We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My best Holiday yet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“My best Holiday yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2003

Well what can I say. You had the sun, sea, and very friendly laid back locals. I can't say anything bad about the hotel or the country at that. The only downfull about the holiday is we had to go home. The is hours of fun for couples, couples with small children and big children.
You can relax or get involved in the activities. The entetainment staff are great and those of you you who went this year 2003, remember noi noi noi noi.

Go see for yourself

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,972
    1,817
    611
    192
    98
See reviews for
2,165
2,628
146
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2003

There is not really much to say that has not already been said. This
place is wonderful. For all those who give this place a bad reviw - i
can only say that i would love to see where they are traveling to. The
food was absolutely fabulous- it is hard to believe that a buffet could
be so complete (breakfast, lunch and dinner). You should definitely try
the three restaurants (the Brazilian was our favorite), and take
advantage of all the activities that are offered.

I will say one other thing - if you are going to sign up for excursions i would encourage you to walk down the beach to the "plaza" and sign up for them there as the prices are quite a bit lower than those at the hotel or from travel agents. The one excursion that should NOT be missed is the paradise island excursion - it is unbelievable.

It was an amazing honeymoon. Thanks to all the people who work so hard at the iberostar to make it an amazing experience.

Cheers!!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2003

It's scaring reading these reviews because you don't really know what to expect... the only thing I can say is Loosen Up! This place is an absolute bargain with good food, friendly staff, warm breezes on a delightful beach, a tremendous pool and enough beautiful sites and activities to keep you smiling all day long. We are experienced travelers and we firmly believe that this resort is worth visiting and even revisiting. The real reason I decided to write this review is because there are specific things that no one bothers to tell you, so here a few helpful hints: The dress is pretty casual however the resort has rules and they strictly adhere to them. Men be prepared to wear long pants in the 3 specialty restaurants (which are well worth trying). The buffet is casual (long shorts allowed), but no flip flops at dinner. And the clincher is that reservations need to be made for the 3 specialty restaurants and they must be made from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the guest services desk in the lobby! Also the pool closes at 7 p.m. which we found out the hard way. Recommendations: Ask for extra alcohol in the frozen drinks and plenty of ice too (Nothing stays cold for long). Experience the beautiful country side via resort sponsored tours. I agree with most that venturing into town solo is probably not a great idea, but going on the horseback mountain tour was one of the many highlights that I'll remember forever. And, if you choose to shop at the local shops on the beach don't bother to ask for prices just make an offer and be prepared to haggle! Otherwise, just sit back, relax and enjoy because this is a calming experience to be appreciated fully.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2003

We stayed at the iberostar costa dorada in august 2002, we loved it so much that we booked again for this year and convinced our friends to come with us. The hotel was brilliant, the food out of the world, the rooms whilst not to biggest were very clean and comfortable (but who goes on holiday to stay in their room). Yes there is seaweed in the sea and on the beach but hey believe it or not thats what you get in the sea! However the staff are busy most of the day raking it up. Our friends loved it and they have been to quite a few places over the years and they have an apartment in antigua but guess where they are going next year? Back to the iberostar with us only this time we are going for 3 weeks.

I have seen some of the other reviews about members of staff chasing the teenage girls, well i didn't see it and neither did our teenage son, however lets get real teenage girls grow up and will attract attention from the opposite sex, and i am sure that this happens all over the world not just in 1 hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2003

The most hassle free check in procedure ever, leading to instant relaxation. You know this hotel is a cracker from the moment you pull up in front of it. Greeted with a fabulous refreshment, you wait a few moments beside your baggage where the porters take your room number (already known to you from the pack you get boarding your transfer coach at the aiport). You are then directed to your room - which is fantastic - and your luggage is brought to you by a porter.This is the only holiday my husband and I have ever been on where we received every single one of the special requests you make at the point of booking - we did get the ocean view, peaceful room with balcony.Pool is amazing and just loved the beach. Had a merengue lesson on the beach - even husband had a go. Great beach cabana serving most excellent drinks, coco locos and pina coladas a must.All restuarants fantastic, but be warned, the Brazilian restaurant is for carnivores!!! The margaritas in the Mexican restaurant - wow - and the mariachi band in the caribbean restuarant are brilliant. They play for each table - normally I would cringe at that but it just seems so right.I defy anyone to find a bigger or better buffet restaurant on the whole island, and Domingo the waiter is a star.This was our first all inclusive caribbean holiday and the only problem we have now is that all other holidays from now on will be held in comparison to this one.Paradise Island is a brilliant excursion, with thrilling speedboat transfers. You are very exposed there so watch you don't fry. A real desert island experience.Just go and see for yourselves.

Helpful?
7 Thank Kazdeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2003

First Thing: Don't pay attention to any bad reviews/complaints because I believe these people would complain about anything.

The hotel was beautiful with all the birds, turtles, peacocks, flamingos around. Very tropical surroundings with the fountains, huts, and plants and flowers. Everything was very clean and looked brand new.
The room was exactly how it was pictured on the Apple Vacation site.
Very clean and roomy, nice balcony. Sounds odd to say, but the shower was very relaxing. I'm used to places with very low pressure or trickling water, but not here. Our room was trashed from all the belongings sprawled throughout the room, but the maid worked around it and even straightened up some of our things. We liked the swan formed with our bath towels and the fresh flowers to accent it. The pool was very clean with activities all day (water polo, volleyball, merengue dancing, and what they call Star games which are fun water competitions between the guests). The ocean/beach was the same with many activities.
We started the morning with aerobics and there was also volleyball, horseshoes, windsurfing, kayaking. There was seaweed in the water, which seemed to gather in certain areas. But the seaweed that washed up to shore was cleaned off every night by the crew, so I don't know why people complained that it wasn't cleaned up. It was probably more seaweed than other areas of the Caribbean, but there were plenty of areas to swim where it wasn't around. The staff was exceptional. I've never seen so much energy in my life. The same people who opened up the pool and started the activities at the beach, were in the shows and at the disco at night. Always smiling and laughing and getting to know all the guests. Probably more friendly than some people are used to, but they are all genuinely nice people. The shows were wonderful, especially the Black Light Show, I couldn't even describe it well enough to give you an idea. At the end of the shows they invite everyone on stage to dance the 2 club dances, Spanish line dancing. I still have the songs in my head!! The food was wonderful!! 24 hours a day! I am a vegetarian and never know what to expect to find, but there was plenty for me to eat. The fruits and vegetables were wonderful, and the desserts, oh the desserts! If you LOVE meat, do not miss out on the Brazilian restaurant. There are plenty of appetizers to sample from before they bring you your meal. My friend and I were cracking up laughing the whole time. The waitress comes around with all this meat on a spoke? and she cuts off a big piece for you to sample. Every 5 minutes there was a new meat brought to the table, 7 different types in all!! The other tables were laughing too, because from the menu outside you expect to pick one meal for the night, not expecting to get all 7!
Don't miss out on the tours of the city, especially the safari tour which takes you to several surrounding cities. We went out in the countryside and met a typical Dominican family and how they live, so poor. It makes you realize how much we have. And the you go swim in a stream, go for a river tour, and then boogie board on the beach (sort of a remote beach). And plenty of rum to drink the whole way, which adds to the fun.

Definitely a place not to miss! We are planning on going back next year!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2003

It was fantastic!!! The best resort ever. The food was great and there was a great variety that accommodated everyone's taste. The service was excellent, and it gives you great respect for everyone that works there. Everything was very clean. Loved the shows!!! The dancers put so much effort in bring variety, colors and great sounds. The staff was amazing. They were very friendly and genuinely tried to involve everybody to the activities that they offered. We spoke to people that vacationed in other resorts in DR and they loved this the best. I definitely give them 5 stars!!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank LBalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
8.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Costa Dorada

Property: Iberostar Costa Dorada
Address: Carretera Luperon km 2.5 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Costa Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel is located in front of the large golden sand beach of Costa Dorada, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic's north coast. This wonderful 5-star All Inclusive resort is a wonderful haven for aquatic sports lovers. Renovated in 2011, the IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada hotel has 498 Double Rooms and 18 spacious Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Dorado
Iberostar Puerto Plata
Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Costa Dorado
Puerto Plata Iberostar
Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing