We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Great Place to Dine”
Review of Le Papillon

Le Papillon
Ranked #1 of 118 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Monroe, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just a Great Place to Dine”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Tucked back off the road on a hillside, you wouldn't normally know this place exists unless you live on the island. Luckily my father lives there and took us out for a wonderful dinner. The restaurant is all open yet covered like a cabana with large aquariums flanking both sides. Thomas, the owner, is German and is the head chef as well as waiter. His dishes are perfectly prepared and more than one can eat. The peppersteak is unbelievable and my wife had the best vegan curry meal she has ever tasted. Try the onion pie for an appetizer. If you are in a hurry, this is not for you. Thomas is your cook and waiter and his dishes take time, but are well worth the wait.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DrivingHazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    21
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

You feel right at home with the greeting you get for the owner! The attention to detail is a delight! I had the small surf and turf and let me tell you there was nothing small about it! I need a doggy bag! its a hidden Gem! They also have a great selection of beer and wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Farley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A local friend took me to this restaurant for dinner when I was staying at Lifestyle resorts. The restaurant is just up the road from the resort. We had an excellent meal, all courses were excellent.
A nice relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are sick of eating resort food!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perplemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
“Great Oasis”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great restaurant in the hills of Puerto Plata. Thomas does it all, and it was so delicious. Great steak! Portions very generous.. Prices exceptional. His chocolate for the mousse comes from Germany too

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOtraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything perfect”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

very good restaurant will get back there if possible. very big plate for the price. good steack seem very clean

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Papillon also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing