We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beach is nice but the service terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The beach is nice but the service terrible”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The bad impression started when we arrived at the hotel and we asked for a safe which should cost 18CAD but it actually cost as 19 CAD because the guy didn't have change.
Next day we went to the beach and the big surprise was that there were not chairs for us and no umbrellas we understood that we have to wake up at 6 o'clock and go to the beach to leave something on the chairs if we want to have one. There was a battle for the chairs and a good business for the staff working on the beach. There were no activities like volleyball, yoga or aqua gym even if they were included in the gym. No towels in the bathroom and amateurs shows in the night. Only the beach and the food ware ok but nothing special. I will never go back. They do business with the beach towels and the bath towels if you want to change them before 3 o'clock you have to give a tip....
I will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hris23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to Gran Ventana. We very surprised to hear that you had bad experiences with the staff. As you can tell from the majority of the other reviews, the staff are the stars of our resort. We also have scheduled activities every day of the week, sorry you missed them. Please also know that our staff do their best to provide excellent service to all guests, regardless of tips. We do appreciate your comments and the information you have provided will have an impact maintaining the level of quality that is well known at VH Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,399
    1,894
    716
    250
    145
See reviews for
1,478
2,064
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just came back after spending one week at Vh Gran Ventana Resort. It was our 3rd trip to DR, second to the Puerto Plata area. This resort is extremely clean, rooms didn't have that musky/damp smell as we've encountered previously when staying at the Caribbean resorts. We had a king size bed room in Catalina building 2nd floor facing the beach bar area. It was very quiet and as I mentioned very clean.
Beach is the best part of the resort! Just fantastic! Great snorkeling just steps into the water (bring bread from the buffet). We walked quite far in every direction of the beach, and we noticed that Gran Ventana strip was the cleanest and had the newest (at least the best looking) beach chairs.
Food - no complaints there. We've had better and we've had worse at the all inclusive. We always seamed to enjoy meats from the grill station.
Special shout out to the evening bartender Luis at the pool bar, always smiling and ready to refill! He always had the best Mamajuana !!!
Special Thanks to assistant manager Marisol Guzman who upon arrival made us a reservation at one if the restaurants and made sure we got a King size bed room.
Can't wait to go back to VH Gran Ventana and bring friends with me!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabbynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Went for Spring Break last week - the hotel itself is beautiful! We had a few issues checking in at first, but upgraded to a Jr. Suite and we were fine. The only suggestion I have is about the food - make sure you book a reservation as soon as you check in, because it was difficult to reserve tables for the restaurants (they book fast). However, the buffet food wasn't bad - we ate there most of the time.

My personal favorite part of this resort is the Entertainment staff! The boys were awesome - especially Carlos Santana. He made my friend and I feel so welcome like we were home. All of the Entertainment staff kept us dancing each night, with different shows and events that kept us having fun and smiling. Between the dance shows, game shows, bingo night, live band and more, we were entertained each night we were there. They definitely made our trip the best it could be. Thank you Carlos!

Although I went for Spring Break, there were people of all ages around the Resort. I'd definitely stay here again. I miss the weather and the entertainment staff the most. We had a great time!

Room Tip: The Jr. Suite was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin usa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from this resort. First time at an all inclusive. Small property. Has potential. Needs TLC. Check in was nice. Served a drink while we waited. Lobby pretty. First room we got, not ok. It was in the quiet section. Needed updating!. Two double beds. When you sat on the toilet you sat right underneath the toilet paper holder. Very hard to maneuver. First floor, view was a parking lot. Next room was in the area next to the beach. 2nd floor. King size bed. Somewhat updated. Bed was comfortable. Mold in bathroom and holes in shower ceiling. But otherwise clean. No wifi in any rooms. Rooms can get very noisy. Check you room before committing to it. No lock on lock box in room. Must pay for it. Everything is tiled. Very sketchy free wifi in lobby and a few other places. You got somewhat better wifi if you bought a pkg. no elevators. Make dinner reservations early in the week. We could not get into any of the restaurants that needed a reservation even when they had open tables. Food in buffet was good and bad. Service to get beverages at the buffet was a mixed bag. Bars were busy. Drinks good and bad. Jackie makes a mean Jackie's special at the quiet bar. Weather was warm and humid. Lovely beach. Not good for shelling. Vendors on beach can be a pain but are friendly. Definitely bargain. Be careful buying silver and amber from the beach vendors. Not many side trips worth doing. Do not lose your beach towel cards. $20 fee per card lost. Security will remove your stuff from lounges at the beach if you reserved them by placing your stuff there. Many of the pool lounges were reserved right away in the am. Some people reserved both beach and pool and rarely showed up to either so that is why your things would be removed. Beach vendors work the beach everyday and know the guards and know the tourists buying by name. If they know you they will help to get you a area with lounges at the beach. Joe is a good beach vendor. Speaks English well. Sells jewelry.

Room Tip: Check it out before committing. No elevators, noisy. No wifi in rooms. Rooms facing the ocean have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizbeth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Ventana. Thank you also for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. We would like you to know that we are about to launch a “Premium Package” for those travelers who do not want to pay extra for top shelf and other amenities. We hope you will look into this for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I want to thank Vilma C. Beard the Guest Service Manager/Wedding Coordinator for arranging a special surprise of petals and an amazing towel display for my girlfriend. It's little surprises like these that are priceless! Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just returned form a week with my wife and 16 year old son. I have travelled extensively and have never wrote a review on any resort but felt this experience had to be shared. I am from south western Ontario, Canada and have paid considerably more for one week all inclusive vacations that have also been very good. But... the value of the VH Gran Ventana Resort is unparalleled. The rooms are very clean and have all the amenities you need. The resort is also very clean and well laid out. The staff is friendly and always eager to make sure you are having a good time. There are bars located at every common area so you never have to go to far to find a drink. The pools are extraordinary - one for people looking to have fun featuring daily activities and one in a quiet area where you could relax and read a book. The nightly entertainment was typical of what you find at resorts in the Caribbean, which is generally loud and not my style. But, they had a good mix of comedy related themes and a magic show that we enjoyed. They brought in a rhythm and blues band from Wisconsin called "The Jimmy's", that played 2 of the nights during our stay. They were unbelievable! So much so that we bought 2 of their CD's. My wife, son and I literally danced the night away and the crowd (including the staff) loved every minute of their performance.

The food was 5 star! The buffet had all everything you could ask for and never too much so anything sat out for more than a few minutes.. A good selection of every meat dish, great salad bar, fruit and smoothie station, breads, desserts. and always fresh pasta. Plus, they are very conscience of their guests - mainly Canadians and Americans. The buffet always had a mix of comfort foods we all enjoy at home such as shepherds pie, southern fried chicken, stews, lasagna, hamburgs and hotdogs, etc. There were three ala carts and they were all amazing.

The beach was well kept and very clean. There were always enough lounge chairs and a bar only steps away. Puerto Plata is a bit on the windy side but when it`s 35 degrees in the middle of the day, it`s a welcome breeze.

The Playa Dorada Golf Course is a walk across the street from the front entrance of the resort and is world class. It`s a bit pricey but worth it if you like to golf! their is also a shopping plaza adjacent to the resort that had everything in the way of souvenirs and the vendors are not overly aggressive so you can browse without being berated.

There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about the VH Gran Vantana. We have stayed at the Iberostar in Pueti Plata and it was also very good but not I can honestly say this place is better, for less money. We would go back in a heartbeat! If you are from Canada and want good value for around a thousand dollars per person, you will never find a resort better than this! Five stars all the way!!!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms on the 3rd floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We spent 14 wonderful days. Loved the resort and the staff. We had rooms by the quiet pool
It was a family vacation 10 the of us 1st wk & 12 2nd wk.
The Bartenders working by the quiet pool are great and make the vacation. Jackie was a lot of fun and made the VH Gran Ventana Beach resort a great place to spend with friends and family
Ramirez came on at night he to made the bar @ Ventana Beach a great place
I found that most of the staff went out of thier way to make the stay great
Loved the holiday and looking forward to returning for another vacation for more fun and relaxation.
Would like to see the gym equipment updated & more weights

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Norm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,084 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing