We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I have visited this resort many many times and we love it. This is a very traditional, average Dominican resort. It is not eloborate or fancy. We feel it is like going to the cottage. It is a simple affordable vacation.
As for the Complainers out there- I must say this, if you want to have a red carpet, champagne vacation, please do not go there. Spend more money and go elsewhere. Quit ruining everyone elses vacation with your complaints. Shame on those who think that a economically challenged country can provide you with as much or more then what you have in North America or Europe. Give your head a shake and realize what is happening here.
There is plenty to eat and food is good. There is plenty to drink . The sun shines bright and the beach is clean and beautiful. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Building 11, 12 and 13 are okay. 14 is for the Vip members. The centre of the resort is all under co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank CanadianBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

This resort plays on Canadians acceptance of adverse situations. They will put Canadians and nobody else next to the noisy stinky generators, after a day or two of vacation wasted on complaining they will give you a different room, you move yourself. The second room will have no hot water. Again after two days of being promised hot water or a new room you will again need to move yourself to a new room. This room will have sewage leaking through the ceiling ( I have photos). We wasted a week of a 14 day stay changing rooms. Of course it is your fault if you miss the forever absent manager to approve the room change. This was only the room troubles. In addition they are trying to make this dump into a time share although they use a different title (Forest beach club). If you ever been ticked at pestering by beach sellers, try warding off time share sales staff inside the resort. Every time one of the many see you it is hard sell time. Then the poor people who bought into this mess find that if they suck you in they will get a extra free week. There is no rest from fellow vacationers or sales staff. We stayed there in 2012 and were told that due to renovations things were a mess. So we went back.. stupid me... in 2013. the above info is about the 2013 stay. The food had become worse in 2013 and the alcohol was sans alcohol. We purchased our own bottle at the plaza. Now the Playa Drrada plaza was a treat, great shopping and people to match. The orange and blue markets were a rip. This year we booked 200 meters down the beach at the Grand Paradise. I will let you know how is is. Many of our friends will NOT go back to the CELUISMA.

Rhys Rissman

Room Tip: If you pay for a superior or ocean view room and do not get it, DON'T wait to change, take your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We travel, that is what we do. We spend many days in hostels, hotels and resorts. We have stayed in two star hotels and had a wonderful time. This hotel was not what we expected. The pictures that are being show here are not what you will get when you get then.

To start: This was suppose to be a renovated superior room. First off our sliding doors would not latch they did fix that. Our phone didn't work we requested for that to be fixed it was fixed two days before we left (we were there for 10 days). The hangers were rusty metal hangers and nowhere to put your close, no dresser nothing we had clothes everywhere which is not really something you like that have to do for 10 days. The great wall headboards they put up are horrible, they put the electrical outlets through them but they are not mounted on the wall correctly and when I plugged my laptop in the side headboard fell off and almost hit me. Can't imagine what would have happened if the headboard over the bed fell

the room was disgusting. The bathroom was not clean when we got there, we cleaned it ourselves the first night and it was never cleaned again accept the floor once in a while. Repeatedly we had to ask for towels that were taken from the room and not replaced. We lost hot water for three days and nothing was done when we asked to have it fixed we had to get our tours guide to tell them to fix it. Our shower head was the worse you had to move around in hopes of getting water to clean off. We asked for this to be fixed too but nothing happened.

The bed was ridiculous. it was the most disgusting bed I have ever had to sleep on. It was dirty and stained the worse thing is that we looked at it and then had to sleep on it. The springs were going right through the top of the mattress the first two nights we didn't sleep. We requested a topper or a change of mattress nothing happened. We ended getting pillows to make our own pillow top bed for me so I could sleep with bad hips and back this bed literally caused me so much pain. We requested an extra blanket and got a sheet so we ended up sleep with our airplane blankets. The bench and chair left in our room were also disgusting as they were white and never cleaned.

The air conditioner worked well except it sounded like a transport coming through our room every time it turned on, needless to say we didn't sleep with the ac very often as we just kept getting woken up. We asked for this to be fixed.... never happened.

A light was burnt out in our bathroom we requested it to be replaced... seriously you can replace a light... nope never happened.

And this was just the room.

The food was bland and many times just gross, I ended up eating at the pasta station every night... awesome 10 nights of the same pasta. The salad bar was not always stocked the hot food was taken care of but salad bar was often empty and didn't get refilled until later most times after I was already done eating.

The sun beds was gross as well. I get it they get dirty and that I accept but what I was annoyed with was they were so stretched out that you were sitting on the bars of the chair. They were falling apart either plastic broken, or the string holding the canvas on was broken.

Do I recommend this property, if you want to meet a few nice people that work there, then sure if you want a nice place to stay don't.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CDPenorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been staying at this location for the past five years.The staff are excellent and very friendly. The food has , over the years ,become below standards.This hotel is virtually empty of tourists of late and caters to local people from nearby cities to fill rooms and pay bills. This last time there was only eighteen tourists using the facility. Almost deserted.We have decided to use another location for our vacation Jan 16/14.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank garyemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

entered with a night pass. food was very well presented and also a delight for the "paladar"
wine was all right but nothing to write home about
at the bar after dinner the barman instead of saying the he run off of the spirit i was drinking just went to the backroom and refilled the glass with a very poor counterfit

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank kraal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I´m back at Celuisma where I intend to spend a couple of months. So far, management is doing an excellent job changing the culture of the place, the service, and many things. the GM Julio is demonstrating fabulous leadership on many fronts, Carolina Rosario, the Director of VIP relations is outstanding energetic and effective Director and leader-by-example, Carmen the # 2 in-charge is fabulous innovator and effective executive, night manager Ferreira is a hands-on manager and gets things done, and the staff are watching the management team energy and acting accordingly. It is contagious . The improvement is going on and is very noticeable as compared to last year where I spent 3 months. SADLY, the Restaurant has not moved foreward. it is in desperate need for an effective leaderhip who truly understands the business can change things such as the menu, the quality of food and cooking in general, rather than just show up and play the me-too game. The food is a critical part of client satisfaction and if things do not improve noticeably, nor will the reservations! I shall provide a comprehensive report in a couple of months as I assess the real Value for clients´money, and real change.

Room Tip: rooms are being renovated and getting up there. The furniture is a different story, bot nonetheless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EliGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos85, Director Comercial at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Sir. We really sorry that yor stay with us have not been totally pleasant, we aprecciate your comments. Our goal is to get the total satisfaction of our guest, we are working to take all the measures in order to bring the best services every day. Please don´t hesitate to call us if you want to talk about this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A little later than planned but back in this hotel for vacation.

This is for an average budget experience in general if you're not fussy you'll be more than ok. Quality of service is as good as always, really good people, in and out the facilities.

The weather and beach were terrific, hard to get tire of spending the day relaxed near the sea, jaja, drinking some 'mamajuanas'. This time my room had an exquisite view, highly recommended if you want to make a little extra spending on the upgrade, by the way, the beach is just a few steps for almost every room on the buildings. Clean, cozy, serves its purpose, again is entirely consistent level with the price.

Animation is always innovating, introducing new shows and new games during the day, is never boring!

To complement, you must seize the nearby attractions that are really something different, ecological, lots of nature, and some adrenaline if you like the extreme experiences.

Definitely be back the next holidays! Kite surf: I'll be back! Highly recommended! Hasta la vista amigos!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 40 in Puerto Plata
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 72000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $149 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA The Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada guarantees you a unique beach holiday in one of the most complete and welcoming All Inclusive hotels in Puerto Playa, Dominican Republic. Specialized in weddings and events on the beach, this hotel is the perfect setting for some unforgettable holidays. Located in the amazing Playa Dorada, 5 km away from Puerto Plata, this hotel for weddings in the Dominican Republic offers endless customized services and state-of-the-art facilities for events: spa, swimming pools, nearby golf, water sports, parties, restaurants... Discover one of the liveliest hotels in Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Tropical Playa Dorada
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing