We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$250
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Presidential Suites by Lifestyle(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$248
$170
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$204
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$208
$108
HotelsForEveryone
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$342
$260
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$170
$134
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playabachata Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
$64
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,629)
Filter reviews
3,629 results
Traveler rating
1,296
1,124
644
318
247
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,296
1,124
644
318
247
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya doradablack pantherentertainment staffsnack barbeach vendorsdominican republicchickena la cartenightly entertainmentorange marketrecommend this resortresort staffpicky eaterlobstergreat triphave a good timerum factory
Filter
Updating list...
1,383 - 1,388 of 3,629 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This resort is in a fantastic location. Beautiful beach, great for kids if it is not too windy. The staff are fantastic and friendly. The buffet is great, hot food, great taste but the variety could change during the week. Bars are awesome, staff is entertaining forsure! Only downfall is that the rooms, although spacious in a one or two bedroom suite, are ill equiped and stuff is broken or not working. The whole place has so much potential, but needs some help. Nevermind though because the most important is good food which it has, good beach which it has, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Nicole N,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit. We are honored to learn of your kind comments regarding the property and staff . We delighted that you have enjoyed stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great time at Grand pasadise , the service was great the food , and the people , we want to thanks to Mister Roberto Ramos for been the person who made our stay confartable in the Dominican Rep , we will recomend this Resort to friends and family and tell then to look for mister Ramos because he really does a great job with his team , thanks once agian for the great time ,.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Germansanchealmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear German,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you´ve enjoyed your vacations at our resort. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property.

We´ll congratulate Roberto Ramos for his great job and performance.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice place to stay, clean, nice beach, mixed bunch of people, food was always the same tho that could be a little better, Maybe a little bite more variety. Snorkeling was great. Bartenders were always fun and more then willing to tend to you. I didn't like that they only provided you with one room key, But getting another one was never a problem. Beach party is a must if ya wanna dance. Very close to shopping and off resort bars, witch are very safe. All in all the trip was great and as I said manny defiantly made my vacation more enjoyable

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tirimacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Tirimaco,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is very gratifying to know that you've had an amazing vacation at our resort. We truly appreciate your comments, be sure that we will take note about your remark regarding the variety of food. We will congratulate Manny for his excellent work and performance.

Thank you for sharing your opinion at this web site. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our second visit to this resort and we have enjoyed this trip as much as the year before. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you comfortable. We enjoyed the Entertainment crew, Chispa is a wonderful ambassador for the resort and some of the other animation crew could do well to follow his example.Every time we saw Chispa we talked and he always had a warm smile and gentle greeting for us. Ruth the evening greater at the buffet was a warm and charming hostess going out of her way to make things enjoyable. Osvaldo (Obie) and Jose and their team at the pool bar or the beach bar are a wonderful asset to the resort and we became good friends and feel like part of the family. I was disappointed by the fact that the resort was not using Brugel rum as the rum they used was ok, it was not as enjoyable. Mildred,our maid was very pleasant to talk to and she was very thorough and our fridge always had soft drinks and bottled water. The food at the buffet is always plentiful and managed well so you don't find empty serving trays on the buffet. The grilled food is tasty and hot. This year we got a surprise when roasted turkey was served and it was very well cooked, our complements go to the entire kitchen staff. I would like to see the menu changed at Edens so a few different items to chose from are available. The beach at this resort is incredible, in the mornings there is a crew that clean the area of fallen leaves and other items and the seaweed is cleaned up as well. I would like to see some newer loungers for the beach front as the chairs are starting to show their age. Over all we really enjoyed our trip and are looking forward to next years trip. We traveled from Feb.28 to March 14/13.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Four of us have just arrived home to snowy, cold Southern Ontario. We had read mixed reviews before going to this hotel so our expectations were to make the most out of whatever came our way and that we did. We had a blast! The food could be bland and repetitive but we never went hungry. The staff was friendly, helpful, prompt and courteous. We treated them well and they treated us well. The pool got dirty one very hot day after everyone swam in it with their sunscreen and oils still on. Oh well, we showered in the room before dinner and were clean. Imagine! We enjoyed the entertainers with special shout outs to HAPPY MAN, MANNY, CHISPA and DONKEY. We met some interesting people from near and far, learned about other countries and cultures. We saw beautiful sunsets and sunrises. We enjoyed our time together.

Room Tip: We didn't choose our room. I have bad arthritis so when we go back next year, I would ask for a ground floor room. I suppose I could have switched but I managed because I came prepared. We had a Superior Gardenview Room and it was wonderful.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBean_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Jbean_13,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent visit, on behalf of Grand Paradise, we sincerely appreciate it.

We're honored, that you took some of your valuable time to write you experience with us. We really appreciate that you recognize the hard work of our employees, be sure that we will congratulate Happy Man, Manny, Chispa, & Donkey for their excellent performance.

We all look forward for you next visit in our resort.

Best regards from all of us,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews