We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zip trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yasika Adventures - CLOSED

Yasika Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pioneers in Zip-line Adventures in the north coast of the Dominican Republic, we are geared towards nature preservation as well as safety. The park is located within a 30 minute scenic drive from Puerto Plata, which along the way you can enjoy spectacular views of the city and the Atlantic Ocean. Our highly trained staff received their training by technicians from Costa Rica, where the zip lining tour idea originated. Our goal is to make each participant'€™s experience unique.
Wading River, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Zip trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

i did not know this was so close to the resort in puerta plata. it's relatively new. They take you toa very basic "home base" where you gear up and get to put your stuff away, use the bathroom very basic. Then you take a short drive to the first zip and zip 8 times and end up back at home base on the last zip. Edward was our lead gude and made us feel very comfortable. i have been ziplining extreme in costa rica, this was a good one for beginners, not too too high, not too scary. Pay attention to the instructions and you will do fine. the trp to the to the location was great!! it was up in a mountain town, good sights. some fruit at the end of the trip, bring cash for tipping they expect it for making the trip comfortable. certanly tip if you felt safe and welcome. the camera guy should be a lttle more playful and try to get the group to talk tot he camera about their experience f you plan to buy the video make sure you talk to/look at the camera guy i did not even know he was there half the time so didn't get much out of thr video. he should ask the people "how was that" and be more interactve. Thanks Edward good job!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trigirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    6
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Canopy tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We took a group of 14 including 8 children of various ages. The staff, lead by Eduardo, was absolutely excellent. They were patient, professional and fun. All had wonderful attitudes and were great with the kids. I highly recommend their service and their tour. One of the best!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Soonerjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Girls Week Deb & Donna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Every A pril, my friend and I do a week in Puerto Plata.We stay at the Barcello and spend the
week trying new things. Two years ago we Zip lined at Yasika. We had an incredible time. Last
year we tried the other Zip line .but didn't care for it at all.When we returned this year.we
returned to Yasika and relived our first incredible experience. The guides were very safety
oriented,knowledgeable and proffessional.We really enjoyed being in control of our speed
and landing. when we return again next year. we will once again do Yasika park.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Need to find an outing with teenagers? This is it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Family of 4 with 2 teenage boys and a Mom who is afraid of heights. By the 2nd run Mom was a pro! This was only possible because the experienced staff were over the top when it came to education, safety and personal comfort. Language is no barrier as the crew was able to communicate in Spanish, English and French.
The 30 minute truck ride to the site was a tour in itself, traveling through the farmlands and hillside villages. Keep your camera at the ready. However taking pictures is a little tough due to the bumpy ride.
Hot morning in the forest was quenched with a platter of fresh fruit provided and $2 beer or soft drinks afterward.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank johnp4419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Exhilerating Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Wow, I had a great time at Yasika Adventures from start to finish! Our guide, Edward, and camera man, Johnny AKA Steven Spielberg, made this adventure top notch! All the staff were very friendly and safety was certainly a priority. I felt very secure with their equipment and liked the fact that they double checked our harness. We were a group of six. The youngest was 13 and the oldest-old enough not to have to answer that question :-) We all had a fantastic time and left there wanting to do more! One in our group was too nervous to go on her own so Edward rode along with her. They had fresh fruit waiting for us at the end. The tour went quick, about 4 hours including the 40 mins it took to get there and 40 mins back to our hotel. I would definitely recommend Yasika to anyone looking for an adventure while staying in Puerto Plata! I loved it! Also, I would suggest to bring along $30 or enough for a deposit to purchase the video at the end of the tour.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Berniee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yasika Adventures also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing