We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Puerto Plata
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,705)
Filter reviews
4,705 results
Traveler rating
2,123
1,259
720
335
268
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,123
1,259
720
335
268
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fourth floor playa dorada entertainment staff snack bar beach vendors dominican republic a la carte great vacation nightly entertainment italian restaurant recommend this resort resort staff picky eater jeep safari lobster lots of variety have a good time
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 4,705 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sir Martin thanks you for the aerobics and pool fitness everything was great the food it’s amazing the room it’s was very clean everybody it’s respectful the pool it’s very clean I dont have nothing bad to say

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank craigsR3195TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis I, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for letting us know of your of the wonderful vacation you had at the Grand Paradise Playa Dorada. We look forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our 6th time in Grand Paradise. We love to visit there, small resort with the beautiful beach and view and very friendly staff, that makes us come back again and again. But this time sadly I noticed lack of fruit that was always plenty before at this resort. One of the reasons we come to DR because we love tropical fruit, like passion fruit, papaya and there was always plenty of it, but not this time. Maybe 3 times during the week we stayed (January 1-7) but before it was always there; breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Everything else was good, staff is amazing, our special thank you goes to Yeison, Eduardo, Agripina and restaurant manager Michael for the special extra care we received from them.
We are great supporters of Dominican Republic, we visited the whole island and Grand Paradise (but with tropical fruit) has a special place in our heart.
Thank you to Grisel Rodrigues for special attention to our room request and to all the staff at GP.
See you again in a near future
B

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bono2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis I, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to weight in on some the aspect of the operation at the Grand Paradise Playa Dorada. Your insight concerning some of the services we offer at the hotel will certainly be taken into consideration in order to continue our effort to improve in all areas of services directed to our clientele. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had such a great time the entertainment crew was amazing. Wendy, Martin, Alexander and Isaac were so much fun! I would totally go back. Loved the location and the small resort with access to lots of extras in the gated community. One i will never forget. The only suggestion I would make is to improve the choices at a la cartes. Puerto Plata is so beautiful get out and enjoy.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrismarie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis I, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The management and entire staff really appreciates your comments, we look foward to welcome you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Would I recommend this property to anyone? Yes. IF they wanted a quiet, minimalist resort vacation. Cleanliness and security were terrific. Price was outstanding. If being entertained is what someone is looking for, ABSOLUTELY NOT. The excursions were mostly geared to younger travelers, in my opinion but then, the reps can't offer what is not there.
We had a really good vacation and enjoyed ourselves but under the microscope, there was something missing. We talked about going back to the bigger named resorts in the future, realizing that would cost more than this trip. This time we wanted a really cheap get away and got it. In future, we will need to weigh out what we want vs what we are willing to pay. This time we certainly got fair value for our money. I guess that's bottom line. I'm just not sure that's enough for me. Just to be fair, my husband was less critical of the property than I am.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank bemba58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis I, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to weight in on some the aspect of the operation at the Grand Paradise Playa Dorada. Your insight concerning some of the services we offer at the hotel will certainly be taken into consideration in order to continue our effort to improve in all areas of services directed to our clientele. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

PROS
Close to the airport.
Friendly staff overall.
Buffet food is fresh overall.
Fair choices of local drinks.
Rooms are clean.
Small mall just outside the resort (5 min. walk).
Location with mountain in background is nice.

CONS
Small pool.
They kinda limited access to the left side of the beach and put a guard to chase their customers (even though we were NOT sitting in their VIP section).
No fitness centre.
Evening entertainment is simply nonexistent (a little animation by the same day team).
You need to pay extra for a safe $$.
You need to pay for WIFI $$ per person AND per unit. In other words, you can’t transfer service from your iPad to your phone or vice versa. You can’t share with your family (if you are 4, each person MUST have their $$ plan).
And worst, WIFI is available only in a section around the pool and in the lobby only. It’s not only expensive and restricted per unit, it is simply NOT available throughout the resort. This is NOT acceptable in this time and age, and for the price we pay while most if not all other resorts have it throughout their facilities.
No gym or fitness centre whatsoever.

For all the above reasons you will be able to actually find a better resort for the same price on Playa Dorada. I think the administration can bring this hotel to the next level if they listen to people’s comments... Many expressed dissatisfaction for years now (e.g. the WiFi).

TIP: You can take a prepackaged tour of Puerto Plata or if you are 2+ people, you can have a cab for the day that can take you to the touristic places for a fraction of the cost. Prices and access to a cab are all available by the mall outside the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TedIldotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis I, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your impressions of the hotel from your recent visit. Although your views are not share by the majority of our visitors, we do valued all individual observations because they served as an important element in our pursuit to continue improving in the overall product we provide our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews