We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service great fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed January 30, 2010

There were 14 of us that stayed here. The service was just great. We had lots of fun with Ramon, who set us up with our a la cartes everyday. Jhoeny at the front desk, Ernesto at the front desk, Victorio at the beach bar, and the cooks. We had excellent weather, the food was good, never went hungry. The beach is a diamond in the rough. We had a ball. Received our rooms that we asked for. Doing some renovating. We had beach side rooms. Thanks for everything had a ball.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovethesun5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2010

we stayed at Celuisma from 01/21 to 01/28 with my wife, 5 and 1 years old children, room 1821 (one bed. suite)
Let me start with the outstanding service that i receive from every member of the staff, they all have a smile an possitive attitude during the day, t seams like they all enjoy their job.
Location: Excellent, 3 min. walking from the Playa Dorada plaza (bars, restaurants, night clubs, banks and much more)
Clieanliness: 9/10 beach, restaurant, lobby, room, the whole hotel except for the kids pool which should be cleaned more often
Food: 10/10 4 a la carte restaurants, unlike other resorts easy to make reservations, the mexican my favorite, the bufett, just delicious choices for every taste
Value: paid $750/all inc. per adult kids stay and eat free. worth every penny.
The hotel have a water dispenser on every building and baby cribs if required

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipecolombia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

This is by far, the best bang for the buck. The resort is going through some change over
in appearance since being taken over by the Celisuma chain. It is cleaning up very well.
About 50% of the rooms are now revovated and are great. Very clean, newly tiled and
painted. We asked for one of the newer rooms and Erma with Sunquest and Julio Luis
accomodated the next day. We were moved to building 11, just newly renovated and immaculate. Rooms were always cleaned, and even though a generous tip was left for
the cleaning staff, we were dissappointed that the little extras were not done. My wife
thought the towel art at other resorts and scented flowers on the bed were a nice touch. None of that happened here, but remember, you are staying at a 3 star resort.
The food was slightly better than other resorts. Every night had a theme in the buffet. Seafood one night, bar-b-que the next, romantic the next and so on. All very well done.
For the most part, a good variety of food was available. You won't go hungry. My best tip,
hook up with Chef Juhto at the beach bar. Tip him a few bucks and he'll look after you,
I never saw a more friendly and happy man than Chef! I was not overly impressed with
any of the ala cartes. The Italian was slightly better. The chef actually put some thought
and flavor into his dishes. The best was Kokomo's beach side grill, outside by the ocean.
For romantic atmosphere and quality of food, it was the number 1 choice.
I don't know where to begin with the animation staff. I have never felt more welcome nor
more comfortable anywhere I have travelled. These people turned a relatively good 3
star resort into a 5 star vacation. Thay are always upbeat, always happy and will always
stop by your table for a chat. A few that I need to specifically mention...Junior, Scobby Do,
Happy and Coco Loco were awesome. If you have kids, they WILL BE kept busy. Later in
the evening the all look after the adults too. From dancing to on stage fun, it was all great
to participate in, or just sit by and watch. No one was ever pushed into anything they
didn't want to do. For the 6 in our group, these guy's made our week, without a doubt!
As for the resort, the grounds are excellently maintained, except for the hot tub. They need
to clean more often and change the hours of operation. It closed at 8 pm! The beach was
raked clean every day, 2 or 3 times, as needed. With that said, ou'll find it hard to leave
the beach when you get there. It's beyond beautiful. The views are breathtaking. Didn't
much care being bothered by beach vendors, but a stiff "no thanks" chases then away.
Overall, your booking a 3 star which is attempting to upgrade itself to former glory, and doing a good job of it. Your going to be enterteined by a 5 star animation team. You
should never go hungry. If you want bang for the buck, try this out. You will enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caveman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

You can leave your troubles behind with this all inclusive resort since everything is provided for at a relatively low daily fee. I was happy that the food choices included many healthy items with a great variety of of fruits, vegetables, fish and chicken at every lunch and dinner. Breakfasts were great. Beef and pork were also plentiful at every meal along with breads and many deserts. There was always pasta, pizza, burgers, and fries as a back up in case you weren't happy with the seasoning or way one of the main dishes were prepared. The Mexican restaurant was superior and Italian restaurant was not for my taste. Food was not gourmet but much better than any buffet deal you can get in the U.S. Not to mention non stop alcohol with rum always in supply. Entertainment is scheduled almost all day and evening by delightful, energetic and friendly entertainment staff. The grounds are well kept and look like a botanical garden. The beach is impeccable and goes for miles. The PLUS part comes from the tours outside Playa Dorado. A sizeable country and distinct culture exist nearby. It's worth a visit to the nearby city's museums, factories, shopping areas, Cathedrals, parks and streets. Be prepared for real poverty including beggars, persistent shop keepers, bumpy roads, careless drivers and half starving dogs. The guides manage things well though and I always felt safe. The countryside has ranches offering national park tours, horseback riding, dune buggys, snorkeling etc. All are at a very reasonable price through the resort or other vendor. Golf, gambling, other restaurants, a disco and a shopping mall are all within the Playa Dorado Complex and within a short walking distance of Celuisma. Water World is a car or taxi ride away. I definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeminitravelerNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

I have visited this hotel many times before when it was Playa Naco and when they renamed it Celuisma Playa Dorada. I was impressed with the changes.

Rooms- I was in Building 11 ( room 1128) This was there newly renovated deluxe rooms. Great location as it was close to main building, pool and restaurant. Rooms very very large, and very clean.

Food- Food was great they always had good variety of foods and something for everyone!!!
No complaints on the food.

Service- outstanding. Everyone spoke english. Things were always fixed. The Nite manager Ferreira is great. He right away gave me a Jr. suite in the newly renovated builiding.

Be sure to ask for a room in the newly renovated buildings.

Great hotel, great location and most importantly great service.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timezone2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed at the Celuisma for a week with 14 friends and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff was excellent especially Jhoenny the manager who was so accomadating. The beach is fantastic, we love Victoriano at the bar and the restaurants were all wonderful. Great food, great hotel, great people. We will keep coming back. We have already planned our 5th trip to this hotel in March. Definately recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank partypeopleOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This place far exceeded my expectations. The manager, Ramon, who welcomed us personally was often walking around talking to guests asking how their stay was and that really impressed me. This care didn't stop with him but started at checkin with Orlando 2 right through to the servers, animation (Scoobie Do), grounds keepers to maids.

We had a suite (1822) with the balcony overlooking the beach which was huge with space in the bedroom for them to set up a complimentary single bed since there were 3 of us and only the king size bed and pull out couch. The living/dining area was also large and fully renovated with lovely tile, new curtains and a comfortable couch and chairs. The bathroom did not have a tub but the water was always hot and if there were any problems the maids were very helpful in fixing it. There was a little fridge in the kitchen area with a water container to get purified water from the cooler on the first floor.

The food was good with variety and my favorites were the fruit smoothies in the morning, the guacamole and salsa which I would love the recipe for, and the turkey which was better than any I've ever made. The desserts are typical of the island with lots of cakes which I am not fond of - it would be nice if they had some ice cream as an option.

The Playa Dorada beach is wonderful with miles of safe walking and swimming. My one complaint is that with all of the storms when we were there that the seaweed and garbage that washed ashore was not cleaned up very quickly in several areas along the shore. There is the orange market only a short walk away where you can find all sorts of fun things to buy or you can buy from the guys that sell directly on the beach. They are not pushy but offer you their necklaces, t-shirts, carvings etc and if you are not interested they move on to the next person.

The resort is very close to the mall in the complex of hotels and offers many stores, a few coffee shops, a pizza place, bank and ATM's which give you Dominican pesos. I am not a huge shopper but one of my favorite shops is on the second floor and is called The Grand Factory where Alfredo will show you some lovely jewelry and stones which he will use to make you a custom piece for a very good price.

We went to Puerto Plata by taxi for only $35 round trip for 2-3 hours and split the cost between 5 of us which made it very affordable. This is safe way to see the sights as the drivers are selected and only some are permitted to be in the complex.

That's it and I hope you will enjoy the Celuisma as much as we did.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 40 in Puerto Plata
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 72000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $140 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA The Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada guarantees you a unique beach holiday in one of the most complete and welcoming All Inclusive hotels in Puerto Playa, Dominican Republic. Specialized in weddings and events on the beach, this hotel is the perfect setting for some unforgettable holidays. Located in the amazing Playa Dorada, 5 km away from Puerto Plata, this hotel for weddings in the Dominican Republic offers endless customized services and state-of-the-art facilities for events: spa, swimming pools, nearby golf, water sports, parties, restaurants... Discover one of the liveliest hotels in Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Tropical Playa Dorada
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing