We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful destination, hotel is good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The great attraction of this hotel is its beautiful beach, good service, and great animation team. The food is good, lacks a bit of variety in the dishes but recommended. The rooms are in good condition, has all the services and it is important that it is functional.

Exit to the surroundings is great, lots of vegetation, tours and fun in a variety of activities: buggies, horseback riding, mountain with spectacular gardens, not to mention the city and its history ...

Definitely recommended for the price, it's totally fair and pleasant.

Room Tip: Standard suites are large and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in nov/2013. This is the worse hotel. if you are looking for prostitutes you can stay at this hotel, but if you respect yourself and want a nice and pleasant holiday DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL !. this hotel SHOULD NOT BE RATED AS FAMILY HOTEL. Since the very first day we arrived the atmosphere were very unpleasant. man and woman go to this hotel only with the purpose of getting all type prostitutes (man, woman, lesbians and gays). we saw many disrespectful acts specially in the pool area , those people (Dominicans) does not respect people around them not even kids, and they do everything in the pool, no respect!!! and the hotel allow all this....The washrooms very dirty, no toilet paper or hand towels, neither soap. no even one fire extinguisher in the entire building, no smoke alarms anywhere, no pool floats; only one pool and not suitable for relaxing as it is very deep everywhere. The food is poor and not many choices: same salad, rice, and bread the entire week. about the bar... which bar???????? was no bar !!!!!!! they call "bar" a table and 2 bottles of beer. every day was only supply of beer for couple of hours late in the afternoon they run out of beer and they do not offer anything else. and was exactly the same every day for the entire week. not even soft drinks or lemonade, they had nothing to drink the entire week. the animation was extremely bad, poor "it was not animation what so ever. " the only shows were with the lesbians and gays exposing themselves everywhere together with the prostitutes and her clients. this hotel is a disgrace, is horrible, terrible disgusting. this is the worse hotel I have ever seen in my entire life.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank mariposa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 14-21 October 2013.
In room 1927, I never saw one fire extinguishers anywhere in the buildings, neither were there safety information in the rooms or smoke alarms anywhere. Or green exit signs.

The food in the hotel is totally vile, lived of basic salad all week.
No information about the area or trips etc.
The shops the general store only opened once during my stay, the others remained shut.
The sun loungers at the beach all had holes in them.
My toilet had urine in it when i arrived, and my shower had a cockroach it it, my sheets were never changed all week.
The room had dreadful condensation in both inside the windows and out.
The wifi is horrendously expensive 60 dollars for a week.
The hotel needs a major makeover to bring up to habitable standards.
At the moment it should be closed down, and anybody with a booking should cancel and get a different hotel.
I spoke to the hotel manager about my concerns, but basically he didn't care, I also emailed him a list of my complaints, I haven't had a response , no surprise there.

DO NOT GO DANGER TO LIFE.

Room Tip: There's none go somewhere else the rating from above should say terrible but it wouldn't let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank essexcookie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

whow I spent 2 weeks there and won't go back, the food is not bad is very bad,no choice and if you choose the beef or the pork they where very tough,they had a salad bar but all the time they ran out of almost everything ,the room was not to bad but on weekend very noisy (full of Dominican)won't repeat for sure

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pierre l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

MUST praise Jose Rojas, who helped me finish and email some work I had pending, allowing me to use his work computer for over an hour when the internet center was closed on Sunday morning. Kudos to him, that's wht I call going the extra mile!!!
Like I said in the review title, if you or your party are the average turist looking to save a few bucks, then YES, this is a place for you, (because the beach and pool are fine) like most hotels in the area. However, if you're used to the higher quality food, accomodations and service, you must look elsewhere. We were "Member's or VIP Club", whatever they call it, and I can say that our rooms were decent (refurbished), even though the condition of the furniture was mixed, some a little beat up, and some was newer. We had access to the "Members only" restaurants, and the food was just average+. The buffet was average at best.

Room Tip: Get the VIP
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went there to celebrate my husband's birthday and what a shock after what we're used to in accomodations....The room was rennovated, I guess that's what they call it but everything was pretty rough...the furniture was beat up, the 2 beds in our room consisted of one with a broken boxspring so we settled for the other one, which was less V-shaped! As for the dresser, you had to hold up the drawers because they were all broken. The missing patio furniture on the balcony was also a let down. We had a fridge that came fully rusted and beat up inside, plus it wasn't stocked with anything, including water like it's supposed to be! At an all-inclusive, we had to buy our own water & beverages to stock our fridge on this resort! If they tell you they have in-room safes, just know that these are pretty old, not the kind where you use a digital pad and create your own combination, these are the ones from antique roadshows where you slip in your key & lock that you get from the front desk...really secure! This place is notorious for running out of stuff like: alcohol, garnishes (i.e. you ask for a Caipirinha but they can't because the hotel ran out of limes), coffee often runs out at meals including breakfast (yikes!). The food lacks variety and not that great. Stick to the beans and rice and you won't be disappointed or get sick! If you like dyed wieners, dry hamburgers and fruit sitting in the sun all day- every day, head for the beach buffet! LOL! My husband got sick off of some of the fruit at buffet, it was terrible, be safe take Dukoral or comparable preventative medicine before you go. The beach is nice but the loungers are pretty sad and beat up, if you want a good one, go early and save it!

We went through iTravel 2000/Nolitours/Transat for this trip, and I would advise you to be cautious if booking with them... They advised us that if we spent an extra $86 we could get an upgraded room which includes a balcony & fridge. So, trusting them, we did spend the money but only unfortunately realize once we got to the resort that all rooms came with balconies & fridges. Upon our return, we contacted iTravel 2000/Nolitours/Transat and explained that, after viewing 4 rooms we settled on one that was somewhat what we expected, because at this point we were exhausted from travelling & also of looking. We also expressed our concerns over the room & resort's condition, far below what we expected, and they offered nothing to that would make up for our troubles, not even offering us a refund for the upgrade cost! After years of loyalty to these companies, we saw just how much they value customers, so BEWARE!!!

YES THERE ARE SOME GOOD POINTS....STAFF! STAFF! STAFF! Especially Vancillio & Roberto at the bar! Although they ran out of most stuff, Vancillio (with Roberto's assistance of course!) definitely made sure there were limes for my Caipirinhas! Of course the minute these guys were off, my drinks were unavailable, guess what? they ran out of limes on those days! LOL

Another bonus is the beach is nice, but be careful, as you know the north coast can be a bit rough!! 5 Stars also go to the beach excursion vendors Ramone, Anna, and Jameson (think that's the last guy's name!) anyway, their excursions are the best prices...and these guys work long hours for little pay and they offer the best rates...they're the vendors on beach wearing white golf shirts that have a logo on the back with their excursion company's name. Don't worry about the beach vendors, if you don't want anything let them know, they'll leave you alone, they're just working...but you have to find the Monkey man, well you'll hear him coming..."I got the monkeeeeys"! He's a lot of fun!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank renee147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 and definitely wouldn't go back...Room was rennovated but furniture was beat up, good thing we had 2 beds in our room, one had broken boxspring and other one wasn't much better but at least the boxspring wasn't broken (i.e. didn't have a V-shape!). the dresser drawers were broken, balcony with no patio furniture, fridge was all rusted with broken drawers inside, safe was pretty old (get lock from front desk for it, not a combination/electric type). Hotel always ran out of stuff like cups for drinks, alcohol, no coffee in mornings often, beverages at buffet often run out, food always the same and not that appetizing...beef & pork was like eating a shoe! got sick off of some of the fruit at buffet...if you still plan on going here, invest in Dukoral. If you go to the beach there are lots of chairs but go early if you want a good one because majority of them are broken. Entertainment was cheesy, would have been better to have nothing at all.

We booked this trip with iTravel 2000 and the provider was Nolitours/Air Transat who encouraged us to get an upgraded room (incl: balcony & fridge) for an extra $86 only to find out when we got to the resort that the rooms all had balconies & fridges. iTravel's agent was the one who encouraged us to upgrade and when we complained to both iTravel 2000 & Nolitours about having to look at rooms 4 times by the time we found something close to what we thought we were paying for (since we were tired of looking at rooms by then after a long flight) as well as general complaints of the state of the room & resort...they did nothing to compensate us for our troubles, not even refund our $86. They basically brushed us off...after being loyal customers for years with these companies, this is the service they give their clientele.

Good points: All the staff, very nice people...especially bartenders like Vancillio & Roberto, these guys are awesome. Thank God for the staff and these 2 bartenders, that's what made our trip more pleasant because the resort was such a disappointment. Beach is nice, excursions are really good and best prices from Ramone & Anna (vendors on beach, you'll see them with the white golf shirts with Excursion company's logo on back). Lots of vendors on the beach but just let them know if you're not interested they won't keep hounding you...look for the "I got the monkeeeeys" guy, he rocks! You'll hear him coming!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa Playa Dorada
Emotions by Hodelpa Playa Dorada
#13 of 40 in Puerto Plata
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#37 of 40 in Puerto Plata
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 72000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: $138 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA The Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada guarantees you a unique beach holiday in one of the most complete and welcoming All Inclusive hotels in Puerto Playa, Dominican Republic. Specialized in weddings and events on the beach, this hotel is the perfect setting for some unforgettable holidays. Located in the amazing Playa Dorada, 5 km away from Puerto Plata, this hotel for weddings in the Dominican Republic offers endless customized services and state-of-the-art facilities for events: spa, swimming pools, nearby golf, water sports, parties, restaurants... Discover one of the liveliest hotels in Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Tropical Playa Dorada
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing