We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An atmosphere of peace that can not be properly described through words or images.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An atmosphere of peace that can not be properly described through words or images.”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Even as natives of the Dominican Republic, my wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the simple but wonderful Tubagua Eco Lodge facilities and with the kind attentions of their owners, Tim and Beatriz, his family and his team, which is also part of the family.

The breathtaking view of the north coast, the right balance between simplicity and confort of facilities, in harmony with nature, the green surroundings and the pleasant climate, create an atmosphere of peace that can not be properly described through words or images.

Moreover, the delicious and healthy food prepared by Jackie, a beautiful and graceful typical Dominican woman, the excellent support of Juanín in the excursion to the natural pools, the pleasant company of hosts and other guests at the evening gatherings, made the human factor an important component in our satisfaction with the service received.

If you love nature, stay in Tubagua Eco Lodge is in itself an interesting activity. It is one of the few places where we really enjoyed everything, even "doing nothing".

P.S. I forgot to say we got something that was not included in the price, the friendship of Tim and Beatriz ;-)

Room Tip: The Private Cottage is well worth the price for those seeking a little bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfersobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
51
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A friend & I stayed at Tubagua for two nights in early April and we were really excited to have a taste of the real Dominican Republic before staying at an all-inclusive Resort during the second part of our trip. The Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge is a picturesque location in the mountains, but be prepared for more rugged accommodations than you would have in a traditional hotel (outdoor bathrooms, outdoor shower with cold water, sleeping under mosquito nets, etc). Depending on when you travel, plan on rain in the afternoons and sometimes more in the evenings. We were able to take a wonderful hike to some local waterfalls which took about 2 - 3 hours with a great local guide named Jaimin and I would definitely recommend going (NOTE: wear good shoes, bring water, a towel and wear mosquito repellant). If you are not renting a car, there are very few places to walk to nearby. The main road is fairly narrow and winding with a lot of pot holes. Local drivers are very fast, so walking along the road can be dangerous. We also took advantage of lunches and dinners made by the staff and they were great for a non-picky eater, but anyone who has special eating habits should plan for their own meals. Filtered/bottled water & coffee was complimentary which was great, but plan to make a stop at the market before you arrive if you want anything else. Tim & the staff were very nice and accommodating throughout our stay. Overall, I would recommend Tubagua for anyone looking for a unique getaway.

Room Tip: A private room is worth the extra expense and closer to the bathrooms is convenient at night. One m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmm0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband, 13 year old son and I had an amazing experience during our 5-day stay at Tubagua. We explored waterfalls and amber mines with local guides, met wonderful people and reveled in the natural beauty and ambience of the place. Tim took wonderful care of us and we felt in touch with the people, the culture and the beautiful island. The week following our wonderful Tubaqua adventure, we had an "extremely less then satisfactory" stay at an "all inclusive resort." For those who want some real contact and unique experiences Tubagua can't be beat. We would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Macorís, San Pedro De Macoris, Dominican Republic
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed for one night, and definately will return. Its location is unique with an incredible view. Tim gave us some tips and recomendations on visiting Puerto Plata, (btw, thanks Tim, the ice cream shop was delicious) The food at Tubagua was delicious. Good food, beautiful enviornment and great people. Will be back with friends for a longer period of time, and will do the hiking to the waterfall next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here before and after our Humpbackwhale encounters with Conscious Breath Adventures. It was such a perfect pré- and post-stay to this very special event in our lives!
We can really recommend this to all the people who come to the DR (and we will!)
I especially loved the massages from Beatrice (Tim's wife)! And the setting here was so lovely!
jackie's cooking was very astonishing! As Belgians we are used to good food but this was really amazing!
Thank U Tim for helping us out with the rest of our trip in the DR.
Thanks to all of you for making our stay here a very, very pleasant one...

Room Tip: Ask for the separate room with (recent) private bathroom. It should be finished by now!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed at the Eco lodge for six nights in February. Was in DR because of a boat trip snorkelling with humpbacks with www.consciousbreathadventures.com also very highly recommended! If you have no interest in the 'all inclusive' or 'total luxury' but do have an interest in good food, good company, breathtaking views, an honesty bar, the local community, peaceful surroundings (with the exception of the roosters), getting off the beaten track, waterfalls, birds, unusual sleeping and showering quarters - I recommend the Eco Lodge. Make sure you spend time taking to Tim. His commitment to the local community is immense and very infectious. Pay for a local guide to take you to some amazing waterfalls. Hire a car and drive slowly along the Ruta Panoramica from Puerto Plata to Santiago. Tim can give you a booklet to guide you on your way. Be prepared to ask local people for help and trust them when they offer to take you for an example to an amber mine. If you are open to experiences you'll be guaranteed to have them along the way. But do drive slowly!!! I cant rate the whole experience higly enough. I'll be going back!!

Room Tip: Take what's on offer. I experienced three different rooms. All have their own special charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I'll start off by saying that I do consider myself to have been 'the right person' to enjoy Tubagua. If you're expecting the lap of luxury, a private room, or anything that you'd find at a typical hotel/resort, then you should keep on looking for something else. But if you're looking for an amazing experience where you are out in the Dominican country, able to enjoy fresh air, and be away from the hustle of the typical Dominican tourist traps, then this is the place for you. It would also help if you have a tolerance for camping-type situations: open-air restromm facilities, including bugs, flies, crawly things; a community environment where you get to know fellow guests; and practically sleeping under the stars with little more than a thick tarp between you and nature at night (oh and a mosquito net!). So all that being said, a lot of my '5' ratings are that way because of my expectations of this kind of place. In other words, of course a hotel with walls, windows, and doors will be much more spotless than an open-air palapa, but as far as open-air palapas go, it was very clean.
The lowest mark is on cost. Lodging is charged based on the number of heads, not the number of rooms. With a larger group, it can get kinda spendy.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrewbieAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
6.4 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
524 reviews
6.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
6.7 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,313 reviews
4.9 mi away
SunCampDR
SunCampDR
#13 of 24 in Puerto Plata
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge

Property: Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge
Address: Km 19, Hwy 25 | Tubagua, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge is a rustic mountain chateau with amazing ocean views, a family-run estate operated B&B-style only 20 minutes from Puerto Plata airport, city and beaches. There is nothing else like it on the Dominican Republic's north coast. If you love nature, fresh air, fabulous views, a cozy bed and great food, you'll LOVE The Tubagua Plantation. See you in Tubagua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubagua Plantation Eco Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing