We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Puerto Plata
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,071)
Filter reviews
4,071 results
Traveler rating
2,545
982
358
109
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,545
982
358
109
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun club coco cafe windows buffet da mario pizza shop gaucho grill asian restaurant adults only section main pool great resort family vacation recommend this resort a la carte restaurants foam party kids club dominican republic other resorts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 4,071 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Great trip, great food, awesome beach views, amazing staff kind, very helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay incredible -jairo, starling, junior and many more!! Definitely recommend and will return to this resort for a future trip.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kyliemcdowell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape P, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

Dear kyliemcdowell123,

Thank you for choosing Sunscape Puerto Plata Resort & Spa for your recent vacation.
It was a delight to host you, we are happy to confirm that you had such a relaxing experience overall. It's good to know you liked the hotel and the exceptional service you received from our friendly staff, especially those mentioned. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We stayed for a week in January 2020. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very nice. We especially appreciated Juan Eduardo, Joel, Melissa, Anthony, Hugo & Nairoby! They made us feel very welcomed & taken care of.
The resort felt safe, which was a great relief travelling with 3 kids.
We were a bit naive in what to expect for food, but there was always enough to fill up on. Airport transferring was very smooth. Weber was very welcoming, kind & fun!

Room tip: The edge of the resort was quite loud. Presumably, more interior rooms closer to the core would be better for noise level.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherK1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape P, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear HeatherK1771

Thank you for choosing Sunscape Puerto Plata Resort & Spa for your recent holiday and providing us with your review. We are delighted to confirm that you found our grounds to be beautiful, and were highly satisfied with our services.
And the exceptional service you received from our friendly staff, especially those mentioned. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

My family and I stayed from January 10th until January 17th, 2020.

BAD: Upon arrival, we were put in the farthest room possible, in building #7. Conditions of this room were VERY poor. There was no power for several hours and even when sunny, was very dark. There was next to no view with some greenery, a fence and the local street. Both of the locks in the room were broken, so there was a concern for safety. The location of the room was terrible (right next to the Main Street) and due to the location, we were kept up all hours of the night due to base from the local club at the mall, buses and cars driving on the street, as well as multiple car alarms and shouting going on throughout the night. The next day (after arrival), we upgraded our room.
We found the staff to be just ok. There was the odd person to go out of their way to be especially helpful and friendly but for the most part, we felt the staff lacked personality.

GOOD: Though we weren’t happy about having to pay extra $ to upgrade our room, we are so happy that we did. The room was beautiful, clean, roomy, bright, great location, with added perks and with a beautiful view. Pay the extra $ to upgrade to the Sun Club...it was is totally worth it!
We usually go to bigger resorts, so we loved that this place was more on the smaller scale and everything was close by.
The food was delicious. We usually do get bored with buffets at resorts but we did find the selection to be decent and they do mix it up with different themes, including Mexican and Asian inspired choices. Though we wish there were more a la cart options, the options they did have did not disappoint.
The entertainment, superseded our expectations. The shows were excellent and the dancers were especially fun and friendly. Two individuals who really stood out to us and you should stop and talk to if you get the chance is Juan De Jesus, as well as the entertainment Supervisor, Edgar both who continually had a smile on their faces and always went out of their way to talk to us and make sure we were having a good time. We participated in most of the entertainment experiences, including dance lessons, pool aerobics, the cocktail party, Tacos and Margaritas party and of course the Disco at Castaways. So much fun and really added to the overall experience.
We did take advantage of the $109US Spa package and it was so worth it. Our service providers were Cristina and Alicja and they were absolutely wonderful. The massage was excellent and their service was exceptional.
We are more pool people but did go to the beach a few times. The beach was beautiful. Nice light sand and not too much debris, coming in from the ocean.
Overall, I would recommend staying at this resort but I would suggest upgrading your room to the Sun Club, wether family or Adults.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank AthenaC2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape P, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear AthenaC2323,

On behalf of the entire team, we would like thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience at Sunscape Puerto Plata.

We would like to express our thankfulness for your wonderful lines referring the beauty and the service of our hotel and the kindness of our staff. In Sunscape Puerto Plata we are committed to ensure our guests the best vacation ever.

It is a challenge for us making all our guests leave our establishment completely satisfied with what we offer and, that`s why we have shared those inconveniences you mentioned with management.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for those aspects you mentioned, which we are trying to improve.

Finally, we want to remain at your disposal to assist you in your next visit, that hopefully is going to be pretty soon.

Best Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

I really get a nice time in sunscape puerto plata i want to say thenk you to melissa,eladio,jeniffer,selenia,dorka, fron the boffet the food it was so good best service,and also alicia she give to me tbe best relaxing, the pool very clean, beach is my favorite i really enjoe this pleace!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Doliney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape P, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Dear Doliney,

Thank you for choosing Sunscape Puerto Plata Resort & Spa for your recent holiday and providing us with your review. We are delighted to confirm that you found our grounds to be beautiful, and were highly satisfied with our services.

And the exceptional service you received from our friendly staff, especially those mentioned. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

I had a really good time on my vacation. Between the flight, bus to and from the hotel, the hotel itself and everything inside the hotel. IE- food, drinks, staff, grounds. I have nothing bad to say about the resort. The Beach was good. Just a bit of sea weed, but nothing to be up in arms about. If I were to go back to Dominican, I would look at Sunscape for sure to book again.

Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank danzanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape P, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Dear Danzanzon,

We are so pleased you allowed our wonderful resort to be your holiday destination and we are very thankful for the time you have taken to share your experience.

It is wonderful to learn that your time with us met with your expectations and it has been a pleasure to read all of your great feedback.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews