We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great scene!”
Review of SBG Santo Domingo

SBG Santo Domingo
Reserve with OpenTable
SBG Santo Domingo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 622 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the center of Santo Domingo, SBG Santo Domingo is a restaurant with exquisite decoration, cosmopolitan atmosphere and avant-garde cuisine, where respect for the product is the priority. Committed with creativity and good taste, the restaurant offers an international menu loaded with innovative ingredients and combinations. Joaquin Renovales, chef and soul behind the group's fires, will delight you with dishes that are not on the menu, is famous for that. The atmosphere is exceptional, diverse and pleasant, and its salon - packed in each service - is a meeting point for businessmen, professionals and international celebrities. SBG is the place par excellence to share a highly recommended dining experience in a warm environment and delight the senses in more than one way.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great scene!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A must stop while in town, great food, great service, great ambiance. The sushi, the crab (centollo) the guava-cheesecake, everything is good. You can also go for drinks, its a great place to hang out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lualdi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    77
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food & good service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The food is great and the specials of the day are interesting to say the least for persons that visit Santo Domingo often.
This is my personal favorite restaurant in the capital, food and atmosphere.
The only regret is the wine selection by the glass they need to have 3 or 4 types with different prices so persons wishing to have a good glass of wine without drinking a bottle have an option.

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was in town on business and my client took me out here. We had already eaten a bit at the hotel, so weren't starving when we arrived. I wish I had saved my appetite for here! The restaurant decor and vibe is as nice and chic as any place in Miami or LA. I was told it turns into a bit of a lounge later on, but I had an early call time and just wanted to eat and run. We ordered a bunch of apps I stead of mains, and it was plenty. I ordered the lentil soup, which was good, but not spectacular, and the creamy corn---ah-mazing! Super sweet, not sure how....maybe brown sugar?? Lots of butter, a little cheese. More like a dessert, really. The real standouts, though, we're the seafood dishes. My friend ordered tirada de something (sorry, my Spanish is as bad as my memory) and it was basically fish carpaccio with a small column of avocado salad. All of it was dressed in lemon, olive oil, salt and pepper. Simply prepared with excellent ingredients. Others at the table ordered seared tuna and salmon tartare. Everyone loved it.

All in all a great place with a cool vibe. I'd love to go back, but next time I'll make sure I'm starving!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carlye25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfec place, perfect food!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate with same quality of any high end restaurant in New York, i really recommend the New
York steak, i ordered it medium and it was what it was, just perfect, i also ordered peas with cured ham. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Luijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
907 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Fine Food and Ambience - Place to be Seen”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had dinner here with a work colleague (a native Dominican who said it was her favourite restaurant). She has very excellent taste. There is plenty of space inside and out. It is very "trendy" in terms of decor and also in terms of the clientele. A fairly young and affluent clientele was observed. Service was really professional and the food more than matched expectation - Red Snapper Ceviche, Shrimps in Bacon, Paella, Sea Bass followed by a couple of excellent desserts. Very scrumptious food in a splendid ambience. When we finished our meal I noticed that every table in the restaurant inside and out was taken and I am reliably informed that it is mostly essential to make a reservation to guarantee a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SBG Santo Domingo also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to SBG Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing