We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First and last time on this hotel !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First and last time on this hotel !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

No comments .....food is not fresh, moldy rooms, sewage from the hotel straight to the ocean ......food is not fresh, moldy rooms, sewage from the hotel straight to the ocean ...... First the worst holiday of my life

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Artilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our hotel. We would like to clarify that all of our health and safety procedures are very strict and they are audited by Crystal, an external specialist The major Tour Operators also have their own health and safety team of people controlling quality in the hotels.

Your sewage comment could not be more wrong. All of the hotels in our area have their own sewer system, and this is strictly controlled by local environmental authorities. The Playa Dorada beach area is a certified member of Blue Flag (we invite you to visit http://www.blueflag.org to review their very strict environmental criteria for membership).

Gran Ventana is, and remains, one of the most popular hotels in the Puerto Plata area, which we believe the hundreds of other Tripadvisor reviews will attest to. We would very much like to invite you to return and hopefully have a much better holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    1,838
    687
    243
    142
See reviews for
1,438
1,983
76
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I arrived at this hotel for a 2week stay with my family,upon arrival,we were met by a bellboy who took charge of our luggage and given a cocktail at check in. Check in was very swift and problem free,we were given instructions where to go to find our rooms. We exited reception via the open plan doorway heading to the pool area...this was breath taking...first impressions was that this was going to be a fantastic hotel. The bellboy brought our luggage to our room,which overlooked the pool,a lovely view to say the least. The room was a fair size and very clean,2 double beds which were very comfortable. Have a ''mini bar''/fridge which is restocked daily with 1 small bottle of cola and 1 small bottle of lemonade and 2 cans of beer. Water is supplied when needed by the maids,but is available outside numerous areas on each floor along with ice. Bathrooms are a decent size too,brightly lit and very clean. Has a bath with shower head attached. The hotel is situated on it's own beach which is also very clean,has a beach bar/restaurant there too. The staff,everyone from reception to entertainment to waiters were extremely helpful and friendly. The weather was amazingly hot,with only a couple of showers during our stay. I do have a couple of things that i feel i have to say however... the food was disgusting,in my opinion...i am all for trying new flavours etc...but fried mashed banana topped with red onions for breakfast just isn't my idea of nice!!! The food was recycled from lunch to dinner and dinner to lunch everyday,and written off as something else,there were a LOT of people ill with diarrhoea and vomiting,and I for one was ill for 3 days with food poisoning....the fruit is not kept chilled and you can see it drying out before your eyes and is always covered in tiny fruit flies... the ice cream in the ''freezer'' in the restaurant obviously doesn't work because the ice cream was more like milkshake. My 3 year old niece lived on chips and boiled rice for 2 weeks,quite ridiculous when she had to pay over £600 to go there!! They do not cater for children in any way shape or form,nor for any dietry requirements,you eat what is there or not at all. But don't worry,Pizzahut is 5mins walk away... When we arrived,it was bank holiday weekend for the Dominicans,which is fine...350 arrivals at the hotel however was a bit intimidating,we could not get near the bars,the beach,the pool...it was completely overtaken by them,behaving like hooligans,vomiting in the pool,breaking furniture,screaming and shouting,pushing people,being rude. We were happy to hear we would be away home by the next time they arrive this weekend!! Now...this next bit,i can't believe i actually have to write about...this hotel condones the use of ''female escorts''... 2 British men were seen actively ''using'' 2 different ''ladies''...these women arrive at reception where they are greeted by the men,and are handed a golden envelope(?price list?) and then paraded around the grounds like a piece of meat...one of them however wasn't being paid enough as she couldn't even crack a smile! I think this is disgusting for a family hotel...i have been to places such as Ayia Napa,Ibiza,Magaluf etc and have never ever seen anything like this and they are places one would expect to maybe see such things... The entertainment,is expectedly cheesy..took me back to Benidorm circa 1985,music is played at the pool daily,but again,it's all suited for Dominicans and is ancient. To begin with,activities were announced but none of them seemed to even take place..until the Dominican invasion,then when they left...nothing again! The entertainment is really poor for a hotel based holiday..the only thing worth watching is the Michael Jackson tribute...i enjoyed the weather,and the people are friendly,but i wouldn't say it's worth the 10 hour flight nor the money we spent to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linzi-louxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for leaving your comments about your recent visit to Gran Ventana. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy all the aspects of your holiday. We do feel the need, however, to correct one of your statements. Gran Ventana is a reputable family-owned hotel and we are committed to protecting our reputation. We absolute do NOT allow prostitution in our premises. If we discover prostitution practices, please be sure that those guests will be expelled from our hotel immediately! We hope this experience does not deter you from visiting Puerto Plata again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just got back from Gran Ventana Resort and can't wait to go back!!! Born South American living in NYC for the past 21 years, I was surprised that some of the guest were kind of rude to me (maybe because of my brown complexion I was confused for a LOCAL!!!)

To the Managers and Staff: YOU GUYS ARE GREAT, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were in Santiago for business and decided to take advantage of the 3-day holiday weekend at Puerto Plata - Sep 22 - 24. We got a great deal on our rooms and it’s all-inclusive! Upon entry the Resort looks great. Clean, nice decor, inviting. We arrived early and so had to pay a small fee in order to each lunch. But this was great because at the normal check-in time, reception was swamped! Reception was able to find rooms for us, allowing us to check in-early. My room was nice but it was a little dusty (headboards, hangers in the closet) and there were ants in the tub - I got the impression that my room hadn't been used in a while. The bedcover and sheets had stains :( but seemed clean. The beach was BEAUTIFUL! Lounge chairs and umbrellas were provided and available. Only thing - at the entry to the beach and walking along the beach were vendors selling jewelry, clothing, and excursions - all wanting you to purchase something. You say no and they would usually go away however some were a little persistent and asked several times or came back later in the day. Other than that we were really able to enjoy just lounging by the beach, tanning and running into the water for the occasional dip. The buffet and only one restaurant was open on the weekend. The food was ok; nothing special but plentiful. The drinks were hit or miss - sometimes flavorful and tasty, other times diluted with water and the mixer (like the non-frozen pina coladas). I enjoyed our stay until I arrived back to my room on the last evening to find that someone tried to break-in! The door was splintered and the jamb was out of place. I had to call the front desk three or four times before someone was sent to fix the door. And that was all; no formal report or apology. Needless to say I was ready to leave the next day. The Resort allowed everyone to check-out an hour later than normal and enjoy the amenities, including lunch, after check-out time. Like check-in there was a bit of chaos at Reception with the number of people checking out.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the end of the hallway, where the view is limited; someone may try to break in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulearnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

excellent in every way :)... me and my husband went to VH Gran Ventana beach resort for the first time and we loved it ! would def go back.. the resort was spotless and the staff were excellent ! the location was right on the beach .. thinking of it now just makes me want to go back also we meet some wonderful new friends there ... everyone was so friendly.. going to see the water falls is a must also the cable car...we only stayed for 2 weeks but wished it could of been longer as we loved it so much...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Gran Ventana as part of a wedding group. Looking through the TC brochure it probably would not have been my personal choice but I have been pleasantly surprised. The location, right on the beach where you could catch the breeze, was perfect. Large pool with a swim up bar and a smaller pool in the Beata side of the building. Some days we had this pool to ourselves!! All inclusive we could eat and drink as much as we wanted. The main restaurant has a good selection (the soups taste beautiful). We tried all the a la carte restaurants (book early) and enjoyed them all. I particularly enjoyed the steak with roquefort sauce and the fish dishes in all the restaurants were wonderfully fresh. We had a double room which had 2 double beds. The room had air conditioning that works and a ceiling fan which were necessary as it is extremely hot. The bathroom was a little dated. I'm used to a power shower so overhead shower was a little disappointing but it was hot and it worked so I can't really complain. Do take mosquito repellent sting cream and allergy tables. We used repel 100 and were still bitten so take care. We booked trips through our agent to Paradise Island,Ocean World, Puerto Plata, Buggy Trip and the one everyone should do Megatrucks. The hotel was busier at the weekend with locals they enjoyed themselves the same way we did. The staff are a credit to the hotel always smiling and saying hello. Give this hotel a try you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 3 floors no lifts but you won;t need to carry your bags they have a bell boy remember to tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lazydays12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Gran Ventana and have to say that we could not fault the place. The room, services, food, location, staff and other guests made it a holiday to remember. We went to paradise island which was wonderful and if you are ok with heights the cable car trip is a must. We would recommend that you book trips with Nuery on the beach. His prices are much less than booking with First Choice and he really cares that you are happy. He will look for you when you return to make sure everything went ok. He even helped us when we had a problem with a trip we didn't book with him !
There was a bank holiday just before we left and the hotel became very busy with Dominican families. We have heard people say that this was a problem for them but we found it fine. It was good to see local families enjoying themselves.
Join in with the killer pool and the bingo in the afternoon, Its a good laugh.!
We definately recommend this hotel. We made many friends that we hope to stay in touch with.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor close to all amenieties. I didn't hear any complaints about roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing