We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
146
24
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
146
24
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosquito net dominican republic outdoor shower other guests bring earplugs private bathroom fun hike coffee farm eating habits dominican food couple nights cold shower light sleeper breakfast and dinner all inclusive resort an excursion accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was blown away by the kindness, courtesy, and warmheartedness of the staff, the accommodation and the view, and the magic of the chef who made me the most incredible vegan dishes I have had on this island! And I did a fantastic birding tour with their guide. This place should be so much better known than it is! Can't recommend it highly enough!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank NadjaS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

We planned our stay at Tubagua as an anniversary “escape” from the hustle and bustle of Sosúa. Tim was such a gracious host, reserved us a private en-suite casita for us and had a surprise dessert for our anniversary! The views down to the coast are spectacular, grounds are natural and lush, casitas are clean and welcoming! The food was incredible. Lunch and dinner are served family-style: delicious, fresh and abundant. And large breakfast made to order! My only recommendations to future guests are: bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper: traffic, roosters and dogs do interrupt the calm of Tubagua. And get good directions ahead of time- no signs on the main road.
All in all, an amazing, unique and memorable experience. Thank you Tim and staff!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SWretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

My teenage daughter and I stayed in a casita here for five days. It was a wonderful experience. Tim, the owner, is very thoughtful, and Miguelina, the Manager, is a genius at managing things. The food was great. The views are amazing. This is not an all-inclusive tourist hotel where one is removed from the community, but rather a place where you can and should learn a little bit about where you are staying. The casitas are sparse and perfect in their integration within the environment. Take the hike to the secret waterfall! You won't find this anywhere else. My daughter and her friend, who also visited with her mother, will remember this visit forever.

Room tip: The casitas are all really amazing. Other accommodations seem perfect for adventurous backpacker types -- younger people on a budget.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

Great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the City. Tim and his staff are very helpful. The accommodations are clean and comfortable and all have open sides to the beautiful view of the valley all the way to the ocean. We dropped in for lunch with a number of friends. Some brought their own liquor, some purchased liquor. The meal was delicious at a reasonable price. If we were staying overnight we would bring our own food and drinks, which is totally acceptable.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betts P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Our third visit to the ecolodge and it was still fantastic! New Casita with king sized bed, loft with two twins, full private bathroom and beautiful views of the coast line. Had three great meals, a great bird walk, and lots of attention from all the staff.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sabgkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews