We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$189
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$157
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$160
$122
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$161
$135
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$121
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$244
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$250
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$203
$102
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$111
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ClubHotel Riu Merengue(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,533)
Filter reviews
3,533 results
Traveler rating
1,227
1,107
641
313
245
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,227
1,107
641
313
245
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya doradabeach vendorsentertainment staffsnack bardominican republica la carteorange marketnightly entertainmenttennis courtslobsterresort staffrecommend this resortpicky eaterno graciassmall resorthave a good timegreat trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,165 - 1,170 of 3,533 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was at the Grand Paradise, Playa Dorada in a group of eight people at the end of August 2013. We didn't know what to expect given it was a spontaneous trip but I can say now that we made the right choice.

DONKEY! A guy named Donkey who was in charge of keeping the guests entertained and also was the speaker at all the events made our trip what it was. Everyday he would make sure we had what we needed and made us laugh continuously. I don't think the resort would have been the same without him. The beach was really nice and the hotel itself was not too bad but Donkey and made us have a great time. I also have to say Scooby, another guy who played the same role as Donkey added to our fun at the resort.

Thanks Donkey, Scooby and of course our favorite bartender Hugo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmmhi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear mmmhi45,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We're honored to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you fully enjoy your well deserved vacations. Please be sure that we will congratulate Donkey, Scooby & Hugo Castillo for their great job.

We all hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Scooby donkey manny are the best entertainers I have seen at a hotel..... they are funny friendly good dancers . The food is terrible a lived on rice and carrots for 1 week and went to coco bongos for food for the second week of my stay . A got put off food that's how bad it is . Rooms where spotless everyday . Hotel grounds where well kept . Restaurant staff and bar staff where great .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baba1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Baba1867,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It's a pleasure for us that you took some of your valuable time to post your review. We thank you for your observation regarding the food, be sure that we have already transferred the message to all departments involved. We will congratulate Donkey, Scooby & Manny for their great performance.

Best regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The beach is amazing , probably one of the best in puerto plata , the beaches of other resorts aren't as nice but I was really impressed . The staff was amazing , they made sure we felt very welcomed , specially Donkey , Scooby and Janet .

All the staff at the bars were very friendly as well , everyone always smiling and very approachable.

The food was decent , could do better on the food and a 24 hour snack bar would be very appreciated it

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoseR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear JoseR06,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It's a pleasure to know that enjoyed our facilities and the entertainment of our team, we're more than glad that you posted your experience.

We will congratulate Donkey, Scooby & Janet Jackson.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here the last week of August with 7 of my other friends. We all had a great time and very memorable experience! The beach is clean, and the water is phenomenal. The pool is also a lot of fun and the swim up bar is in the shade, which is perfect. The entertainment at the hotel (Donkey, Scooby, Janet Jackson, etc) are so much fun! They kept my friends and myself entertained, no matter the time of day. Aqua fitness, magic shows, karaoke... so much to do - also, the disco is a lot of fun for those who are looking to party.

The food at the hotel is really nothing to complain about - in fact, its pretty good for down south standards. I have been to Cuba and the food was a disaster. Here, you have quite enough variety. Also, the staff at the restaurant are always happy to help.

The hotel rooms are clean, and I would advice those who are going to stay here that they request a room on the 3 or 4th floor, as these rooms are the nicest. A few of my friends stayed down on the first floor and the rooms were clean but not as nice as those up higher. *Keep in mind if you want a safe, it is approximately $20 USD for a week .

Also, just want to mention that there are locals that come up on the weekend, but they are very friendly. There was no issues with the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms up on the 3rd or 4th floor are nicest.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Irena S,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We're thankful for your kind comments about your stay. It's a pleasure to know that you've had a delightful stay with our crew & facilities. It will our pleasure to congratulate Donkey, Scobby & Janet Jackson for their great performance.

We all hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We traveled here for the week of September 6th to the 13th. The beach was beautiful and you could walk for an hour in each direction. The room was clean and well maintained daily by the maid service. I have heard complaints about the food but honestly I was fully satisfied. The food was varied on a daily basis and nothing was lacking for a 3.5 star resort.It is true that entertainment is amateurish at best but you have to make your own fun. We booked a taxi in front of the hotel and took a 2 hour tour of Puerto Plata for $30 US which was interesting. All in all a great trip for the price. Keep in mind this is not a 5 star resort but they deliver what should be expected from 3.5 star.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms nearest pool, too noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 750paulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear 750paulc,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It's a pleasure that you've took some of your valuable time to write your experience. We thank you for your kind words and for chosen us, as destination for your appreciate vacations.

We hope to welcome back in the nearest future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews