We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing week! Will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing week! Will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I booked a last minute trip (booked on Friday, flew out on Tuesday) March 19th to 26th.
The resort is beautiful! We have been to many resorts, both big and small, and this one was one of our favourites.
Check in was quick. When we arrived in our room, it had 2 dbl beds, so we went back to the front desk and within half an hour we had a new room.
We spent most of our time around the pool and there was always a good variety of seating available. We were up for breakfast around 9 every morning and there was never a hard time finding chairs with umbrellas.
The resort is smaller, which we loved; everywhere was very easy and quick to get to.
We didn't spend too much time on the beach because it was quite a bit windier down there, but lots of chairs and the water was gorgeous! No problems with lots of rocks or anything like that.
Food was above average. We spent most of our time in the buffet and the beach hut and the food was always great, with lots of choices and fresh fruit. We went to one a la carte restaurant and it was ok...we preferred the buffet though.
Free wifi around the pool/lobby area was so much nicer than sitting in a tiny cramped room!

Overall, a great time and would highly recommend to anyone! We definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mich_and_Rich82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,209
    1,689
    634
    234
    140
See reviews for
1,339
1,832
70
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joliette, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After reading ALL the reviews and following the recommandations of a client who's been to DR many times, we decided to stay at VH Gran Ventana for 1 week in june.
We don't regret our decision!! This hotel has the best location on Playa Dorada: best beach (we went looking at other hotels), nice landscape, good snorkeling (not as good as sosua but still), close to everything!! (20 min from airport, 10 min drive from downtown puerto plata)
Yes, this resort is getting old and tired but that's Puerto Plata's story!! And that's also why it's much cheaper than other places in DR...
But overall, it's a very clean resort and has a nice colonial look.
Since it's a small resort, everything is at a very short walking distance (2 min) which we truly appreciated.
Food was ok but a lot of things were not offered even if listed on the menus due to being in low-season. Still, we manage to eat very well,everyday and 3 times a day!!
The drinks weren't watered down AT ALL!! We even had to ask one bartender in particular to drop less booze in our jugs!! LOL
As for the staff, some were VERY nice and helpfull, some weren't AT ALL... As it is everywhere you go, you don't have to leave the country for that!! LOL But most of them were nice & polite.
Animation staff is doing their possible... You can't blame them if the guests refuse to participate...
As for the vendors on the beach, yes they are harrasing but when you know about it before arriving, it seems easier to deal with them. Don't be afraid to turn them down or to refuse looking at their junk; they're used to it.
Don't be afraid neither to take tours with the vendors on the beach, especially Neury and the guy with the silver tooth that I can't remember his name. They both work for the same tour company (GR or GM, can't remember). They're very safe and cheaper than the ones offered in the hotel. You can also get private tours if you ask them. We did cayo paradisio as a regular tour and 27 charcos as a private tour.
For watersports, you can trust the diveshop in the hotel. They have good prices.
Just keep in mind all is negociable in DR!! LOL And Puerto Plata region has SOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH to offer!! Just kick back, relax and enjoy you trip!! ;)

Room Tip: We requested a room on third floor with king bed, close to the beach as per rewiews we read. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariefrance00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Liked everything about the place and food. The staff very helpful and nothing to much trouble for them.

Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have nothing but praise for everyone at the Gran Ventana, they made our holiday extra special. Everyone was pleasant, helpful and most of all caring and fun to be with. They all class you as one of their family, and nothing is to much trouble for them to help you with any problem.

Food was as always very good and a large choice, breakfast, lunch and dinner, there was something for everyone. There are three other restaurants that you can book instead of the buffet restaurant, but we still preferred the variety of food at the buffet. The waiters and staff including Augusto, who made us feel so welcome. As with the bar staff who were really good, even Jackie at the pool bar.

My son and daughter in law came with us which was their honeymoon. They were upgraded and a basket of fruit and bottle of rum, welcomed them in their room. Also given a romantic meal served to them on the beach on the Saturday evening.

I can only repeat that it is such a wonderful place for a holiday, we have been there a few times and booked another two holidays there. It speaks for itself. We were sorry to come home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My new husband and I spent our honeymoon at Gran Ventana from June 3 - June 8, 2013. We arrived on Monday around 3 pm and we were able to check-in immediately. Our bags were brought to our room within minutes of arrival. We stayed in a Jr Suite in room 2314. We had a view of the beach. We had a King Size bed and the room was comfortable and clean. The bed only had 3 pillows and yes, they were small, but on the second day we asked housekeeping for one more pillow and they cheerfully brought us another pillow. Other reviewers complained about the air conditioning. Yes, it is motion detected but the room cools quickly when you return back to the room. I think the resort is doing a great job of keeping electricity costs down. Why should a room have AC when no one is in the room? Yes, when we were taking a shower the AC shut down but again it didn't take long to cool down again. Yes, it shut down when we were sleeping but all I had to do was raise my arm and wave and the AC kicked on again. I didn't consider this a big deal. The refrigerator was stocked with 2 beers, 2 7-ups, and 2 pepsi's every day along with a refillable bottle of water. We brought our own sports bottles and we could refill the bottles with water at poolside. I never thought that I didn't have enough water or pop to drink. Along with the cafeteria there are 3 restaurants where you can reserve once per restaurant during your stay. The Octopus and the Italian Restaurants were good. Because we were on our honeymoon the Ocean Grill fixed up a table on the beach and served us at the beach. The orange margarita was delicious and I reordered 3 times. The food at the cafeteria was bland which is why I gave a rating of 4 instead of 5. The pool is clean. The vendors on the beach were not as rude as I expected. When Rudy came up to us I remembered his name (also from other reviews here on trip advisor). When other vendors tried to sell to us we told them that Rudy was taking care of us and they left us alone. At the end of our stay we gave Rudy our extra travel shampoos and soap from the hotel plus a packaged toothbrush and toothpaste that we brought. He said he would give them to his wife and kids. We tried to snorkel but there was not much to see. One of the hotel employees told us to bring bread but we were already on the beach and we didn't want to go back. If you decide to snorkel be prepared and bring some bread to feed the fish. We didn't see any. There are lots of sea urchins on in the water in front of the hotel. Don't go out very far walking in the water. You don''t want to step on an urchin. I would go back to this hotel and stay. The cost was very reasonable and affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fantastic Hotel in all ways we stayed here in May and could not ask for any thing more everything about this place is a amazing,Our NHS could do with learning a thing or two about cleaning from the staff there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oscar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a great time!! It was our first resort together. We were celebrating a birthday and the staff made it so easy for us. Dominican cake and balloons were waiting for us at our table at the Ocean Grill. Also, the sancocho and mero (sea bass) were delicious.

We can't wait to return!! The Gran Ventana has one of our favorite pools with a volley ball net and swim-up bar. Dios, we still miss the chinola margaritas.

Thank You,
Los Lokitos

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Los_Lokitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#3 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 6,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing