the nighttime beach party (complete with a massive bonfire). Also a big hit for us and our guest - the DISCO!! Probably one of the best disco's of any of the resorts we have stayed in.. the music is good, the ambience is great and the drinks are included.. Plus, its right on resort - so no need to leave.. We spent many nights dancing until 2am!
Overall there is nothing negative to be said about this resort and we look forward to returning in the future.

Thank you to Elizabeth and Francisco who made our stay perfect!

Julie and Patrick

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, and the whole team, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada for choosing our hotel premises to celebrate your wedding. Once again congratulations for this special step in your lives and we wish you well.
It is an honored to read that our wedding coordinator, Elizabeth, as well as our hotel premises, services and gastronomy could fulfill all your expectations regarding your wedding celebration and the general stay for you, your husband and your family and friends. Your nice comments about your experience at our grounds motivate us to keep ensuring memorable experiences to our beloved guests as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We will be honored to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance before your next visit.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I would like to thank Kirling, Baby Face, Aris, Deedee, Jonathan, Yinny Garcia. You made me feel very special. It was by the best holiday ever because you made the trip. There are many other people who I would like to thank. The trip was very, very good. I will certainly return and I will tell all of my friends and family.

Thanks very much
Ellen Blundon
Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays and for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for highlighting out the excellent service provided by our staff and for naming those staff members who made a difference and ensured you a memorable stay as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We have congratulated Kerling, Baby Face, Aris, DD, Jonathan and Yinny.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. We are waiting for you to contact us in order to help you in your next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Costa Dorada from January 29 to February 5th. We were impressed with the cleanliness, all the activities and especially the animation team who were "very very good". Maria and Pepsi were awesome but DeDe and Hulu Hulu were amazing and made our stay even better!!!! The food was great. We attended all the entertainment and enjoyed most of it with the exception of the Black light show. We also had an opportunity to join in on a Zumba group (from Canada) which was a nice addition. The beach was nice to walk on but we thought there was a lot of seaweed. We felt very safe as security was present but not intrusive.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room which was great even though we had to pay an charge to upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant-Linda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales and his team, we are satisfied to acknowledge that you experienced an unforgettable stay due to our varied gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff members, especially our Star Friends: María, DD, Pepsi and Hulu Hulu. Both are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar so our guests can “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family and I (5 of us) traveled to the DR last June.

The Iberostar is a nice resort. Beautifully well maintained lawns, the staff is super nice, and we were able to go on lots of great excursions.

The rooms were a bit dated, and the internet was not worth the price you paid daily. There are no frozen mixed drinks like most people are used to. The bar staff tries very hard to please. If you just don't like their mixed drinks ask them to pull out the Mama Juana behind the bar. It is after all, THE drink of the DR.

The food was basically the same daily at lunch, so was breakfast. The buffet was switched up somewhat nightly, but I never got a real taste of the DR on the resort. Go outside of the Resort to eat at least twice, you won't regret it.

The restaurants were OK. The Mexican one is not worth your time.

The beach was pretty good, but wear beach shoes as there are some sea urchins in the shallows. My foot can attest to that! Always bring your own mosquito spray and sunblock from home, as it's always pricey at a resort.

The shows were lacking to say the least, but I don't go to resorts for the shows.

All in all the resort was great, but it wasn't 4 or 5 star. You get what you pay for. Don't go into it with great expectations and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misterrollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Iberostar Costa Dorada and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We want to express how glad we are to know that you had a memorable holiday among us since your stay was last June according to your review. In Iberostar we want our beloved guests to enjoy memorable experience during holidays. Likewise, although a new Executive is in charge, we have shared your comments regarding the variety of our gastronomy on breakfast and lunch.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I were there from January 22 to February 5, 2013. We have stayed at an Iberostar before, and this one was great. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and the food was excellent.

The grounds were well kept, and there was an abundance of orchids growing every where. We got a chuckle out of the flamingos next to the lobby when they decided to scrap. Don't know how they sleep standing on one leg, but they manage.

We were here for two weeks, and would defenitely go back again. The weather could have been a little better , but no one can control that. The cable car tour and Ocean World are must do if you go to Puerto Plata.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyteHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear guest,
We want to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your holiday. On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, we also thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada.
It is a pleasure for the whole team to read that you have had an excellent experience during your visit due to the beauty, cleanness and maintenance of our hotel grounds. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises. Our gardeners, housekeeping and maintenance crew will be motivated by your lines referring their work.
We are already willing to welcome you back, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from IBCD after spending one week. Traveled as a couple, age 30's. Had a great time here but some things need help. The biggest problem at this resort is the clintele, of course the resort can not help this, but people were so rude and obnoxious during our stay here.

Here is a breakdown...

ROOMS- could use some upgrading, but not worth complaining about. Bare bones, no clock. The resort is small/medium sized so anywhere you stay is close to everything. The "mini bar" was only stocked one time during our stay despite the every 2 days that they claim. It included one diet soda, one regular, two waters and two beers.

FOOD- probably the best for an all-inclusive resort. We did not enjoy the a la carte restaurants like we did the buffet. It is pretty much the same food anyway. The buffet offers a very wide variety and nice spread. The pickiest eater should not have a problem. Wednesday night is Dominican night and they offer unlimited lobster tails, steaks shrimp etc.. Food is available 24 hours a day so you should never go hungry here. Minus a select few, the wait staff have ZERO personality and are less than pleasant.They made you feel like you were putting them out to refill your coffee or water.

SHOWS/ENTERTAINMENT - very amateur and not really worth watching. The dances are all the same with different songs and themes. Some shows I found completely inappropriate with the bare all costumes. Highly do not recommend the 930pm show for anyone with kids under 12, but this is an opinion.The entertainment staff are very friendly and work very very hard. This can not be said for the rest of the staff however.

BEACH- I noted many people complained about the beach because it is dirty and full of seaweed. Yes, there is seaweed but I do not think people realize you are on the Atlantic Ocean side and there is nothing the resort can do to change that. There are plenty of loungers on the beach, shaded and sunny areas. I do not recommend walks on the beach, there are hagglers and leave you with an uneasy feeling. I think we saw two security guards all week, so overall I would not say security is up to par.

POOL - The pool is very large and there are plenty of lounge chairs although despite the rules that you can not reserve chairs, this is a huge problem. If you get to the pool after 9am, sit on the floor. Most chairs are in the shade so people move your chairs and belongings when you get up. This was a major problem. We found the resort OVER crowded and not enough room to accomadate everyone comfortably. The pool is also very chilly but I suppose its a necessary evil when your hot. The BIGGEST complaint about the pool area is the kids and that the entertainment staff engages them in what I consider dangerous behavior. Of course parents should watch their own kids (but thats another issue). The pool was extremely crowded and had tons of kids so the entertainment staff engaged them in a water balloon fight, which would have been fine had they done it somewhere other that the pool area. Thirty something kids were running around the slippery pool area throwing balloons at each other and unexpected guests. People reading and relaxing were getting hit. This was going on by the towel hut making it difficult to walk through without getting hit. They also were hitting kids with whip cream in the face and whip cream was all over the pool area making it very slippery. I do not oppose these activities but feel the comfort and safety of guests should be taken into consideration and its not. Move these activities to the beach or grassy area, there is no reason to host these activities in the most congested area of the pool.

BARS - The lobby bar makes the best drinks. They carry "top shelf" liqour which is very obviously watered down or not the real thing. The vodka (Stoli) was 100% something else and the Tanqueray was not tanqueray so don't waste your time thinking you are getting the real thing. I am not the first person to write this, so there is clearly somthing funny about that. The pool bar and beach bar close at 6pm, kind of early since many people hang around the pool area until later and then the only open bar is the lobby bar. Bar staff are friendly but not overly welcoming. Tip them, it will get you quicker drinks but their personalities aren't always friendly. The disco is actually a good time and brings in a decent crowd. There is a club and casino next door but we did not venture over there.

Overall, this is a great resort for singles, couples and families. It is smaller than most resorts with a nice pool and very good food. Some minor things should be tweeked, as stated above. I would not call this a 5 star property as it lacks the quality and service of such but it does have potential.

Room Tip: All rooms are a reasonable distance from anywhere on the resort!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TFB8381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for taking time to write a review about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada.
On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, we want to express your our gratitude for the positive valuation about the variety of our gastronomy, the beauty of our premises and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff.
On the other hand, in Iberostar we are always open to listen to the suggestions, concerns and comments from our valuable costumers since they are the reason why we work in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We have shared your lines referring the activities proposed by our kindsclub with our Star Friend team and we reassure you that we will take measures to improve our standard and to ban activities that might disturb our valuable costumers and might endanger our children safety.
Please allow me to clarify though that for Iberostar the quality of our name and our image is very important. We are very concerned to read your state referring the manipulation and/or adulteration of the well-known international brand served in our bars. We emphasize that Iberostar do not encourage nor accept or will accept behavior of this nature as it might be legally penalized. Our Food and Beverage Manager guarantees you that we only serve the content of the brand shown in the bottle label.
We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance in case you decide to visit us once again and show you our improvements.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,504 reviews
35.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
164.6 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $139 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing