We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Location Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This resort is located at the end of the complex (where they have about 3-4 other resorts). Being at the end, it is closest to the beach I would say. As you drive up to the entrance, you pass by a complex that has a store, pharmacy, restaurant and club which is walking distance from the resort. Security is tight there as you pass by different security points at all hours of the night while venturing out. The resort itself has 3 restaurants and 1 - 2 cafeterias. I would say that food at Octopus restaurant is the best out of all the 3 restaurants. I wasn't a big fan of the "cafeteria" style dining options but there are lot of different options to choose from. There is only free wi-fi in the lobby and not your rooms, which is a bummer. You can pay $5/day to have wifi for the day. The swimming pools were big and had a swim up bar which was nice. There are also 2-3 floating bars around the resort so you can really take advantage of the all-inclusive option the resort offers. The staff is very helpful. We asked one guy to show us how to get to town and he offered to take us after his shift was over and showed us around the town of Puerto Plata and even took us to a festival.

Overall, this is a resort that has something for everyone. There are a lot of options for families (shows/entertainment) and couples as well as singles. The only place there is to go is Coco-Bongo which is the club that is walking distance. This resort is mostly for those who want to relax on the beach. There are a few excursions that are offered but we didn't do any because we did most of them in Cabarete (which is where all the excursions and water activities take place).

Room Tip: the rooms with a view don't really have much of a view of the ocean b/c the restaurant blocks bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamSho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    1,838
    687
    243
    142
See reviews for
1,438
1,983
76
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Im not an all inclusive type of person. We went there to eat but was not thrilled too much. The food was just OK and we had to ask for everything. Not top shelf in any area. Looks like a fun place though if 5 star is not important. It's more a party place.

Helpful?
Thank shooflyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a week at this resort and enjoyed the location, food and staff!! It is a smaller resort which makes it easier to become involved in the activities and socialize with other people. It is a very family friendly place. Beware of the beach vendors. We spent a large amount of our time on the beach and the vendors there are very, very persistant - almost relentless. If there was a negative to our trip, this was it. The only downfall we found of the resort itself is that the entertainment area is so, so close to some of the rooms. On the up side, the golf course is less than a 5 min stroll away, as is the mini mart and a great walking area. We enjoyed all the resort a la carte restaurants, with the Octopus Garden as our least favourite. The food was great, but the staff were hard pressed to even look like they were enjoying their job the evening we were in. All in all, certainly a spot worth recommending for families.

Room Tip: Ask for accommodations in the building not beside the entertainment room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Telda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We returned 15 Feb from this hotel and had an excellent time. The grounds are fantastic, the pools and beach are wonderful and the water is nice and inviting. If you have been to an all inclusive before then you know what to expect and you will get the typical 3.5-4 star experience. The shows are good but not Vegas (Duh) and the food is buffet food. If you want The Keg, then stay home! The only areas i noticed that were "different" than my other stays were:

1. Their are reefs right up to the beach so you can't go wave jumping...so go snorkelling instead or walk your lazy butt the 100m to the open spots.
2. There were no "theme nights" per se, but there was always something new at the buffets.
3. Internet is free in the lobby and $5 per day in the quiet areas. But itnis very slow there.
4. There are lots of vendors on the beach. Just ignore them and they will move on. You will LOVE to hear "i've got the monnnnkeeeyyyysssss"!

Other than that if you want a protypical all-inclusive, completely middle of the road, this is for you. No drama, no craziness, just calm and relaxing!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brock H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went during my winter break, and loved it! Food was good, and the staff was over the top friendly!! Everyone there was so kind, right on the beach, pool, and options of so many activities on&off the resort. Close to mini mall, where souvenirs are sold. Would highly recommend, you will have a great time. GV was a great choice!!

Room Tip: asked for a room with a beach view, it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashhperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard, Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We returned on Feb.18 from a great vacation in p.plata. This was our first stay on the north coast, having previously been to Punta Cana twice. I was apprehensive but kept an open mind as what to expect. Cosidering it cost hundreds for dollars per person less than the resorts I have been to in Punta Cana, the Gran Ventana turned out to be a nice vacation at a great price.

Our jr. suite was quite large and the cleaning staff gave the floors and bathrooms an adequate daily cleaning. The king size bed was extremely firm, not the first time I have experienced a hard bed at a resort. The only point I would consider a negative in respect to the rooms, would be the
shortage of dresser drawers to place your clothes while enjoying your stay. There were a few small drawers and a couple of small shelves in the closet. For our two week stay we left a lot of items in the suitcase and used it to store clothes until they were required to be worn.

The food was pretty good at all ala carte and buffet restaraunts. The buffets however only changed a couple of fresh carved items from one night to the next, and the majority of the items were the same every night. This could be improved upon, but no one in our group of friends lost any weight while on vacation, and I have experienced worse in other resorts.
Using a scale POOR,FAIR, GOOD, VERY GOOD, EXCELLENT, I would say over all good, and occasionally very good.

The drinks were at times inconsistant. Some premium brands would have been nice.
The bartenders were freindly and do a very good job but are occasionally too busy to prevent
line-ups from forming. Although in the 2 weeks we were there, the resort only seemed to be at capacity for a couple of short bursts, more bartending staff could have been available throughout our stay.

Don't pay much attention to the people who whine that you need to travel across an ocean to deserve a vacation. I noticed quite a few locals on one weekend of our trip. Other than having more children than other times, Vacationing Dominicans do not behave any differently than any other vacationer.
The beach is great, lots of loungers and sunny or shaded areas.
The vendors are on the beach, but are some of the least pushy of any I have encountered.
This is quite surprising to me, given the fact that the Puerto Plata area is suffering a terrible decrease in tourism, with a lot of travel agents etc. pushing Punta Cana as the prefered Dominican destination. Punta Cana is newer and has lovely beaches, but resort staff at the two Punta Cana resorts I have been to, don't have as good skills in the english language, and I paid considerably more for my trips there.

It came to my attention while there that the tour operators representatives at the resorts may be hurting tourism in the area, rather than enhancing its customers experience of the area.
By trying to ensure they get all the excursion sales they can, they are making some false statements that are harming the percieved safety of the area.
You don't need a guide to venture to orange market or Playa dorada market, because the tour was not bought through the resort rep, does not mean they are uninsured fly by night operators.
In fact, a lot of times it is the same tour on the same bus, for less money.
We took in 4 trips through James, who has a shop in Playa dorada plaza, he showed us copies of various documents (ins. etc.) pertaining to the tours he sells. All our trips went perfectly, and each excursion saved us money that we could use for tips and souveniers.

I would recomend this hotel as an economical alternative, to have a great holiday in a great part of a wonderful country. If you are happy with the price, and don't expect the same level of service as queen Elizabeth, you will love your vacation at this resort.

I have now been on 9 winter beach vacations in 4 countries. They ranged from 3.5 * to 5* accomodations. There were plusses and minuses in evey one.
Go with your head up, enjoying the palm trees, not with your head hung down looking for cracks in the tiles and you will have an amazing enjoyable chapter in your life to share with your friends when you return home.
Ejoy your vacation, I've enjoyed all 9 of mine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.John's, NL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We travelled to the DR Feb. 12-19th. The VH held up to all of our expectations. Staff was friendly and helpful, the resort was well maintained and the location was ideal. Best part about this resort: the beach!!! Beautiful and stretches for miles. You will get approached by locals the first few days however a simple "no, gracias" will send them on their way. We never found it troublesome.

The rooms were adequate. Everything you need, but typical resort rooms. Slightly dated. The beds are a little hard but not uncomfortable. Be aware there are only a few king sized beds on this resort. In retrospect I might have written a quick email the week before traveling to confirm my reservation and reiterate my want of a king size bed. They did have one for us the day after we arrived however, it was located by the quiet pool, which is quite segregated from the rest of the resort. Being a younger couple we preferred to be "closer to the action", so we kept the 2 dbl beds.

Food was good. Nothing to write home about but there is lots of variety, and as a vegetarian I had no trouble finding something to eat. We did 2 a la cartes (Octopus and Italian). We found the Italian the better of the two. We were told the Ocean Grill was fantastic by multiple people.

We spent two days off the resort (coming back each night) doing some scuba diving in Sosua. Highly recommended! Beware that a cab ride to Sosua (~20 mins) will run you 60$. This includes both ways and the cab will wait for you while you complete your excursion.

The entertainment is sub-par however, we don't travel to a resort based on their entertainment reviews. We were aware it was just ok.

All in all, having travelled to various countries throughout the Carribean this resort is perfect for a week long getaway. It is not a luxurious resort but has everything you need for a week of rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank v25asn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,695 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing