We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good, but not great”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here at the end of October. The resort was quiet with just a few families and older couples. The beach was beautiful and clean. The staff set out chairs early in the morning which was helpful. The only downside to the beach is that it's public... which can really test your patience when you're trying to sleep/read/have a conversation and you're being approached every 5 minutes to ask if you want to buy something. It's their job, and that's fine, but we would have enjoyed the beach more if they weren't there. The pool on the other hand, was beautiful! If I didn't love being on a beach so much, the pool is definitely the best option. The room was alright, a few things could use some updating. We could pretty much hear everything outside our door, which meant everyone got up at the same time. The food was good! I would recommend making reservations in advance... we missed out on a few nights of a-la-cart dining because they got full early. The ocean grill was definitely our favourite. The breakfast buffet was awesome, while the lunch and dinner was average. We enjoyed our stay, but I'm not sure if we would make this resort our must-go-to resort next time we visit puerto plata

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tecamilolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,423
    1,916
    732
    255
    151
See reviews for
1,509
2,095
82
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My boyfriend Mike and I went here for a week getaway to get away from the craziness of the city. I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing place and just an overall great experience. I firstly have to say that the staff are all unbelievable. They are nice, accommodating and friendly. The food was great, lots of selection. You also get a chance to go to three a la carte restaurants--Italian, seafood and a grill by the beach. I honestly cannot say one bad thing about this hotel aside from the fact that there are lots of vendors on the beach but you can easily look past that. It is a mixed crowd--young and old...not many kids but also not the kind of place you would go to 'pick up chicks' (We saw a couple disappointed suitors as it's mostly couples). The hotel was always clean...I never saw a fly or spider in my room the whole time and trust me, I checked. The shows every night added some entertainment, and there was also a bar in the plaza called Coco Bongo where we went with another couple dancing. You can also book tours through the hotel if you're like us and need a change from the beach once and a while. We did the city tour and the 27 waterfall tour. Both were amazing but the waterfall tour was unreal. There is also free Wi-Fi in the common area and possibly the rooms (we didn't bring an ipad or computer) Honestly, I never even do reviews of hotels but if you're on the fence, book this hotel. You won't regret it. It's clean, comfortable and yes, it has a pool bar!

Room Tip: Choose the king bed option as opposed to the double queen if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kait d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff were really friendly. The food was also great and we would definitely recommend eating in the A'La-Carte restaurant 'Ocean Grill' which serves gorgeous steak which is all part of the all inclusive you get here. The fact that the complex sits right on the beach is a bonus. The only downside that we found was that the beach has too many traders who constantly heckle you to buy gifts. Aside from that everything was perfect. If you decide on doing one of the excursions there (i.e the snorkeling, water sports) be careful who you go with as some of the excursion reps are not insured to take you out. We went with Pro'Dive to two reefs to do snorkeling - not only were they insured to take us out but they were great to go with and very friendly so I would advise anyone looking at doing an excursion to go with them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l_nikki_warner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosonee, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My friends and I came to this resort in November 2013 and this was an amazing resort for the 3 of us! It's not a large resort like some of the other places in Playa Dorada but it has a beach unlike the rest of the resorts. The food was great and the service was excellent. The pool area is nice with the swim up bar and volleyball net. There's a lot of seating areas with free wifi. It's about a 2-5 minute walk to the shopping plaza from the resort and it's very safe, there's security everywhere!
The only thing I didn't like about this resort was that the bars closed very early when we were there! to drink until 2am with friends, we'd have to go off resort but the closest bar/disco was about 2 minutes away. Other than that, this resort was amazing and we can't wait to go back in May 2014 !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheyenne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my daughter had a great vacation. we were there from 18 to May 24 , 2013 , we had an amazing time. the hotel and resort was always clean. the food was great. there was always different food every day. the a la carte restaurants were goid too. the italian restaurant and the restaurant on the beach. the octopus restaurants was great too. the pool was always clean . you have a great team at the gran ventana . starting from the people who clean to the entertainers. we had. Great time. the service was good too. I was hapot wuth the service at the bar. and the bartenders. absolutely i recomend this resort to new customers. hopefully i sill return next year at the same place and time. and i wull mention the entertainers. they really know gow to entertain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina7090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were on a 3 day vacation at this hotel. I'm going to be short and sweet. This is our 3rd time in DR and I can tell you that this was not the best hotel however you get what you pay for. Food was great, service was amazing, and attitude of hotel employees was good as well. Our room was extra clean, including our towels were changed twice a day! I would definitely recommend this place for anyone. The only one thing that was horrible is that you will get bothered on the beach by local people trying to sell you their goods other than that it was great stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Igor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My friend and I (2 females late 20's) we're at this resort from Nov 6-13th. It was both of our first times in the DR. Our first impression of the resort was that it seemed quiet. Mostly couples, older people and families. We we're lucky to meet a few other people that we're travelling alone and made friends with them.

Entertainment- Learn to make your own fun!!! The evening shows didn't impress us. There was a Michael Jackson impressonator which was probably the best show of the week. There we're dancers(who couldnt dance in sync) kareoke night(not many people went up to sing) disco night. The bar closes at midnight and most people head to their rooms. If you're looking to stay up late and have fun either travel with big groups or meet others that want to do the same. We hung out by the snack cart which is open from midnight to 2am. We call it the hot dog cart, as they serve hot dogs, sandwiches beer and rum. We would hang out by there and lots of other people would come down and join us. Aside from that we would head to the beach and bring some drinks and go swimming at 2 am in the ocean. I recommend laying on the beach and looking at the stars, it's beautiful.

Food- I'm a very picky eater so I was really worried about the food. However, the buffet has a large varierty. There's something for everyone. From fries, pizza, seafood dishes, rice, chicken, potatoes, pork, bread station and soo many desserts to choose from. And the staff at the buffet are wonderful. They're constantly refilling your drinks. They really appreciate any tips.

The a la carte restaurants are really good as well. The best one in my opinion was the Italian. It is outside so it is really warm and humid. Bring a paper fan if you must to keep cool.

We we're in room 1308 and it was very clean and spacious. Beds we're comfortable. THe only issue we had was the bathtub kept clogging and water kept coming back out of the drain., Just call the front desk and they'll fix it.

The daily entertainment was kind of dull. They had bingo and volleyball and pool games. One day they had some staff dancing by the pool. SO dont count on that to keep you entertained during the day.

The beach is nice, the water is warm and the vedors are aggressive. They're constantly a vendor bugging you when all you want to do is lay back relax and be left alone. YOu need to be very stern with them in your not interested.

Also be very careful when brining your personal belongings to the pool or bar. Our camera was stolen on the 2nd night we we're there. We're not sure if it was staff or another tourist so just be very careful not to put your stuff down and turn away from it.

Overall, the resort was a little quiet but it is low season, the food is good, rooms are clean, staff is great, the enetertainment could be better. We we're lucky to have met some wonderful people the week we we're there. If it wasn't for them I dont think our week would have been as much fun as it was.

If you are planning on doing any excursions, I recommend the trip to Paradise Island, its a small little island but the snorkeling is great. THe city tour was a waste of time. We also did 3 hours of horseback riding in the mountains(go see Alberto in the Mall at the excursion place on the first floor) he's cheap but trustworthy. And I hear the Catamaran and waterfalls are great.

I hope that helps. I don't think I would be back at this resort, but only because I always like to do new places, never the same twice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gouletmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing