We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“be back soon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Puerto Plata
canada
1 review
“be back soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

was in this hotel hosted the April 2013 and I really liked the hotel is very good the beach megusto the food is good and varied the pool is quite large near the mini bar if you want to take couple of drink is good and staff smiling sienpre guillermo diaz maintenance as offered me a good selvicio the abitacion are comfortable output and this in 1931 in the tersera abitacion silver had the pool next hotel I recommend is

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    898
    542
    270
    228
See reviews for
702
859
121
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Grand Paradise es un complejo excelente. Manny, Donkey y Happy Boy son fantásticos animadores. Sin duda, volvería a este lugar!!!
Grand Paradise is an excellent resort. Manny, Donkey and Happy Boy are fantastic entertainers. I will defininely return to this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I travelled with a group of 8( young adults and adults). The hotel is perfectly situated in the playa dorada comes which is a bit more secure than other locations. There were always lots of security guards milling about within the complex. The rooms were great. The couple of minor issues we had were corrected immediately. The staff were all very pleasant and eager to make sure everyone was having fun. My only issue would be the food at the al a carte restaurants. I was expecting something special and received just fair food. The buffet was always good and located right on the beach which was beautiful.
I was pleasantly surprised by what we received for the $$ we spent.
I would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEITrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada de Gomez, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

drand I was in paradise with my husband. It is the ideal hotel to rest and to share with your partner and why not! With a group of friends too. The hotel may be full but still feel the tranquility that only an adult hotel can offer. is a lot bladed truth, the colors you have in itself is relaxing by guillermo diaz Attentions are very good, the food despite not having a variety is delicious and the desserts or speak. Good situation in the restaurates a la carte and beautifully presented dishes besides delicious. The spacious and very hygienic. Unfortunately not give the epithet of Excellent for 1 reason. 1 - The drinks in bars are not very good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cadida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

say my enjoyment much pleasure my stay here the food is good and the friendliness of all the staff guillermo diaz gave me good service is good the beach and pool nightly disco pre temple this good and so well resibi a good service alejandro security mejía than satisfied with the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What an amazing vacation I had from April 15-22/13. From the minute I was greeted by Dio Mendes at the front door until I checked out, all staff was fantastic. I met some wonderful people. This is my third stay at Grand Paradise since June of 2012, and I must say I am not disappointed at all. The food is excellent (sorry, not the Italian restaurant-needs help) and all staff are over the top helpful and friendly. They all work so hard. Manny, Happy, Chispa, Cherry, (so sorry if I forgot somebody) all of the animation team are the hardest working, happiest people I have met. They make your holiday so very enjoyable. The girls who do the housekeeping, such hard working friendly people also. I am definitely going back there and forget about the little things, if you don't enjoy this resort well I think you should remember that you get to relax, enjoy your surroundings, meet amazing people and have great food and drink......all in one spot. What's not to like.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank odie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friend & I stayed at the Grand Paradise Playa Dorada for 2 weeks (April 10-24) and we enjoyed our stay very much. We flew CanJet (via Nolitours) and got to eat a meal on our way there & back. Bonus !!! The price was right too so another bonus !!!
Upon arrival, I looked for the bar while my friend checked us in but NO luck as it is not connected to the lobby. The check in was quite fast and Damarys & José Joseph are very nice. We were given an ocean view room but the next morning I asked to be moved (they never see that...lol) as I am a smoker and my deck was right beside the sidewalk so thought it would be best to be moved elsewhere. Diomedes was kind enough to help us move to room 1321 by the pool and ALL was good. Our washroom was quite big, the bed was comfy. We did not get any beers in our fridge as apparently we can buy some at the plaza nearby. We were ok with that as we had plenty of mix (Coke & Sprite). We adored our maid Nelsida. We KNEW when she was off. She does her work well and is a very loving lady. We woke up to no water one morning but I couldn't tell you how long it lasted as we left the room for fun play at the ocean. There were NO bugs or should I say very few. We did put bounce sheets all over the room JIC (just in case). Regarding the noise via my building, for me it was not a problem as I am an early riser (quiet in the a.m around pool as men move each & every chair and clean area) and entertainments stops at around 11 or so. We enjoyed most shows. We laughed quite a bit while watching them (guests participation). We went to the disco at night. Some nights were quiet & some nights were a lot of fun. Service at the bar was excellent there. Went to Coco Bongo a couple of times and again the same thing. We did get to see Spiderman and even though it wasn't a "long" show it was GOOD.
We always found something to eat and I was surprised at how good the food was. We did run away twice to the Hispaniola Resto Bar (owned by François from Québec) to eat a club with fries and tried the poutine too with a nice cold Presidente beer. A 10 minute walk to the left of the resort. We tried the resorts 2 A la Carte. Eden is the steak house, it's the same place as the after disco snack and lunch resto so the atmosphere was not as nice as the Michaelangelo (Italian resto). Service was excellent at the Italian resto and we enjoyed our meals very much.
All bars had great service. It was the first time ever that I saw that. Barely any waiting. Bravo to you all. Ask José Pilar to mix a drink for you. He does a genre of little show and it's quite fun to watch.
Now the OCEAN. LOVED every minute spent there. The water is just beautiful. If you enjoy walking, you're in for a treat as there is a long stretch on both sides of the resort. Enjoy !!
You do have vendors coming to you and most are pretty good when you don't want to buy anything. However, if you do want to buy, that's where a good friend comes in to do the negotiating for you as it can be energy sucking. I did buy a couple of bracelets by #69 and he puts the names on them that you wish. Very nice souvenir.
This is not a five star resort but the AMBIANCE sure is. We met some great great people and loved every minute spent with them all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marielise39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 stars 4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 6,164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 45 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 stars 2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Property: Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing