We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xlnt holiday in the Dominican.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Xlnt holiday in the Dominican.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a great relaxing say

Pity it was over too quick.

Two week was defiantly not long enough.

Service and staff were fab!!

Went on a few excursions, all very good value.

Swam with the dolphins.

Went to paradise island.

One outing that I would not do again was the buggy experience. Out of date and dangerous equipment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,413
    1,906
    723
    251
    148
See reviews for
1,495
2,081
80
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel itself is small and feels even smaller at a weekend when it gets rather busy, having said that you will never struggle for a sunbed at any time of the day.
The food in the buffet area is of good quality and there's plenty of varity - we were there 3 weeks and were never stuck for something to eat, we did enjoy lunch more than evening dinners at the buffet, however the al a carte restaurants are lovely, especially the octopus and ocean grill restaurants, which we were able to book as often as we liked (most nights).
The rooms are average sized but with little hanging space and only one set of drawers, the rooms are cleaned everyday and to a very high standard.
The staff were the best part, they show personality and are extremely grateful for any praise or tips.
The beach right in front of the hotel is fantastic, a member of staff will pull beds to your proferred location and will have the beds ready for you on days that follows as soon as he see's you walking on the beach. The beach is cleaned every morning and evening, and during the day staff will collect empty drinks. The sea is warm, its calmer in the mornings, a good time to go snorkelling (take bread and bananas from the breakfast buffet), the coral is straightout in front of the hotel, and its only 5-10ft out, which mean you dont have to be a great swimmer to get involved, the fish are plentiful so take an underwater camera. The sellers on the beach are just people trying to earn a living, they are friendly but cheeky so be sure to only pay half of their original quote, these people dont hassle you unless you call them over, if you say no thank you they leave you alone. we had many fun days 'shopping' whilst not moving from our sunbeds, i love a good haggle.
Excursions - DO NOT BUY FROM YOUR HOTEL REP - these are double the price of what you will pay if you book from a seller in the plaza (the Plaza is a small shopping mall next door to the hotel - the first shop is a excursions shop and a guy called Alberto is the greatest) Your hotel rep will try to scare you with stories of people losing money and say that if you book with them you can get your money back if you are sick on the day of the excursion or if its bad weather, well thats the case if you book with Alberto, one day we didn't fancy doing our excursion, didn't have a reason, just couldn't be bothered getting up early, so we called Alberto, he said 'No problem, call in on thursday for your money back'. I was half expecting the shop to be closed on thursday or to have lost a deposit amount but that was not the case, we got a full refund no questions asked. by booking through alberto we saved over $550. The excusrions are exactly the same as the hotel rep can offer, we know this because we met people from our hotel on the same excursions that had booked through their thompson rep and paid twice as much.
The area of Dorada is quite dated, looks like its had its day, some shops and bars have been closed done, its a shame becasue i wouldn imagine it was bustling at one point, however between the beach and all the excursions we could afford we found plenty to do over our 3 weeks. All in all a lovely holiday. If your looking for night life this is not the place, day time fun is what you can expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lin-Fallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we arrived in resort on friday 8/23, the services was horrible from beginning. My husband and i went into a restaurant where they were serving cold hamburger, when my husband asked for the hamburger to be put on grill to warm up we were told take it or leave it. the food was horrible, the other restaurant were only open once a week, it was not open daily like advertised. Me and my husband went to eat for lunch and finished late we were the last one in the restaurant and left my wallet, we went back 10 min later wallet and everything disappeared, all my credit cards had to be cancelled, the resort stated that they did an investigation no one followed up. everytime we asked to speak to a supervisor everyone claimed they are the supervisor however no one knew what was going on, the so called guest service manager did nothing to help us, and everyone on the restaurant kept blaming the guest as the one taking the wallet even though there were no guest in the reataurant at the time. when we were checking out they charged us for using a calling card to make a call totalling 5$ and would not let us checked out without paying. even though i kept telling them and they knew that my wallet with all our money and card was stolen. they would not let us make a local phone call to call the olympus representative. everyone was horrible, the drinks were horrible. i dont know in how many words i can explain how horrible this trip was for me and my husband.i would not recommend this resort to anyone.... save your money and go somewhere its really appreciated. Upon checking they do not give you any type of info about the resort and when the restaurants are open. Their entertainment is lacking , the wifi located only in the lobby is poor at best, this resort is horrible, food is horrible.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dlau5148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel during your stay. As you can see from the TripAdvisor reviews from past guests, over 80% have given the resort an excellent review. It does not appear we would be able to convince you to return to Gran Ventana, but we certainly hope you will not let this experience stop you from returning to the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Super small resort with not much going on. You need to be the type to make your own fun or stay home. Rooms are tired. Many small bugs so be sure to not keep food in rooms. Food was good but my 2 kids got sick at end. The weekends were open to locals which is fine if they had the space to accomodate but they don't. One time we went to buffet and there wasnt a clean table left that wasnt in smoking, lineups were chaos so we just left. Most staff were friendly (with the exception of the pool bar lady that refused my son a straw,sitting close,because her bar wasnt open yet). Watch the bottled water in rooms as ours seemed to have been previously open/refilled (seal broken and water inside overfill). Make sure not to lose you room key as we were charged a $2.00 replacement fee. (I think they cost .20 cents!) If you are going to book tours make sure not to use the guys on the beach. My husband and son arrived at their fishing trip to be told they had to pay more as they were the only 2 (not part of the deal!) Also the city excursision just seemed to bring us from one spot to another with people looking for tips. (This tour info is not a reflection of the resort) Pedi/Manis on the beach by "Lilly,#8" were fabulous :) Also loved doing cheap (cosmetic) jewelry shopping on the beach with "Pedro,#72" Be sure to barter :) The vendors on the beach are frequent and can seem annoying in first few days but with a firm no Thank you they move on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaBuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The food was shocking ! It was overlooked or rare ! Staff fantastic food was so bad the feral cats couldn't eat it ! It was really horrible ! The staff even said they wouldn't eat the food !crisp buttys was the way forward !

Room Tip: One without bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charlaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Upon arrival, our first impression was, oh boy, this is it? Definate need for a good remodel and lots of updating. The check in was quick and easy. The fee for the room safe was $20, not $12 or $15 as some other reviews noted. The room was quite small and smelled of musty, damp air. We had three small drawers to put 10 days of clothes in. There was no tour or any sort of information about the resort. We had to find things on our own. The limited restaurants and more limited hours, made dining a chore. You could not find food or snacks at all hours of the day. There was also no room service available at this resort. No fresh fruit all very dry. The cereal was so stale. The entertainment was a joke. They let in 1400 Dominican locals on the weekend they paid 40 a night. They were disgusting at the buffet. Apparently, waiting in line for food or drinks is not part of their culture. They stepped in front of people and helped themselves. While eating at the ocean grill, we had the pleasure of watching a local urinate behind a palm tree. Our second day brought no lights or A/C to our room as we were preparing for dinner. Day three brought no cold water as we were preparing for dinner. I am in no hurry to return to DR ever, and if I do, it will not be to this resort. The one bright spot, was Simon, the bell boy. He was wonderful, attentive, and friendly. And at 6 feet 9 inches tall, he definitely sticks out in a crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite. Ocean view rooms are more like tree view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michaelj04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Ventana. We are very concerned to learn that you did not have a positive experience during your stay. We also regret to read some discrepancies in your review, which did want to correct for other TripAdvisor readers. Each guest is provided with a detailed welcome letter and resort map and we have an information desk to answer all guest questions. During the summer months, we do welcome a higher percentage of vacationing residents, but certainly not 1400 (we only have 500 rooms) and they do not pay lower rates than our international guests and often pay more due to the short duration of their stays. We charge $16 for a one week safe rental, after one week we charge $2 per additional night of stay. We are deeply sorry for the inconveniences they experienced in the VH Gran Ventana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Gran Ventana for the last 13 years and are getting ready to book year 14. The staff is awesome, Especially Ramiro at the Tiki Bar and the place is small and well situated, on the beach with everything within easy walking distance. Food is great and it is very clean and being in the Playa Dorada complex there is plenty to do and you are close to many of the outside tours and adventures so you don't have to spend the day just getting there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amf04240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing