We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

How to choose a resort? This was our first time to an all inclusive resort. We were delighted with our choice. Grand Paradise is an older resort near Puerto Plata but has by far the best stretch of beach.
Our goal was to escape the cold and lie on a beach and that was exactly what we did. We had no trouble securing a lounge chair every day and even though there are no cabanas there are plenty of trees for shade. There are 2 bars nearby if we wanted to refresh and washrooms near the beach.
Our favourite time of day was afternoon snack time. The restaurant on the beach served fresh made pizza right out of the oven every day! The chicken pieces were also good but that thin crust pizza was fantastic.
There were signs of aging in the lounge chairs and the rooms but what made made up for that was the friendly staff and the quality of the excursions offered. We were able to go out into the country for a full day visiting a local school and had the opportunity to help out a poor family by painting their house for them. I was so impressed by the work done to make these connections and give us the chance to give back to the local community. We visited a family at their dwelling, were invited in to see their house, offered fresh coffee from their own coffee beans, taste the fruits and vegetables that are grown in their own backyard. Then off to the beach that was ours for the afternoon to either swim or ride horseback up the beach. Out in the middle of nowhere a lunch was made for us of delicious local food. That was the highlight of the week for us.
The food at the resort was good, beverages never ending. It was the rest and relaxation we needed.

Room Tip: We followed a tip that we saw and chose an ocean view room with a balcony. We still heard some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    1,017
    602
    301
    239
See reviews for
796
991
139
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton Nova scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Entertainers were all excellent put on great shows cannot say enough about this resort one of the best I've been too.Great for family's and couples alike lots of activities and with such a beautiful beach who could ask for more .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbhawboldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My family and I plus another family of 5 travelled to this resort on April14-21. We had a great vacation with lots of sun. The resort is lovely beach is beautiful one of the nicest beaches I have been to in Puerta plata. The food was great gets a little repetitive after 7 days but what resort dosent. Our room was spacious and clean with a great air conditioner we had garden view but our view was off tennis courts and the resort across from us but that was fine. Staff were friendly and drinks were great. My only complaint was we wanted our rooms all together and they were seperated as our children were on the floor above us but it all worked out fine. I dont know what people are expecting when they go to these resorts and complain about everything it was a great size with everything convenient to get too. I would definatly return again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

it was a good choice, check in staff very friendly y fast as hibiscos . i think some of them new.
rooms was perfect,nice food & and beberage. awesome beach and the nigth time show good.
no free internet, no computers.
come back next year.

Room Tip: upgrade to suite ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband & I stayed at this resort from Apr 11 to 18 with another couple. We have stayed at numerous all inclusive resorts in the Dominican, Mexico & Cuba and found absolutely nothing wrong with our stay here. We stayed in Peurto Plata 5 years ago and were quite honestly hesitate about returning - I am very glad I gave the area another chance. The reviews on TripAdvisor did have me a bit concerned but we decided to book and test the resort out for ourselves. I really honestly do not understand many of the complaints that people have. The resort was small, wonderfully situated - it really didnt matter which building you were in you were close to everything. The food was fine, beach/pool were clean, rooms were a tad bit small but clean, service was totally acceptable. We did not have any issues getting lounges/chairs around the pool or on the beach. We were on the 3rd floor in building 14 & had a wonderful view of the beach/ocean.

The buffet is situated right on the beach....we always ate a little bit later in the evening and completely enjoyed our oceanside tables. We did eat a few times when the buffet was extemely busy and, of course, the service was a bit slower - nothing different than going into a restaurant anywhere when it is full. The staff do work extemely hard.

As for the front desk staff - there was something wrong with the blow dryer in our room, I told them & a new one was delivered the next morning. Yes I did have to pay $48 USD for unlimited use of the wifi for the week.....didnt bother me at all but I suppose it may some people. I had no issues whatsoever signing on or using it for the week.

This resort seemed to have something to offer everyone - an awesome choice for a family vacation. I would not hesitate to return here with my family.

The one thing that people should know is that when checking out - make sure that you bring your remote control from your room with you to reception - I was not told this & had to make a mad dash back to our room to get it. They will not give you your check out ticket without it.

Room Tip: Definately upgrade to an oceanview room/suite - buildings 9 14 or 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtotravel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I liked:
-Lots to do if you don't wanna sit in the sun ALL day.
-Staff are great at initiating fun activities
-Decent beach with a nice view
-Fun night club
-Everything is easy to get to, not a lot of walking required
-Good food

I didn't like:
-If you have a problem or complaint, it takes forever for them to fix it
-We moved to a different room a day ofter we got there...air conditioning barely worked in both rooms
-Not enough lounger chairs. People would put their towels out to save their spots early in the morning...chairs were tough to get
-Nightly shows lacked quality and energy

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is in a great situation, right on the beach, the rooms are very nice and the food is very good. However, the service was not great. Bar staff are pretty miserable, even when you give them a tip (Yolande excepted, she was lovely) waiters take a LONG time to serve (if they come to you at all) and it seems like the reception staff are just about staying afloat. We had requested ground floor rooms in the same block to accommodate an 84 year old in one room and an intellectually disabled child in the other, who wouldn't be able to find her way between blocks or up/down stairs. We arrived at 11.30 at night and had been put on the 3rd floor. Basically they don't even read your requests. Lots of other people checking in had requested rooms higher with views and been given a ground floor!! NO other available rooms so one of our party ended up moving the next day and another party two days later. Not a great start. The whole thing did feel a little like it's all about the money and the staff don't appreciate things like gifts/toiletries etc. any more, they want CA$H. Towels on sun loungers culture is insane, you have to put your towel out by 8am latest if you want a sun bed on the beach or by the pool (didn't bother us as we're early risers, but a couple of days it would have been nice to move between pool/beach but there was no chance of a lounger). All in all, the pool was nice, the place was spotlessly clean, there were lots of activities if you wanted to join in, there was plenty of lovely food and the weather was fantastic. It is what you make it! Wouldn't go back but it did the job and we came home tanned and relaxed.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are newer, but all are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Copycat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Property: Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing