We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our Second Home!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Second Home!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I visit this resort every February and it is truly our second home. This year we visited for 2 weeks from February 4- 18th. After we arrived, the assistant manager, Ms. DeLaCruz came to our room to personally welcome us back! The entire staff is fantastic from our check in to our maid service, the food, the excursions, the entertainment, and of course the beautiful, beautiful, beautiful beach. I give this resort an A+.

The entertainment was just fabulous. They had a bonfire on Saturday night with guest entertainers and special appearances from entertainers from their celebration of Carnival. Every night there were different guest entertainers. The staff entertainers were fantastic.They were very accommodating and kept you involved with their high energy level.The Michael Jackson show was superb. The magic act kept us spell bound. The dancers were great. Our favorite staff entertainers were LaBaby and Ada. Bon Bon @ the towel hut always had a smile on her face.

Our favorite servers were Shayla, Pablo, Eduardo,and Mario. The food in the buffet was very good. When the buffet was closed, the snack buffet was excellent, especially the chicken wings and french fries. The Valentine Romance Dinner on the beach with lobster and champagne was a romantic, memorable event for my wife and I.

A short walk up the beach to the Orange Market is run by many vendors. Our favorite was Winston who had great business savvy and many things to buy. He volunteered to pick us up with his family and take us to Carnival. We sat in the VIP stand and the celebration was awesome. Next to the Orange Market is a great restaurant called Hispanolia, owned by Franscois. We had lobster and champagne!

As we sat on the beach, many vendors came by to show us their crafts. We bought bracelets, necklaces, and rings and was very happy to do so. This is a very poor country. We tipped as often as we could to show our appreciation for the great services we received. We had great massages on the beach from Teresa.

This resort is very well managed by Mr. Cid and Ms DeLaCruz. We can't wait to return in February to our second home.

Jerome and Connie Brocks from Washington, DC USA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RetiredTravelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Jerome & Connie,

We are very proud to read your thoughtful comments about your stays at our resort. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it.

It is rewarding to learn that we have set a standard of quality and service for you and your wife, that we have been able to maintain through the years, and that is the reason why you return to GPD year after year.

Be sure that your kind comments will be shared to all the mentioned members of our staff. We want to extend our gratitude for your loyalty and for posting review. Rest assure that we will be pleased to welcome you one more time to this, your home.

Best regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    913
    549
    270
    230
See reviews for
710
867
125
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This resort was exactly what we thought it would be. We paid a fairly inexpensive rate, and got what we paid for. Not saying this is a bad resort at all! Just you get what you pay for.

Rooms were very clean and always restocked everyday with 1 bottle of pop (either Sprite or Coke, they choose) and a large bottle of water - No alcohol. Also, we didnt purchase a safe ket, but felt very comfortable leaving our belongings in the room while we were at the pool. We had a room in the 19 block that we could see the pool from, and this is also where the nightly shows were done - VERY NOISY, if you have children, or need to have naps without noise don't stay in the 19 block!!!

Food - Ok, I am a really picky eater... I did find things to eat, but I always stuck with the same things, rice, potatoes, veggies ect. By the third day the food gets a little boring. Do not go to the Al-Cartes (?spelling) they are horrible, we left in the middle of dinner and went to the buffet. The one good thing was they had a fresh omlette bar every morning, which was fabulous!!!

Entertainment - There is ALWAYS something going on, sometimes I felt like I was attending a day camp! - Manny was super nice and always put a smile on everyones face, Hi Manny!!!! There is water arobics twice a day at the pool, and the music changes to very loud and very energentic, it was a little much at time since I was wanting to take my afternoon siesta :)

Overall great relaxing vacation, and we met amazing new people!!! We would go back again if the price was right!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Lisa D.

It is very gratifying to know that you have had an amazing vacation at our hotel. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we truly appreciate your comments.

Be sure that we will take note about your remark regarding the variation of the food.

We feel proud that our employees made your vacations marvelous. We will congratulate Manny, for his great job.

Thank you for sharing your opinion at this web site. We hope to see you soon

Best regards form all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Winfield, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife treated me to the Grand Paradise for my 50th B'day present from 2/11-2/18/13, and we had a fantastic time. By far, they had the best beach we've ever been to. During the day, we spent our time enjoying the warm sun and ocean, with frequent trips to the pool to enjoy the activities or games. In the evening, we enjoyed Michaelangelo's for our dinner, where the food was outstanding. Other days we had the buffet, where they had a very good variety. Everynight the entertainment crew would put on a different show, all of which were hilarious. Manny was the funniest, but Donkey and Happy Man were very good also. The snorkeling was my favorite! Reefs right off of the beach, with so many beautiful fish! We've paid for snorkeling on many vacations, and none could compare with the Grand Paradise, and best of all, it was free!!! This was definately a memorable trip, and my wife and I wouldn't hesitate to return for another vacation. All the staff was very courteous, from the house keeping to the security. Antonio in security was especially friendly! Thank you everyone at the Grand Paradise for making our vacation a great one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dem104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Dem104

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your vacations at our hotel. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate.

We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that we were able to provide you with a great stay.

Thank you for writing your experience and for choosing our resort for celebrating your birthday. Please be sure that we will congratulate Manny, Donkey & Happy Mann for their hardworking.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Best regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

stayed at the grand paradise playa dorada january 14 to the 21st. It was a good time. The food was average, the weather was nice. The beach was nice too. The animation was ok. The only one i really think did a great job was Manny. The rest were either rude or ignored you unless you spoke spanish. Super Joe was good too. The shows were good and it was quite loud till pretty late. Would i go back there no i would not. I would try another hotel like the riu merengue which i have gone quite a few times. I have to say the view from the restaurant is marvelous but thats all it has. I think if they change some of the staff and food it would be a better vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This January we took our two boys (7 & 3)on our first all inclusive family vacation. WE HAD A BLAST!!!
The food was good, the entertainment was good, the resort was wonderful and the staff was perfect. Manny one of the entertainment co-ordinators was very nice and was always trying to get the kids involved.
The buffet restaurant and the snack bar were great, the kids always found something they liked. Our dinner server that we had every night was Sheila (chella) and my youngest som took quite a shining to her....he still askes when are we going back to see Sheila. The manager Alcides was very nice and always checking on us. If I could remember everyones name I woud give them all recongnition here as they were all great. but Sheila was our Favorite. We met some great people who were also from Canada and have kept in touch with them. My husband says when we look for another vacation he would consider this one for sure!!
Another great thing was there is a kids pool but there is also a childrens section connected to the adult pool so you do not feel secluded!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We are having a marvellous time here. Everyone here is extremely friendly and helpful. I don't understand the adverse comments made, I think if you treat these very hard working people decently you will be reciprocated. This is our 4th time here at this hotel and would return again. The entertainment crew is marvellous, especially Happy Boy, who we have gotten to know quite well and enjoy his company.
Sylvia S

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

this is a little hotel, but the view at meal time is wow....My review is for the great help my hubby and I got.I took sick on the 5th day...7 am: doctor does not come to the room..so they decided to wheelchair me to the lobby and then a cab to the clinique...wow what service....Julio took charge...translating...advising and even came back to get us at the clinique after receiving very good care..Intravinus,antibiotic..and within 30 mins.wow thank you all.... lise trip feb.1 to 8 .2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Property: Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing