We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Must!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Papillon

Le Papillon
Ranked #1 of 109 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ponca City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We read the reviews and thought we would give it a shot. We visited the DR in mid August (off season), so it was pretty slow. In fact we were the only ones in the restraunt that night. Thomas (owner), had all of his staff on leave in preparation for the start of school on the island, but his service didnt miss a beat. My wife and parents loved it. We even stuck around to drink schnapps with the Thomas before heading back to our villa. We are returning to the DR next month and this spot is guaranteed to be our first stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    18
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, Thomas is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We needed a break from the all inclusive food and resort and definitely found one. Last night in Puerto Plata was so romantic and wonderful thanks to Le Papillon and Thomas. We ordered steaks, wine, beer and dessert. The food is fresh and cooked perfectly. The atmosphere is awesome and smiling Thomas is so sweet and welcoming. I highly recommend and would definitely return if ever in the area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingSusan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!! Best meal EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was the best meal we had in the Dominican Republic. We left the resort we were at and walked across the street and Le Papillon was right there. Tomas is the most wonderful host, he is also the owner and the chef. Our food was absolutely delicious and the freshest lobster I have ever eaten. No matter where I stay in the Dominican Republic I will be back to Le Papillon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyCO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNSTABLE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner at Le Papillon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was part of the group of 12 and we had a fantastic time. I couldn't ask for a better night of wonderful food, drink and friends. Tomas made us feel like family. We will be back next year without a doubt. Make sure to call/email ahead and make a reservation so you wont miss out.
Thanks Tomas :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beechykeen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We always have a fine dining experience here! The food is always superb as is the chef! We love spending time with Thomas! He's an awesome host and he absolutely rocks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaRoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Papillon also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing