We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun at a fair price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yasika Adventures - CLOSED

Yasika Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pioneers in Zip-line Adventures in the north coast of the Dominican Republic, we are geared towards nature preservation as well as safety. The park is located within a 30 minute scenic drive from Puerto Plata, which along the way you can enjoy spectacular views of the city and the Atlantic Ocean. Our highly trained staff received their training by technicians from Costa Rica, where the zip lining tour idea originated. Our goal is to make each participant'€™s experience unique.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun at a fair price.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were picked up by Edward (spoke English quite well) and Johanny in a nice Mitsubishi SUV at our Lifestyle Resort Lobby at 7:40AM. After a 30-40min ride we arrived at the Zipline "home base" in the mountainous jungle. Here we could use the bathrooms and put on our safety equipment. We then loaded up the truck to reach the first landing. Jose and Edward then gave us detailed safety instructions and made sure we were completely comfortable before beginning our adventure. As we zipped through 8 different paths, Jose and Edward pointed out different features of the jungle and were excellent guides. We ended the last run at the "home base" and were greeted by a tray of fresh fruit, water, and a tip jar :) that was well justified! Once we were content with lounging on the deck and enjoying our snack (they also had beer, soda and shirts for sale), we jumped back in the SUV and were dropped off at our resort lobby.

It was very fun, a fair price, and we felt safe!

Tip- if you book your trip at their website before you go and pay with US dollars, they give you a $9 pp discount.

http://www.yasikaadventures.com/

We highly recommend this business!

Thanks again,
Ryan and Megan

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rank83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    6
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great time!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I had a great first zip line experience with this company. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful--especially Edward. I felt very safe the whole time. The only thing I didn't like was when they stop off at a tourist market on the way home, where you are harassed by the vendors to look at their goods and buy things. We wanted to zipline--not shop. But overall it was a great experience and I highly recommend it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mlukesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Zip trip”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

i did not know this was so close to the resort in puerta plata. it's relatively new. They take you toa very basic "home base" where you gear up and get to put your stuff away, use the bathroom very basic. Then you take a short drive to the first zip and zip 8 times and end up back at home base on the last zip. Edward was our lead gude and made us feel very comfortable. i have been ziplining extreme in costa rica, this was a good one for beginners, not too too high, not too scary. Pay attention to the instructions and you will do fine. the trp to the to the location was great!! it was up in a mountain town, good sights. some fruit at the end of the trip, bring cash for tipping they expect it for making the trip comfortable. certanly tip if you felt safe and welcome. the camera guy should be a lttle more playful and try to get the group to talk tot he camera about their experience f you plan to buy the video make sure you talk to/look at the camera guy i did not even know he was there half the time so didn't get much out of thr video. he should ask the people "how was that" and be more interactve. Thanks Edward good job!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trigirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Canopy tour”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We took a group of 14 including 8 children of various ages. The staff, lead by Eduardo, was absolutely excellent. They were patient, professional and fun. All had wonderful attitudes and were great with the kids. I highly recommend their service and their tour. One of the best!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Soonerjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Girls Week Deb & Donna”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Every A pril, my friend and I do a week in Puerto Plata.We stay at the Barcello and spend the
week trying new things. Two years ago we Zip lined at Yasika. We had an incredible time. Last
year we tried the other Zip line .but didn't care for it at all.When we returned this year.we
returned to Yasika and relived our first incredible experience. The guides were very safety
oriented,knowledgeable and proffessional.We really enjoyed being in control of our speed
and landing. when we return again next year. we will once again do Yasika park.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yasika Adventures also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing