We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Museum

Amber Museum
Book In Advance
$50*
and up
Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride
Ranked #11 of 58 things to do in Puerto Plata
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This two-story Victorian museum holds the largest collection of amber in the world.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The amber museum is a good addition to the visit to town. It was amazing to see all the amber found off the coast.

Both me and my o/h enjoyed looking round as neither of us realised the Dominican produced amber.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ESS1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    153
    211
    51
    38
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Short Look n' See”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just a little interesting. Its a pretty fast walk through. Small museum with lots of insect covered amber and vegetation. Nothing really spectacular. If amber is your thing then you will enjoy. Not a top notch type of museum. Looks like a high school science fair set up.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank IceBlizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinbeck
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“City Tour Amber Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was part of a city tour that we took. I wasn't sure if the jewelry was a bargain but we did purchase something.I personally wouldn't make a special trip to see it but it was part of the city tour we took.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this was worth going to as it was quite educational and interesting. you can take photos as long as you don't use your flash

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Museum ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Don't buy anything from the jewerly shop in that Museum. I have bought two pieces and both have some spoilage.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank marhcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber Museum also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Amber Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing