We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finnish golfplayers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
“Finnish golfplayers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited first time in Puerto Plata for playing golf and have holiday. We played golf ten rounds in Playa Dorada and were suprised that there were only few players playing golf. It was very easy to go to course and start playing when you like to start :) . The golf club is cozy , best? wi-fi in area, for playing golf you must have caddie ,caddies ok, however they asking for tips , 10$-20$ could be okay, course was in good condition, some greens litebit slow.
Gran Ventana: food ok , service and staff helpful, Junior suite in Beata building was horrible, thanks to staff, we payed some extra and moved to La Catalina building. After golf round in the afternoon we came to hotel area and there were no free sunbeds in the pool area and seaside , only blue towels laying on beds...?
Some renovations needs to do , for example buffet restaurant ,Wi-Fi, etc., then resort would be EXELLENTE and get four stars.

Room Tip: Beware no-renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Ventana. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your golf outings. Thank you also for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. We take our guest suggestions very seriously, so we would like to update you on improvements we are making: we have contacted our WiFi provided about improving our signal and we do try our best to discourage the practice of reserving sun beds and we do remove towels from chairs not being used. We do hope you will return to Gran Ventana so you can experience first-hand the changes we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,355
    1,876
    710
    247
    143
See reviews for
1,465
2,023
77
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have been reading alot of reviews about the resort , quality of food and other stuff related to the resort but to my surprise nobody really is taking the time to talk about the quality of the water .

I under that the water in this part of DR is not as clear as Punta Cana , but is it worth it to travel. Point of travelling to DR is to enjoy some clear water otherwise if its all blue and murky water i can drive 8 hours to South Padre Island and be done with it .

I am planning to travel in April 2014.

Will appreciate some comments on the quality of the water in puerto plata.

Thanks

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Syed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
It would be biased if we raved about our own water, so we suggest you visit the Puerto Plata forum and post your question there. We hope you will decide to visit! http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowForum-g147290-i64-Puerto_Plata_Puerto_Plata_Province_Dominican_Republic.html
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed in Gran Ventana early February and I had such a great time at the hotel. The service was superb and the entertainment team did a fantastic job at making my stay so memorable. Especially Carlos Santana who made my and my co-travellers holiday so much fun. Thank you Gran Ventana! Hope to see you again on my next visit to this amazing country.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Charlott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Me and my friend stayed at Gran Ventana few weeks ago. We had great time, special thanks to Carlos Santana for making our stay so much fun. We will come back again, hopefully during the next winter season.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minna555222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I sponsor a family in the Montellano village, have been to the DR 6 times staying in that area. This was my 1st time at The GV however, by far the best resort I have stayed with and will be my home every time I visit my 2nd family.
Oscar Lora the GM was extremely helpful in making the necessary arrangements for day passes for my group - he and his entire staff were just tremendous. I could go on and on about the excellent service, food and staff but it still would not be enough. I suggest you go and experience this resort for yourselves.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just returned from Gran Ventana. The staff was super helpful and kind. My son Johnny fell in love with Francseca and Caco from the Kids Club. He begged to go there everyday and the activities and games made it so fun for him. He is still talking about it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went in 2012 and we had a great time, the hotel was clean and had a lot of different entertainment every night. the only thing i wish was better was the food, after a day or two it really gets boring and the food you get at the sit down restaurants isnt that great either. other than that it was an amazing vacation, the place is beautiful!
dont forget to do the waterfall climbing and jumping, possibly the best time i had ever had

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving your review from your visit back in 2012. We have had so many changes since then, including new management. We have upgraded most of the rooms, added tons and tons of new activities, weekly management parties and so much more. Please sign up for our return guest Fidelity Club and come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing