We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our third time at this resort , and it just keeps getting better . The staff went out of there way to be friendly and helpful . Before we left for our trip I emailed and asked for a room in the beata building and when we arrived that is the room we got . We traveled with 2 other couples and they got the rooms they requested . The food was excellent in all the places we ate , beach bar for lunch , buffet for dinner and all 3 a la carte . we spent everyday on the beach , great beach to lay back and relax . going back in 2014 .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,206
    1,689
    634
    234
    140
See reviews for
1,339
1,830
70
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I just came back from our vacation and I just want to say that this place is AMAZING...it is a beautiful resort...clean...good staff very friendly...good food...good entertainment...beach was beautiful...we got the room we requested when we had called them...the room was nice and clean with partial ocean view...all I want to say is that do not listen to the negative reviews some people write...there was no line up at the bars...it was a clean resort...the food was good...staff was amazing(very sweet)...and yes there are a lotta vendors at the beach but they don't bother you at all...my friend and I had a great time there and we will definitely go back there again:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sana-qizi-vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great place, overwhelming staff, perfect beach, nice pool.

Rooms are spacious and clean. The bed was ok (even soft compared to many other hotels).

I really do not understand the complaints about the food!
The buffet was very good. There were salads, pasta, roast and other meat dishes, stew, sausages, Dominican dishes, cooked/grilled vegetables, fish, seafood dish, soup... I liked stuffed peppers. Although hamburgers, french fries and hot dogs seemed to be popular also. Dominican coffee is great and with every meal they served fresh fruits and delicious cakes and cookies.
A la Carte Ocean Grill was our favourite. Octopus was also very good.

I don't have any negative comments.
I even liked the vendors. They were nice and polite, they made jokes and remembered us. If you don't want to buy; "no, thanks" is enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from that beautiful place on Saturday after 3 weeks..I was with a very heavy heart that we left .We loved the place and the charming employees.We always travel to central America 2 or 3 times a year and we know quality in resort and the staff is fine from the porters to the pool boys,.the desk is always helpful . .The Wi-Fi is in public area only and sometimes it is slow but you eventually get it..during my stay I had 2 cards one for 15 days and another for 7 days anytime I had a problem I went to the front desk to get help .the Wi-Fi is public place is sometimes very slow but it is free and we are on vacations..
We had a lot of fun with the animation staff with their silly games and various activities .The animators are funny and very silly.but so friendly José,scoobidoo,carlos,victor,delphie,and the girls. thanks for the fun..they speak Spanish ,English and French.We went to the shows when we felt like it and we saw the Micheal Jackson revue twice and very nice dance shows .
.
.
The food at the buffet is good and varied ,with pasta at lunch and dinner with various sauces,several dishes were delicious and every night there was a big piece of meat like a turkey,roast beef,lamb,pork roast even suckling pig and gigantic fishes.the cakes and crème caramel are yummy. Every meals there is an assortment of tropical fruits.at some night they put on a side table fancy imported cheeses with assorted crackers and breads.I have never seen that at any resort before. on a buffet restaurant menu , . we went to the 3 A la CARTE restaurant ,the ocean gril is good but noisy and rushing you.the octopus and Italian restaurant are excellent with impeccable service and low noise level,.If I remember correctly on Wednesday it is chocolate night and the sweets table is full of delicious chocolate goodies.at the buffet.

W e had a room in Catalina building on the second floor with a partial sea view.The room is spacious with 2 beds,plenty of hot water and a frig with water,soft drinks and beer..the maid was very attentive and the room always cleaned..


We are 2 old ladies (70 and 93) and we enjoyed our vacation and can`t wait to go back
it is too bad for the people with disabilities who could not enjoy the facilities but it is true that the place is not organised to cater to their needs..

IT is a long revue but honest..We should be back in the very near future




.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lispak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and feedback. It is just wonderful that you two continue to travel the globe and we are honored that you chose to stay with us. We do offer 4 disabled rooms and handicapped access to all restaurants (except the one on the 2nd floor). We very much look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from our 2nd trip to VHGV and God willing we will go again and again. I'm so impressed with this resort.
On arrival we were given the rooms we requested earlier via email, along with rum and a fruit tray (for returning guests). Check in and delivery of our luggage was QUICK. As return guests we were also invited to a cocktail party, where they gave away 4 tickets to SeaWorld.
As usual, the food was excellent all week with lots of variety. We enjoyed the Seafood and Italian this time around... but found we also love the variety at the buffet.
All staff were very friendly and they go above and beyond the call of duty. My husband had a blast with the Animation Crew and played a LOT of games. A lot of them knew us by name by mid week and high fived us and shook our hands every time they passed by.
Talk about a CLEAN resort! I even spotted housekeepers polishing the balcony railings! Unbelievable.
Service was excellent all week - and it was a little busy too being March Break.
Even the beach is kept very clean, and all the grounds as well.
The beach is very nice with snorkeling within feet of the shore.
For an excellent beach massage - look for Amanda.
I only have good things to say about this resort.
If you are thinking of going to POP, check out this resort - you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 2107 and 2109 - both have 2 double beds and the 'newer' tv. These rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Imkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent the first week of march at the resort. This was our first trip to the Caribbean, so we were a little apprehensive. Upon arrival we were greated with drinks while waiting to check in. Our room was in the quiet building that was a very short walk past the tennis court, across the parking lot. This building is also where resevations were made for the alacart resturants. The beds were a bit hard but talking to others that have travelled it is quite common down there. The bedding was great though. There is a quiet pool and bar there also. The bartender Jackie said to us it wasn'the quiet bar when she was working, and she did her part to keep that up, always keeping patrons on there toes. The lobby and main pool were very nice. A short walk to the beach and miles of beautiful sand. Four of our seven days snorkelling was an option but the seas got rough near the end so we were unable to go again. There were a lot of vendors on the beach, but they were polite and not pushy. They are great people to talk to and they remember you everyday! The food was great, at the buffet and the alacart . Our favorite was the Itailian, but they were all good. Drinks were plentiful and the booze was good. If you got the attention of a waiter once they kept you filled. If you want a hut by the ocean you better be down there by 7am to stake your claim.
It was a great family experience for us and we are planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TeamFfej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Can not understand why people are saying such bad things about this place! Its perfect, the staff are brilliant keeping you entertained, the waiters and waitress's are veryy good and as for the cleaners they did the best job ever! Just wish people would stop moaning, its such a beautiful place with amazing people! You guys must not be at the same hotel! And wish people would stop saying bad words about the vendors. One word for them, lovely! All they are doing is working thats there job to earn the money to keep a living and look after there families! They are so friendly you just have to give them abit of your time to get to know them, me and my mum are friends with some of them and we keep in touch and we cant wait to see them all again in November 2013!! That includes the hotel staff too!! Amazing people, amazing place, i wouldnt change them or the place for the world. I miss it so much, roll on November 2013 is all i can say!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sammie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#3 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 6,140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing