We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beach”
Review of Cofresi Beach

Cofresi Beach
Ranked #14 of 63 things to do in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small beach has good views of Puerto Plata.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Beach”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I loved the temperature of the beach water during my stay. It felt like luke warm bath water. The downside was that the water looked a little murky and I'm not used to that when I go to the Caribbean. I like to be able to see my toes under the water which wasn't the case here. Also, this water had a few rocky dips so if you aren't careful you could hurt your toe on the way out of the water or even on the way in. This beach was okay but I've been to way better beaches. Also, I didn't like the fact that it wasn't really designed for you to be able to place your belongings on the sand while going into the water for a dip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dlowens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    88
    71
    29
    28
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
“Mickey Mouse, Shaggy and the animation team made it unreal!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

This was my second trip back to Cofresi within a months time... All because of these guys. Again the hotel staff were all polite and welcoming, recognizing me and my best friend right away. The rooms again were always kept clean and the food was just as good as the last time.

Mickey, Shaggy, Speedy, Julio, Rambo and Blackie all took the time to get to know a lot of the guests there this week and never ceased to try to get everyone involved. Always having a laugh and performing to their best potential made you see that's it's worth always having a camera ready for them, not knowing what would come next.

Mickey remembered us right away from our last stay a month ago and immediately welcomed us back, asking how the rest of our friends were and family back home. I said it last time and I'll say it again, this team is what brings people back.

The time and effort they put into their work, along with the same energy to perform and make friends is unreal. The animation team from the tropical was just as friendly. But I will say after all the beach volleyball, ring toss, and great dancing from this team at Cofresi, they have stolen my heart forever. They even went out of their way to make sure my birthday was unforgettable which I celebrated while there.

We will be returning a third time, with our kids this next trip, and have them meet these great hard working men.... Especially Mickey and Shaggy. Thanks again guys for some more amazing memories!!

Helpful?
Thank TMsrbnmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tuque, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnífico !!!!! ”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful trip ,always has the height it my place to dream ,My friends belong to Cofresi are extraordinary peoples .Everything is perfect .the Team of animation is the heart ,of this place ,your are simply the best to the World ,your are the joy of life of the place .Speedy,Shaggy ,Rambo
Mickey,Julio Blacki ,Have all my admiration for the good work non stop .Simon ,Edward ,Michael, the Bar Cheer you will make dance, all evening long Thank you for magnificent smile and service ,Thank you ,you are peoples Super,The number 1 of the Animation Speedy, The number 1 of de bar Cheer Simon .I give 5 Stars to the Hotel ,and I would tell 10 on 10 to all ,to which make of our stay of more pleasant .Muchas Gracias xxx Hasta Pronto !!!! MC.MC Speedy you are fantastic you are the heart of the team of animation .Speedy tu devoción es completamente increíble ,Julio you are super xxxxx

Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a very nice condo near Lifestyles and went to this beach a couple times. Not the best in DR but still beautiful nonetheless. If you're staying in the area with no transportation, it's worth the visit. If you have a car, drive on down to Cabarete or Sosua.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank robynesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Beach”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

There are some vendors but politely say no and move on, they usually remember you and don't bother again. One little old man sells almonds and cashews he is so cute 79 years old!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chinitacolombiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cofresi Beach also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Cofresi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing