We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, friendly service !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was our first time at the resort and the experience was very nice. Its was clean and the rooms were properly maintained. The staff was awesome. Their friendly and helpful nature was excellent. They went out of the way to make sure everyone are enjoying . The evening entertainment was always full of suprises..The team with Fresita and Donkey and Happy were very entertaining . These are fanastic memories to take back and hope to return again soon.Their dancing moves were super fun.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are more fun .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Sunny V.

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your vacations at our hotel. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property.

It is pleasant to know that we were able to provide you with a great stay. We are thankful for writing your experience and for choosing our resort for your holidays. Please be sure that we will congratulate Fresita, Donkey & Happy boy for their great job.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 3,286 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have been to puerta plata 11 times and punta cana 9 times so I have seen the good the bad the and awesome. Booked into the grand paridise on a last minute holiday. The price was ok but here are my comments for the rest of the resort.
1. reception staff are no help for any reason they always find a reason why they cant help you with your request. Took my 73 year old mother and they put us in an attack room 4th floor and a winding stairs case and she has a steel knee and could not walk the stairs it took 2 days to change rooms finally after calling my travel agent at home and she got that fixed. Front desk staff 1 star.
2 Food> Love the food in the Dominican but at this resort the food was not very good at all the best meal we has was the night we had to leave . food would be a 2 star at best
3 rooms After they moved us I can say the room was ok they only give you 1 room card very difficult if more than 1 person per room. rooms were clean but need alot of work to udate them to help the hotel make its 4 star rating.You had to ask for remote for tv and they never had at front desk.
4.Bars - service was always great at every bar and the bartenders were very very friendly and service was fast. 5 stars
5. Entertainment staff: every staff member that works on this team are utstanding and they go the extra mile to make every person feel welcome and try to get them involed no matter what your age was. We travelled as a family mother ,my wife and adult kids 21 and 22. I want to send a special thanks to the entertainment staff especially Donkey for taking the boys off the resort on his own time to show the boys the nite life of puerta Plata and let them party with the locals and other vacationers .Thanks Donkey you went above and beyond your job.
6.Overall resort - The resort was clean but need more help around pool cleaning upempty glasses that people are to lazy to pick up them selves.Swimup bar is normally a great place to hang out in the mid afternoon but not this one as the water in pool is very deep for most people and there is never any sun near have of the pool it selve to sheltered by the buildings.Seats at this bar were broken and nobody hung around here because no sun at all need to change something there.
7. Like I said I have been to puerta plata 11 times and I can honestly say that I have not stayed a resort which had as many issues as this one did and everyone that talked had the same complaints was having most of the same issues could be fixed but they will have to spend some money on this resort to bring it up to a 4 star rating.Take this review as you will but I normally ignore most bad reviews but i have travelled to this island way to many not to give my honest opinion on this resort.I hope they spend the money this could be a great resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigroggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Bigroggo,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments which are for us a real feedback. We are committed to providing the utmost in customer service and we appreciate when our clients take the time out of their busy schedules to make us aware of their bad and good experience of their holidays.

We feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation; we are taking proper actions to improve those areas that you reported.

Our main priority is to feel our guests welcome and become their allies during their treasured vacations. We can guarantee you that the negative issues that you experienced do not represent the culture and tradition of service in our resort.

We encourage you to visit us again and show you the changes we have made. We will congratulate Donkey for his great job.

Thank so much again for allowing us to improve, sincerely apologize for any unfortunate inconvenience.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I traveled with my wife and two children, 16 & 19 year olds. We left on CanJet which was very efficient and to our surprise supplied a hot meal both ways, even though returning our flight was leaving after 10:00pm. We were there from the 5th to 12th January 2013.
On arrival there was no problem finding the coach that took us to the resort. I headed directly to the check in desk as I had read that it could be slow. I was second in line and after check in there was a long line behind us. Not sure how long it would take to check every one in as there was only a couple of staff to handle check in. A pre packaged check in with keys pre made a map of the resort and short information welcome letter would speed up check in and be very helpful. The resort looks like maize on arrival but after a couple o days is easy to navigate.
Our tour company gave a very informative introduction to events and available activity the following morning and have to be complemented on the Volley ball tournament and disco night they hosted on the beach for our group. It was very well done and a lot of fun.
I was not happy with our room that had a view of the roof in front of our two rooms. After a couple of requests we were moved to the 3rd floor facing the pool. Both our new rooms were very expectable. The maid changed the towels, bed every day and washed the tile floor in the bathroom, bedroom and balcony each day. We had a large bottle of water and pop put in our fridges each day.
I found the resort very clean, the staff could not have been friendlier and the food was more than standard for the price paid. There was always a great selection of salads, fruit, deserts, and multiple choices on the buffet and cooking stations. There was red & white wine, that left a little to be desired, but this is a coffee region not a wine region. There was always water, beer, soft drinks and tea & coffee available at all meals. They were very fast in seating you at the buffet and ensured that everyone was dressed appropriately , pool cover ups and no wet swim suits.
There was always lots of activity to get involved in with the entertainment staff. Although it was pretty basic games it was fun for those that participated. Manny was a great addition to their staff. He was pleasant, fun and engaged well with the guests. He is also a great dancer as many guests experienced along with my daughter. All of them worked long hours and put a lot of effort into their jobs and were all very friendly.
Although the beech vendors are on a public beach , not owned by the resort,if you venture out you will get pestered. They are not to be afraid of, this is their job and way of making a living and you should negotiate. “Almost free” can drop much lower if you are in the mood to negotiate. Once you have a tan you are not bothered as much!! If you are not interested say NO and they will walk by if you show the slightest interest they will try hard to sell to you. The beach is great to lounge on or go for long walks. If you don’t want to deal with the venders then stay by the pool.
I would say to those that trash this resort, you either havn’t travelled much or you set your expectations too high. If you want a butler go to Sandals or the Ritz Carlton, and be prepared to pay the price. This is my second visit to this resort, and yes it is older --- that’s why they got the best beach, but it is safe, clean and great value.

Room Tip: dont have pool side if you go to bed early. We had rooms overlooking the pool and bar and had no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PortColborneCsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Mike H.

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are very proud to read your thoughtful comments about your stay at our resort. It is rewarding to learn that we have set a standard of quality and service for you and your family. Be sure that your kind comments will be shared with Manny for his great job.

We all look forward to welcome back in the nearest future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just got back from our vacation to the resort and was an overall good experience. Grounds were nice, pool was clean. Hotel room was cleaned daily and sheets were also changed. Great ocean view and nice beach.

The pool side entertainment are awesome and very friendly. Very friendly with everyone and always making sure everyone is having a good time.

"Donkey" was awesome and was always willing to make sure you were having the best time during your stay. We decided to leave the resort to another club on the compound and "donkey" made sure to come with us and look after us.

He made it his goal to make sure we had one of the best weeks for a vacation and I can say that it was one of the best.

Only down note was that the bar fridge in the room was not stocked with any beer or anything (just pop and water) and the disco closes at 1:00 am every night.

Overall had a great week and will be back again soon!

Team alcoholics!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Taylor H.

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for your wonderful comments and for spending your holidays with us. It is obvious that you have enjoyed your stay as much as we did taking care of you. We are indeed delighted. We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

We are very pleased to know that our employees were one of the reasons that you enjoyed your vacation. We will congratulate Donkey for his hard work and performance.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

As this was my first trip in the Dominican republic I read a lot of reviews about this hotel. I can honestly say I had a great time everyone is very friendly. The room was clean and well maintained, the food was good, did not make us sick, and the entertainment was exceptional. The animation staff kept us laughing and were extremely friendly as well keeping us entertained with lots of activities. the beach is beautiful and a must see for all... i definitely recommend this beach resort :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jahaddad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Jahaddad,

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your vacations at our hotel. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it.

We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that we were able to provide you with a great stay. We are thankful for writing your experience and for choosing our resort. It will be a pleasure to welcome back in the nearest future.

Warm regards from all of us,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel was basic although rated at 4 star.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They would do anything for you.This is apart from the reception staff. They were unhelpful and unfriendly.

The best team was the animation team. They were great. Especially Friesita. She was a star.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Rozdarl,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are truly thankful for your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you had a delightful stay with us and also that you have had an enjoyable time with the company of our entertainment staff, we will be more than glad to share your comments with them. We will congratulate Fresita for her great work. We will take note about your remark regarding the behavior from the Reception Staff.

We look forward your next vacations at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our second time, first time they were still renovating and we enjoyed our trip, went on many day trips to learn about the people, culture and island. This time around we stayed on the resort to relaxe and that we did. The weather was a little up and down, but hey it happens and well, there was no snow, that was the important part. The food and staff were just as good this time. We enjoyed meeting the other guests. I know some people complained about the weather, I just have one thing to say about that suck it up, no one can control it, just enjoy it and be happy.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IKATY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $97 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing