We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations - Favourably impressed!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Ste. Emelie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations - Favourably impressed!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I am glad I did not let the negative comments on this site allow me to deprive me of one of my best travel experiences ever. And I am as experienced a traveler as they come. I have been to just about every Caribbean island and Central American country.

The location is great, the resort is well laid out and offers everything you would need to have an enjoyable vacation. The staff is second to none when it comes to trying to please its guests in every way. They definitely DO CARE about their guests. For what it's worth, keep your "free rating" where it belongs.... I strongly disagree with the negative comments regarding the management. I spoke to most of he ones that count and found them easily to be more accommodating than one would find back home. (I speak their language),

Their extra effort to serve some breakfasts and suppers on the beach in the open tropical air deserves special mention. What their animation staff may lack in talent they more than make up with their most exceptional enthusiasm. The lovely Esmeralda and the very lively Esther deserve special mention here. They could lower the volume of their amplifiers a bit but I carry hearing protection for just such eventualities.

This is not a brand new resort but it is very well kept, grounds and all. For 2 weeks I stayed in one of the older rooms in block 21 and it was very clean, serviceable and never lacked anything of importance. Once I did not get my daily drinking water bottles and the "management" immediately corrected the situation. The maid personally apologized the next day saying she had just run out. Whoever would complain about that sort of thing had better stay home and clean their own rooms and toilets.

The food all around was very good with lots of options and variety. There was always plenty of fresh fruit, much better than I had experienced in a 5 star resort in Cuba. They will make your eggs or custom omelette right in front of you and the servers fall all over themselves to serve you cafe, juice or whatever if only you show some kindness, perhaps a smile and some appreciation. They really work very hard and do not seem to mind. The odd tip helps but really is not necessary. Attitude is more important than anything - you get back what you give - manyfold.

This resort offers very good value for what you pay. The set up is more personal and family like compared to other fancier resorts. It was easy to meet and speak to anyone, guests or staff. The Dominican people are their country's greatest asset and this is a great place to meet some of them and have a wonderful vacation at a fantastic beach location.

I can't wait to be able to go back and would recommend this place to any reasonable and realistically thinking person.

Peter

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    412
    274
    176
    301
See reviews for
407
401
78
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here in February had a fab time place was lovely staff great big shout out 2 Augustine (blue) he was amazing!!!helpfull & great animation hope 2 come back again thank you...& Carnt wait 2 come back such a relaxing time plenty of fun..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kunli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Best resort ever !!! Great staff and great fun !!!! Big Thanks goes out to Agustin,Blue he is the best animator he really made my week !!!!! Weather was great. Food was great !! Loved everything. Will be back for sure !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barchar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

As part of my employment, I rate customer service in businesses.
Celuisma here is a free rating for you.
This resort has all the amenities one should have and is clean, but every area is poorly managed.
They DO NOT care about the guests. They just do what they have to, to get by.
SHAME ON YOU MANAGEMENT Because you could have a good thing going with this resort.
They allow the same people to keep their stuff under the shade hutt on the beach for a week.
They run out of glasses and serving utensils and pasta ingredients at the buffet. Managers stand there but won't even pick up a napkin off the floor. They walk right past it.
The El la cartes are there but They have JUNK salad Bars, they don't have all stuff that is on the TINY menu for each one and the waiters don't don't care. No drink offered from the type of El la cart, no music, etc....
They run out of Alcohol at both the bars twice when we were there.
No bath mats.. and so on.
We had 5 issues wrong with our room and they gave us another room which was worst then the first. A great tactic. Needless to say we kept the first.
Almost all the problems were Just bad Management, not caring about their guests.
FYI The beach chairs have been mostly recovered and are nice now.
management, Thanks for letting us know on TRIPDADVISOR that you were going to get these done when people complained about them.
Hope this helps

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

i like how Evelin act with my families she is very nice and friendly. Evelin is a good worker and at night i like the show cause they are good. Can't wait to go back to see everyone again. i will be going soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were nervous about trying this hotel but the price was right and I knew that the sun would be hot so off we went. We were disappointed in a couple of things but overall we had a great time! The pool was clean, the beach beautiful and the staff....in true DR way, was wonderful.
The one complaint that I have is the lack of hot water in the room for showering. At best it was Luke warm...other than that it was great. We ate at the buffet breakfast lunch and dinner. We were not disappointed. Lots of choices and good. The dessert table was always full and those Dominicans sure do know how to make the sweets!
We did two excursions while we were there. We did the City Tour which was a great way to see the locals plus this included the cable car to the top of the mountain. Amazing view....well worth the crowded cable car! Our guide, Nelson, was out of this world. He was so friendly and took such good care of all of us. We have a 4 year old boy and he gave him such great attention that my son kept calling him "his buddy". We made sure we gave him a good tip...
We also travelled out to Paradise Island. This is worth doing.....sandbar in the middle of the ocean. Fresh fruit, drinks, snorkelling ....it was amazing.
We had a fabulous time and would go back tomorrow. One thing travellers should know is that 5 minutes around the corner from hotel is a mall. This resort is located in what seems to be a gated community so you are free to leave the resort and walk around. At the mall you will find restaurants, shops for gifts, hair/nail salons and a great structure for young kids to play on. There is also a booth over there that sells excursions. We found the price much better over there and this is where we booked our Paradise Island tour. We paid $55 per person and the little one was free!
Overall....it was a wonderful holiday. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was very nervous going to this resort because of all the horrible reviews on here. We went last week and so glad we did. The staff was wonderful they try so hard to do or get you anything you need, our room in building 14 was very nice yes we missed our towels but oh well, the entertainment was entertaining but they def tried. I loved the beach breakfast, the food was not as bad as people say we ate at all the restaurants and buffet. While there we did funny bikes, horse back riding, went to the top of the mountain, did the rum & cigar factory tours thank you to Brooklyn for setting it all up for us. I could go on and on but am very happy we didn't listen to all the negativity and would go again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JHHougasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
0.4 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Property: Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 72000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA The Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada guarantees you a unique beach holiday in one of the most complete and welcoming All Inclusive hotels in Puerto Playa, Dominican Republic. Specialized in weddings and events on the beach, this hotel is the perfect setting for some unforgettable holidays. Located in the amazing Playa Dorada, 5 km away from Puerto Plata, this hotel for weddings in the Dominican Republic offers endless customized services and state-of-the-art facilities for events: spa, swimming pools, nearby golf, water sports, parties, restaurants... Discover one of the liveliest hotels in Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata: book a hotel at the best price, only here, on the official website of the Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Tropical Playa Dorada
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing