We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect way to see the Dominican Republic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect way to see the Dominican Republic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

In our quest for a couples vacation, we shunned the typical American experience of the all-inclusive resorts, and opted for an independent traveler experience. The Base Camp concept that Tim Hall operates out of the Tubagua Plantation Eco Villiage was the perfect solution.

Tim had insider tips for everything, and helped us to find a slice of the Dominican Republic that was just right for us, as well as being off the beaten path. The Tubagua Base Camp 1 was absolutely lovely - the view was breathtaking and the food was absolutely fantastic. We loved the geckos that were everywhere, and the company of the other guests in the common areas.

Tim took the time to get to know us, and helped craft day trips that met our needs - not to miss is the hike to the waterfalls and a swim in the pools! Then, Tim took the time to arrange the rest of our trip to Las Terranas - ensuring that we had good accommodations, and recommending restaurants and activities near Samana. He even sent us on our way with a cell phone so we could contact him if we had any trouble, or needed Spanish translation.

Back to Tubagua for the last leg of our trip - we had a fantastic time, made much more relaxing with Tim's expertise - thank you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l-rclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
51
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madison
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Tubagua is the perfect mix of simplicity and beauty, relaxation and adventure. My parents, boyfriend and I stayed in several places along the Dominican Republic's north coast, and Tubagua definitely had the best atmosphere and most unique accommodations. It balanced all of our desires: my parents were hoping for a place with good food, good mattresses, and interesting company, while we wanted to stay somewhere that was off the beaten path, environmentally conscious, and where we could do some outdoor adventuring. Tubagua delivered on all of it. The owner, Tim, and all of the staff were really relaxed, made all us all very comfortable, and were just fun to be around. I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting the Dominican Republic, especially if you want to get out of the resort areas. And you can't miss the view from the from the main cabana/dining area (and the bathroom!) it's breath-taking!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aSnow25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Pros: Tim, the owner, was extremely accommodating and offered us insight into the myriad of activities in the area. Tubagua has a breath-taking view and is situated along a guagua (public transportation) route to Puerto Plata from Yasica (a town to the south). Food is always fresh and delicious from the cook (Jackie). We highly recommend the hike ($10USD/person) as it takes you through cow pastures and untouched waterfalls where a cool dip in the water is extremely refreshing.

Cons: There is no such thing as perfection, but this place comes close. Because of its location, it is far from the cities (Puerto Plata and Sosua), but a simple hop on a guagua or moto taxi would take you to your destination. Also, roosters are prevalent so be prepared to wake up from a nice slumber to their calls early in the morning. I suggest bringing some melatonin pills to help get a deeper sleep.

In a nutshell:

This isn't your all-inclusive resort and this definitely isn't your usual vacation spot. Tubagua is for people who want a good cultural experience in a village without sacrificing breath-taking views of the countryside. The price is worth every peso/dollar spent there as Tim and his staff make you feel extremely comfortable in a foreign surrounding. Also, many activities in the area are dependent on the weather, so don't fret about planning too much. Take it a day at a time and just enjoy the dogs, the cats, lizards and the friendly people you meet. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldbalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, new york
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

I had the pleasure of spending a week on the beautiful north coast of the DR, and while I saw some stunning beaches, Tim's palace in the trees was hands down my favorite part of the trip. I can't recall the last time I was as relaxed as I was in a hammock in front of my palapa, with a book, a beer, and warm sunshine to keep me company. Tim and his family are incredible hosts, and the food is amazing and fresh! I can't reccomend enough making Tubagua a part of any DR adventure. If you don't, you are missing out on the real DR!

My only regret? Not brining a date - this spot is incredibly romantic! Maybe next time...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyngirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights at the eco-lodge as part of our honeymoon. This resort was absolutely everything we had hoped for. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and great for leisurely walks. The dining hall is a great place to enjoy the magnificent view and relax with a book. The food was amazing and well worth the price. We also highly recommend the guided tour to the local waterfall. Juanine the tour guide was friendly and informative and swimming in the falls was a cant miss experience. Tim the owner is very accomodating and makes you feel right at home in his little slice of paradise in the DR.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadcityWIMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We had our wedding reception and Honeymoon at the Plantation Eco Lodge. The view was breathtaking and the mountains were beautiful it felt like we were vacationing inside of a landscape. It was definitely an experience to remember. We were able to coordinate our entire wedding reception with Tim Hall over the internet. The food was delicious and the dining room was decorated wonderfully. Tim did a great job coordinating the entertainment and ensuring the entire event turned out great. The staff members were friendly, kind, and helpful; the service was great. The rooms were nice especially if you like outdoor indoor living. We had just the kind of memorable experience we were wanted to have for our wedding and honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

I must admit that before we knew what we would be missing, my friends and I almost skipped out on our reservation in pursuit of accommodations more central to Puerta Plata. I hate to think of what we would have missed had we not change our minds. Staying at TPV is the most special experience you could possibly have when visiting the Dominican Republic. The setting is beautifully rustic with a breathtaking vista that is a worthy way to spend one's time in and of itself. Guests of TPV stay in cabin/tent hybrids made of local materials. The beds are amazingly comfortable and you even have electricity. Showers, sinks and bathrooms are separate much like you would find at summer camp (but much nicer). One bath house allows you to gaze out towards the amazing Dominican country side and coast as you use any of these facilities.

The owner, Tim Hall is an exceptional man whose unique and generous spirit warms a room. He has filled TPV with an eccentric and hospitable character and his prices are beyond reasonable. The fact that he is Canadian was a boon to us because he knew the types of excursions that would accent our trip perfectly. We took all of his suggestions and had the time of our lives.

If you want an authentic experience in the Dominican Republic that will stand out and make your smile every time you reminisce, book a room at the Tubagua Plantation Village right away and I promise you will never regret it.
-Kate Steele

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k8steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
6.4 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
6.8 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,230 reviews
5.3 mi away
SunCampDR
SunCampDR
#14 of 23 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge

Property: Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge
Address: Km 19, Hwy 25 | Tubagua, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge is a rustic mountain chateau with amazing ocean views, a family-run estate operated B&B-style only 20 minutes from Puerto Plata airport, city and beaches. There is nothing else like it on the Dominican Republic's north coast. If you love nature, fresh air, fabulous views, a cozy bed and great food, you'll LOVE The Tubagua Plantation. See you in Tubagua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubagua Plantation Eco Hotel Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing