We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
146
24
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
146
24
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosquito net dominican republic outdoor shower other guests bring earplugs private bathroom fun hike coffee farm eating habits dominican food couple nights cold shower light sleeper breakfast and dinner all inclusive resort an excursion accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 177 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Our third visit to the ecolodge and it was still fantastic! New Casita with king sized bed, loft with two twins, full private bathroom and beautiful views of the coast line. Had three great meals, a great bird walk, and lots of attention from all the staff.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sabgkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I came to Tubagua on March 9th, 2019. We didn’t stay at Tubagua Ecolodge but we did a lot of research and it looked like they had the most unique, non-touristy tours in all of Puerto Plata. I emailed Tim (the owner) several months in advance asking about the tours they offered and he was always so quick to respond and answered all my questions quickly. We decided to do the Ancient Pathways tour. Tim even coordinated a car service for round trip transportation to and from Puerto Plata to Tubagua. The driver that drove us both ways made us feel very safe and told us a lot about the area. We were picked up from our hotel at 8:30am and then arrivedto Tubagua at 9:00am. We started our hike right away with Juanin. We hiked all around the countryside. Jaunin knew all the people living in the area and we would stop and talk to people and some would invite us in there houses. One lady offered us fresh mangos and another man beans. It was very cool to see how people in the Dominican countryside live daily. This is something you couldn’t see on a regular tour. The views are breathtaking and pictures don’t do it justice. Juanin was so knowledgeable and told us so much about the area. We past all sorts of local farms with cows, pigs and chickens. We met so many people on the hike and we felt so safe! Towards the end of the hike we ended at a series of natural pools with some small waterfalls! They are so amazing and we’ve never seen anything like them! Definitely worth the hike alone! Once we returned to Tubagua Ecolodge we had lunch. This was the best authentic meal we had our whole trip! If you do a tour here make sure you include lunch. We walked around the lodge itself and it’s so unique and peaceful. We will definitely stay at the lodge and do another tour next time we return. Overall, are guide Juanin was such a good guide and so friendly we felt like we could ask him anything. Juanin made the hike so enjoyable and this was our highlight of our stay in Puerto Plata. We hope to do return and do another tour with Juanin as soon as we can! If you’re looking for something very unique and non touristy I would do a tour through here.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ShannonMeyer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

As my wife and I traveled by rental car from Puerto Plata, we were very surprised how quickly the road to Tubagua rose above the surrounding landscape. When we walked into the Eco Lodge grounds we were thrilled to see all of the thatch-roofed buildings and the very open, expansive views from the main dining hall and our cabina. We especially enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the north coastline, and listening to the song of palm chats and hummingbirds. Being serenaded by a chorus of frogs and crickets was a special treat that we often dream about, and were able to experience at Tubagua.

Miguelina was the head of housekeeping, and she did a wonderful job of ensuring all of our needs were met. She arranged for our laundry to be cleaned, severed us meals, and helped set-up an excursion for us to visit charcos de los militares (not to be missed if you're there!).

We loved our stay at Tubagua so much we changed our itinerary so that we could spend another night there. We'll be sure to return there when we visit DR again!

Thanks

Room tip: The hut near the bottom of the property has a great view of the coastline.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

We spent two very restful days at Tubagua, sitting on the veranda looking over the valley to the ocean. The peace and quiet was a welcome respite from the goofy all inclusive resorts. The staff was wonderful with a warm welcome and cheerful service. We did the meal plan which I highly recommend, the home cooked meals were a great mix of fresh Dominican food. The bed in the open air cabana was very comfortable. Bathrooms are basic but the shower had hot water and an incredible view over the valley. I wish we had the time and energy to take some of the walks and visit some of the surrounding county side, something I plan on doing when we visit Tubagu again. Also if you need transportation ask for Luis he's a great driver and is full of information on the area.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ganeshhimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

We came to the Ecolodge for the lunch that was included in our fantastic nature hike package. What a surprise when we finally arrived! We found ourselves perched on the tiptop of the mountain with an amazing view of the distant mountains, valley and ocean. The lunch was delicious, with savory lentils, salad and a delicious flavored fish dish. For desert we had fried bananas with chocolate sauce and the best cup of coffee so far on the island. Visiting with the family cat and dog were an extra fun activity. Our hostesses were absolutely lovely.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews