We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2012/13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Year 2012/13”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A large group (3 families) went to the Dom Rep for the first time celebrating our 3 sons 21st birthdays over the new year 2012/13.. We had a fabulous time. I personally have never been all inclusive and have to say we certainly had excellent value for our money.
The accomodation was kept in good order, clean etc The food was very good and I loved the opportunity of being able to try some native dishes. The pool areas maintained well and the towel ladies such fun - especially Dee Dee.
The beach was fab and yes you did get people trying to braid your hair etc but they were never pushy - they just moved on politely.
I went on the Outback Safari - very interesting and informative. There were plenty of other options if you wanted to leave the complex etc. I did not tip all the time but found the staff and service always friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends. Thank you.


I would certainly recommend the

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada for your family holidays and birthday celebration. In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your experience.
We are glad to hear that you and your family experienced a memorable stay at our hotel premises and facilities. In Iberostar Hotels and Resorts we are committed to ensure our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star”. We have congratulated DD for making your vacation especial.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,232
    1,905
    649
    201
    99
See reviews for
2,334
2,758
158
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Iberostar Puerto Plata is an excellent choice; it provides an all-inclusive experience without erasing the character of Dominican culture. The hotel is large but not overwhelming, the food is varied and tasty, but not so irresistible that you spend the trip gorging, and the staff is friendly but not intrusive. Overall, a truly wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view is more interesting / visually appealing, but the garden view may be slightly quieter (I n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest ,
We thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for yor holidays.
We want to express you how glad we are to read that your visit to our hotel premises was memorable due to our varied gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff. As a part of our philosophy in Iberostar we strive to respect and promote local culture in our destinations worldwide. We appreciate your positive valuation in this area.
We look forward to welcoming you beack; feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here Jan 7-13th and chose this resort after reading reviews.
The resort was actually MUCH smaller than I imagined based on reviews and resort maps. That said-the beach seems quite large with plenty of chairs.
Was initially disappointed in the outdated look of the rooms-not that we stay in the rooms for long periods-usually just to sleep. The pool is also smaller than the pictures you see. I did not however, see a strange "green color" to the water. There WAS some algae around the walls of the pool and they did their best to scrub it off daily. I think perhaps they just need stronger chemicals.
The animation team made the resort MUCH more fun than it would have otherwise been. Overall, I dodnt pay too much attention as my kids are older but it made a difference this trip.
So basically, There is a large beach area with volleyball, games area, BBQs, archery, etc, then there are 9 hotel buildings surrounding the pool, a lobby bar, a pool snack bar/ buffet (but no swim up bar), a Buffet restaurant and 3 specialty restauants. You can make 3 reservations over the course of a week-though all specialty restaurants seemed to have openings all week.
Food was fine to good. Im not picky. (I WILL say that my husband did eat something that caused him to vomit all night and I think it was the fish soup as that was the only differing item in our meal) Plenty to choose from. Drinks were fine but as stated-local spirits (Hispaniola) only-no name brands (which Ive gotten used to as we generally vacation at "Palace Resorts"). That said-they were still fine. We spent each evening in the one bar (the lobby bar) where we either watched the evening show, or played cards/games with my 22 and 20 year old-so it was really good family time! We participated in some of the activities: darts, archery, shooting, etc. Turns out, Im a pretty good shot:)
PArt of the problem is that the resort seems to be on a point and with the mountain behind it, the clouds tend to "sit" ontop of the property. So it would be sunny to the left and right, but cloudy and very windy where we were.

We spent a day in Cabarete (awesome) and also did the Waterfalls and paradise Island tours but NOT through the resort. We met an AWESOME cabbie that took us wherever we wanted and got us great tour deals or cab fares (did BOTH the waterfall and paradise Island on the same day for $80 per person-usually $80-100 per person PER TOUR) His name is Elias Gil- (829)520-9880. CALL him and he will set you up! He even took us around downtown PP for free and took us to a local grocery store for coffee.
Overall-our trip was good. My kids are somewhat spoiled because even my 20 yr old said "well-its not Moon Palace-but its OK". But by the end of the trip, we knew several of the animation team members' names and they have an uncanny ability to remember EVERYONE'S names!! and the resort had really grown own us. We would go back-but have a LOT to see before then:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayIgo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write some comments about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your family holidays.
We appreciate your positive valuation about our international cuisine, our daily and nightly entertainment options and the friendliness of our staff, especially our Star Friends. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our valuable costumers.
On the other hand, we regret to hear that our value for money could not meet your expectations especially regarding the beauty and size of our facilities. We apologize for any misconception of our hotel as we try to clearly post our hotels amenities when advertising so that guests’ have a clear understanding of what we offer.
We remain at your disposition for further assistance in case you decide to visit us once again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice property close to the Puerto Plata airport. Like many resorts in the DR, there are locals combing the beach offering massages and hair braiding. Overall a nice beach with tendency to have lots of seaweed in certain areas. Nice wind, nice surf. Food is good and there is plenty of it. The rooms are clean, large and have balconies.

Room Tip: The rooms near the beach are quieter but the views of the gardens on the outer perimeter are also ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrthoChick111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for posting a review about your experience at the Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we thank you for electing our hotel for your holidays.
Thank you for highlighting out the beauty and cleanness of our hotel premises and facilities; and the variety of our exquisite gastronomy. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We will be happy to welcome you back again. Feel free to contact us for further assistances,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had never before stayed at an all-inclusive resort, and frankly wasn't expecting much. Over the course of 40+ years of travel, I've stayed in places where I felt my physical safety was actually in danger, and I've stayed in 5-star hotels in a variety of locales, including major European, South American and Asian destinations.

The Iberostar was a lovely experience. First and foremost, the staff was wonderful. They were polite, friendly, and helpful. I truly enjoyed every single contact with the employees. Our room, though not luxurious, was clean and comfortable. The meals were quite good, particularly the local dishes. There was an interesting variety of guests, old, young, in-between, European, North and South American, and many Dominicans as well. And all at an EXTREMELY affordable price!

Frankly, I am astonished at the reviewers who complain that the resort was not "5 star" or that the food was not "gourmet." Who would expect gourmet food or luxurious accommodations at a bargain price? But, given the bargain price, I thought this was a wonderful trip.

I also highly recommend a side trip into the interior of the island. The mountains and surrounding countryside are amazingly beautiful. I would go back to the Dominican Republic, and to this resort, in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool. I expected it to be too noisy, but there was no undue noise late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bedimmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,
First at all, we thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Costa Dorada. In the name of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that you had an excellent experience in our hotel premises and facilities due to our value for money and the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our “stars” on vacation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What an awesome time we had last week. We visited Iberostar Puerto Plata for the first time and can not wait to return. From the resort to the town to the people all were great. We would never go to Punta Cana again.

Rooms:We were in room 8015 poolside, it was very good, a bit on the small side but we had plenty of room for 3 and everything was very clean. Our only complaint was not enough water bottles in our room. Which we would then ask and it would always be taken care of by the people working there who were terrific. The people working this resort are working for you and it always showed.

Bars: All were great from the lobby bar with William, and Efron with there supvisor Eddy who took care of everything else top to bottom. The pool bar is perfect with Elvin and Roberto leading the way. All drinks were great with good spirits as requested also. Julian at the theatre bar was so friendly and made a great cocktail....never forgetting what you drank.

Buffet: Was our best option we loved all the diversity and exceptional layout. All the food was terrific and always changed daily. We never saw the same thing for our week and everyday was great. Special thanks to Jose Louis and our buddy Ysidro they are the best, and lets not forget Yara-who was always smiling.

Entertainment: This also was terrific and Roberto's choreography always seemed to take you somewhere else. Thus you were always involved and wondered what was next to come. They make you laugh and you are always involved nightly. The Star Team who work the shows, pool and daily activity's are awesome. Constantly involving people (if you wish) to competitions and games all day. Special thanks to Eddy, GiGi, DeDe, Maria, Jonathon and Aris. You guys all rock!

Nightlife: Was terrifc, after the show and lobby bar we headed to the Lobby Disco, then to the outside Disco or Casino. All of which were good times. Special thanks to Julio Ortiz from the casio who is an awesome young man, his personality, humor and singing will take him far and we all hope the best is yet to come for him. He will go far and deserves too.

Daytrips:Our taxi driver was Elias Gil- call him @ 829-520-9880, eliasgil137@gmail.com He will take care of all your needs. It is safe to travel and you should do so. The town, beaches, Brugal rum factory, mountains and waterfalls are all worth seeing. Call Elias he will meet all your needs and show you all you wish. His information, kindness and local hospitality is not worth missing.

Do not miss: Cabarete beach or the Brugal rum factory they are both well worth it.

Beach, was great a little seaweed but nothing to be upset about. There was a lifeguard on duty all day long.

In closing we will return next year and plan to do so with as many others as we can. It was all a good time and the other vacationers we met from Germany, Dominican, Sweden and US we are still in contact with finding them on the web and keeping contact as such. Definently a trip worth it. Dont miss out get your life on the way!

Room Tip: Pool side is not to loud unless you sleep all day. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada as your holiday’s vacation and for posting a review about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that your first visit to Puerto Plata was memorable due to the excellent service provided by our friendly staff in all areas of our premises. In Iberostar Hotels and Resorts we aim to ensure memorable stays to our beloved costumers. We have congratulated those staff members whose work left you a nice impression, e.g. William, Efraín, Eddy, Elvin, Roberto, Julián, Yara, José Luis, Isidro, from our Bars and Restaurants team, and the Star Friends: E ddy, GiGi, DeDe, Maria, Jonathan, Aris, Roberto.
We are waiting for your next visit, please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel convenient to the beach and pool area. Activities offered throughout the day for all ages; entertainment provided at night. Variety of food and drink available 24/7. A bit stingy with bottled water – purchase at store. Security keeps most local vendors on beach from bothering the guests. But there are locals that try to get you to go to their shops a short walk from the hotel. Recommend not going because they become aggressive and it is very uncomfortable. Also, would not recommend parasailing – very disappointing. Wasted 3 hours going by boat to another part of the island which has no drinks or food and waiting to have a turn and then ended up not being able to go due to lack of wind and sail fell in the water. Maybe best to drive to the locations that offer the activities you are interested in doing rather than arranging tour through hotel services. Monkey Jungle is only about 20-30 minutes away. Recommend taking a taxi – its typical third world country driving – no rules. Take Cipro along just in case! Two from our party of four experienced the third world country "stomach illness".

Room Tip: Our party was in building 1 and 2 on 2nd floor - no issues with room. Resort is just the right size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Costa Dorada, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for taking time to write a review and for choosing Iberostar Costa Dorada for your holidays.
It is a pleasure for us to read that your experience at our hotel premises was memorable due to our varied gastronomy and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar we aim to provide to our beloved guests an exquisite gastronomic experience and the best service through our staff members.
We will be happy to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us before your next visit,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,406 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,649 reviews
8.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,221 reviews
164.6 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Visit Us Inc., Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing