We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Locals”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here a year ago and are now looking to go away again so I thought I would check out the reviews and see if anything had changed. Apparently not much.

I have to admit that we found the locals showing up on the weekend really did lesson our experience. They were everywhere and took over everything.

While we participated in the games all week and won nothing, the weekend came and it was the locals participaing and they were winning bottles of rum.

I must say though that the entertainment staff were all very accomodating and we had a lot of fund with them during the week.

Sure the food is nothing spectacular, but there was always something to eat and although the basics never changed there was something different everynight.

Our biggest problem during the whole week was with the Nolitour Rep. Believe me when I say that if you have a problem they will not help you. You are entirely on your own.

Not a terrible place, not a wonderful place, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask that you are not in the attic. Although we were told it was an ocean view you lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 10KAT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    1,022
    604
    301
    239
See reviews for
805
997
141
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Paradise Playa Dorada and enjoyed it very much! The two particular bar staff made it well worth it for me to stay. Their names are Jose Pilar and Henry Ventura, they were absolutely helpful and suggested a drink to tame my upset stomach and the drink worked!!! Thanks so much guys for making this trip worth while for me. I am definitely going back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have been several times in the grand paradise resort, with the attention of manager Roberto Ramos, has made me feel better than at home, excellent food, including drinks, entertainment all day, very good beaches, good price the package , I recommend everyone visit.

Room Tip: I likes the room in from of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reyesdhdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Grand Paradise, Playa Dorada twice now and being disabled myself, found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The bar staff were great, the restaurant staff were great, and the animation team fantastic, one name stands out above all others and that is BON BON, she was always willing to put herself out to help me and always had time for a chat

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 811Glyn_M_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel a few times,i have always enjoyed the experience good service and nice rooms.One of the bar staff Jose Pilar cant do enough to be of service and help in my view a number 1 assisstant in every way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having visited Playa Dorada over the last 10 years and staying in at least 6 different hotels we decided to try the Grand Paradise. We had an idea what this hotel was like as we had walked through the grounds and past it on the beach but we were totally unprepared for what basically amounted to a swarm of starving locusts descending upon us at weekends in the shape of dominican guests, please take note of this comment as beleive me this is no exageration ( all negative previous comments are correct about this hotel). To make matters worse for full paying guests the bar reaturants and entertainment staff blatantly and unashamedly give priority to the dominican guests and treat all other nationalities with total contempt. When the weekends are over the staff try to turn on the charm as they want tips.There is no comfort seating anywhere at night all chairs are plastic thats if you can find any available.
The room however was kept spotlessly clean and we had fantastic weather the the 14 days we were there, the veiws from the beach resturant are second to none but as this is the main and only eating place it is definitely not ideal expecially of a night when your getting eaten alive by bugs. For these reasons we have rated this as a 3 star,we would however revisit Playa Dorada again if the deal was right but never to this hotel at any price.
Hello to John and Irene from Wallasey and Barry and Debbie from Canada hope you got home safely all the best Mike and Lynne .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lynnemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our first bad experience was when we ordered a cocktail at the beach bar. The drinks were thrown together with such lack of care that it was difficult to tell one from the other. Most didn’t even contain alcohol. We were told that the 2 a la carte restaurants were closed for the week because there weren’t enough people registered to warrant their opening. Most of the activities were also cancelled for the same reason. When I asked the customer service rep to have my all inclusive fees reduced, I was told that wouldn’t happen. They had that right to open and close as they wish and it was RCI’s responsibility to communicate these changes to me.
The one remaining restaurant that was open was the beach buffet that offered the same food every day. Many people that we met were or had been sick from the food including ourselves. The weekends were over run by local folks that were allowed to stay at the resort for only a few dollars per day. That meant that the other “paying” tourists were paying an exuberant amount of money for the same facilities. The locals turned the resort into an animal house. The pool had food and cups floating and turning it into a disgusting milky color. Children were running unsupervised around the pool deck. The buffet restaurant was left filthy and people stuffed excess food into personal bags. I have never seen such pandemonium and unsanitary conditions as this. I will never return. I strongly suggest that you look for another resort that is not in such a bad state of decline.
Barry and Debbie (Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,196 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Property: Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Address: Complejo Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing