We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand paradise playa dorada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This resort was fantastic , i enjoy my staying and the servise was Great thanks to Roberto Ramos that help us with everything we need!!. The stuff was pretty amaizing too , they were always ready in case we ask for something it was like if the knew we needed it something lol..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HersonNunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear HersonNunez,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent visit, we want to thank you for your kind comments regarding our property and services.

We will extend the congratulations to Roberto Ramos, for his great job.

We all look forward to welcome back in the nearest future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 3,286 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was my first time in the Dominican Republic and I had read reviews, watched videos, etc. so when I arrived I was not surprised. I have not travelled much so I was not aware of certain questions to ask upon check-in and the front desk is definitely not going to offer advise. The resort building is tired looking but the rooms are clean, plenty of food, atmosphere in dining area pleasant as overlooks the ocean. However; upon arrival the front reception hands you an envelope with key, etc. and does not smile or explain anything. The staff everywhere else is friendly. Upon check-out the staff tried to find a way to squeeze a buck - I could get into details but it's not worth it. The fine print doesn't explain everything and the aggression when checking out is unbelievable and humiliating. As a woman travelling without a male I felt somewhat intimiated. I planned to come back with my family until I was checking out and I would not recommend this hotel because it left me with a sour taste and a feeling that the people can be very cruel at that resort. Again, it was front desk but they give the first and last impression. We were greeted with a nice cold drink when we arrived but it was NOT the employees behind the desk offering the drink. The two exceptional employees are Manny - who was always energetic, never slept, very friendly and another worker but I did not get his name - he was Manny's sidekick. The attitude at the front desk was disappointing and I was accommodating, tipping and smiling until I knew I was being scammed for more money!!!!

Room Tip: If you want quiet then select a room away from the pool. If you don't mind hearing the entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles_4_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Charles_4_13,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are discouraged to know that your recent experience with us fell short of your expectations. We value your comments & observations regarding the attitude of the reception staff, as they are vital feedback to improve the services to better serve you and other customer.

New procedures are in place to avoid similar situations to affect other guests and of course yourself on your next visit. Please be sure that we will congratulate Manny for his great job.

We hope this experience does not deter your from returning and give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada was the first resort I have ever been too. My first impression on day one was that it was a very clean and friendly place. From the time we walked in everyone was very welcoming and hospitable. The resort is smaller than some of the other in Playa Dorada but the entertainment staff makes up for that. Our most exciting and memorable times were spent by the pool with Manny who made everyday more enjoyable than the last! In my opinion Manny and the entertainment staff made the resort what it was. The entertainment staff made us feel like we were royalty and they would even sit with us and talk about everything and nothing. The food is acceptable but personally I found it hard to eat the same food for 7 days. On the other hand the food service staff made up for that with impeccable service with that same feeling or gratitude for your business. I would recommend this resort to families and anyone looking for a clean and safe environment in paradise.

Room Tip: The stairs to the rooms on the third floor got quite annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cullen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Cullen M,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are truly thankful for your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay with us and also that you have had an enjoyable time with the company of our entertainment staff, we will be more than glad to share your comments with them and with staff from the restaurant.

We look forward your next vacations at GPD.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This resort is in a fantastic location. Beautiful beach, great for kids if it is not too windy. The staff are fantastic and friendly. The buffet is great, hot food, great taste but the variety could change during the week. Bars are awesome, staff is entertaining forsure! Only downfall is that the rooms, although spacious in a one or two bedroom suite, are ill equiped and stuff is broken or not working. The whole place has so much potential, but needs some help. Nevermind though because the most important is good food which it has, good beach which it has, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Nicole N,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit. We are honored to learn of your kind comments regarding the property and staff . We delighted that you have enjoyed stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great time at Grand pasadise , the service was great the food , and the people , we want to thanks to Mister Roberto Ramos for been the person who made our stay confartable in the Dominican Rep , we will recomend this Resort to friends and family and tell then to look for mister Ramos because he really does a great job with his team , thanks once agian for the great time ,.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Germansanchealmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear German,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you´ve enjoyed your vacations at our resort. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property.

We´ll congratulate Roberto Ramos for his great job and performance.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice place to stay, clean, nice beach, mixed bunch of people, food was always the same tho that could be a little better, Maybe a little bite more variety. Snorkeling was great. Bartenders were always fun and more then willing to tend to you. I didn't like that they only provided you with one room key, But getting another one was never a problem. Beach party is a must if ya wanna dance. Very close to shopping and off resort bars, witch are very safe. All in all the trip was great and as I said manny defiantly made my vacation more enjoyable

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tirimacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Tirimaco,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is very gratifying to know that you've had an amazing vacation at our resort. We truly appreciate your comments, be sure that we will take note about your remark regarding the variety of food. We will congratulate Manny for his excellent work and performance.

Thank you for sharing your opinion at this web site. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our second visit to this resort and we have enjoyed this trip as much as the year before. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you comfortable. We enjoyed the Entertainment crew, Chispa is a wonderful ambassador for the resort and some of the other animation crew could do well to follow his example.Every time we saw Chispa we talked and he always had a warm smile and gentle greeting for us. Ruth the evening greater at the buffet was a warm and charming hostess going out of her way to make things enjoyable. Osvaldo (Obie) and Jose and their team at the pool bar or the beach bar are a wonderful asset to the resort and we became good friends and feel like part of the family. I was disappointed by the fact that the resort was not using Brugel rum as the rum they used was ok, it was not as enjoyable. Mildred,our maid was very pleasant to talk to and she was very thorough and our fridge always had soft drinks and bottled water. The food at the buffet is always plentiful and managed well so you don't find empty serving trays on the buffet. The grilled food is tasty and hot. This year we got a surprise when roasted turkey was served and it was very well cooked, our complements go to the entire kitchen staff. I would like to see the menu changed at Edens so a few different items to chose from are available. The beach at this resort is incredible, in the mornings there is a crew that clean the area of fallen leaves and other items and the seaweed is cleaned up as well. I would like to see some newer loungers for the beach front as the chairs are starting to show their age. Over all we really enjoyed our trip and are looking forward to next years trip. We traveled from Feb.28 to March 14/13.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $97 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing